We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palais Garnier

Palais Garnier
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.19*
and up
Treasures of the Opera Garnier Tour in Paris
Ranked #7 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This performance hall hosts opera, ballet and chamber music performances.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
347 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“wonderful building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Some day I'd like to be able to go see a show, but the tour of a building I had to be content with this time was marvellous nonetheless. A guided visit is best as you learn so much about the history as well as the wonderful architecture and frescoes.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,310
    2,793
    438
    106
    82
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was the highlight of our trip.
We did a tour of this building, which is a must to appreciate the history and the meaning of everything.
This is one of the most stunning buildings in Paris.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great building wish I understood the Opera”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The building is fabulous, overall I'm glad that I scored some tickets to the Opera. I'd imaging most American's would get the sense that you're doing something special when attending an event in this building. Now that being said the performance was in German, and after 2.5 hours of not understanding anything I was starting to get pretty antsy. I might recommend the balet over Opera..... but that being said now I can say I've been to the Opera... and it happened to be in an awesome building.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jrs576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chagall ceiling awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Opera Garnier is very easy to get to and visit. They have a fine museum shop and toilets. No crowds and a quick visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJM1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A must to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Be sure to book and English tour... it gives you all the exciting and interesting information you would not otherwise get by walking around on your own... for students under 25 it's free

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sunshinegal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Garnier also viewed

 

Been to Palais Garnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing