We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really, Quite Awesome”
Review of Rue Cler

Rue Cler
Ranked #91 of 1,107 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lively cobblestone street effectively preserves the ambience of Paris of old and is home to countless small shops.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really, Quite Awesome”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I shy away from the more touristy things in general, but Rue Cler - I highly recommend. Yes, it is touristy, but very clearly more than that. School kids with their parents walking down the street, people carrying bags of groceries.... It's adorable, and has amazing food offerings. We found the Italian deli superb. Cheese - yes, yes yes! The bakery had great bread and the bars serve wonderful cocktails. Great produce too. We had a great time sipping cocktails and people watching from one of the bar terraces. I really recommend doing this.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    159
    56
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This street was just around the corner and we enjoyed walking through it every evening. The pastry and bread shops around this street are quite spectacular and we purchased from these store as the street stall seem to be encourage the odd visit from wasps which appear to be quite welcome. None the less the fruit stands were very fresh and clean

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful street of delicious Treats”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A great variety of delicious eateries and bakeries. The fruit that I purchased was fresh and very tasty. All of the pastries were scrumptious.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Almar1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rue Cler? Look elsewhere”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

With so many other much more interesting and more lively markets and shops to visit, I'd search elsewhere rather than wander here. Visit la Rue Montorgueil, the Bastille Market on Sunday morning.... to me, much more authentic and fun. The street is only about two or three blocks - to me a waste of time. Vastly overrated.....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stmalo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little over-rated”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Don't get me wrong it's a cute area with wonderful food shops, but there are so many other streets in Paris with lots to offer,I felt like it was full of people who were doing Rick Steves Paris. That said there are lots of cafes where you can sit and enjoy the atmosphere. and there are lots of wonderful boulangeries nearby.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank yvonne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rue Cler also viewed

 

Been to Rue Cler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing