We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five stars for the location! Come for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buddha Bar

Buddha Bar
Ranked #21 of 422 Nightlife in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This frequently crowded bar features a large golden statue of the Buddha in its center.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Five stars for the location! Come for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent too, yet the food deserves only three or four stars. I wouldn't pay what they charge for it at dinnertime, yet the lunch "Menu dégustation" offers good value for money.

In a way, Buddha Bar is a must see for Paris visitors.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aranjaka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    165
    84
    54
    68
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A lot of money for average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The atmosphere is awesome! so cosy and impressive with the big statue. But you get more the impression that you're in a factory than a restaurant. It feels like there's a time pressure, you can't relax and take your time. Our food was quite expensive, and nothing was really hot, our noodles and rice were cold. We complained and they didn't charge it, which is good. I guess you pay for the total experience (especially the decoration), more than just the food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 22Jo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As excellent as ever (for drinks as well as for lunch)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was already a Buddha Bar fan after going there a few times for drinks/cocktails (in Prague and in Paris too). The lounge is just incredible, a bit expensive (17-20€ for a cocktail), but you can spend three hours there if you like, the atmosphere is great, very stylish and with good music. Service is top notch and always welcoming.

I eventually decided to try the restaurant for lunch. Food is very good, substantial & with a very decent value (31€ for entrée, plat, dessert, wine & coffee). Will definitely go back there for lunch. It does seem a bit overpriced for dinner though.

Whether it's with friends or with a date, I would highly recommend it. If you want to go to the lounge on a Saturday night it's quickly packed though, be sure to arrive before 9-9.30.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CLRiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The food was lovely but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went there to celebrate a friend's milestone birthday. It is certainly posh and impressive - the Buddha statue is amazing! The food is delicious, the facilities are great and it is full of beautiful people :) However, the service was a let-down. We had to wait ages for our food and our drinks and our table was so close to our neighbours' table that when the waiter came to serve them he would bump at least one of us every time. It was no fun. Especially since this place is so huge! Not sure I would go back - the bill was very steep!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonIvy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not impressed..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's not really to my liking.. dark and seem clotted.. Drinks not great, and bar always over crowded.. Music not that bad.. but drinks quite expensive.. The huge restaurant place in the middle and thin bar area around it on the balcony.. that somehow doesn't work for me..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Danek_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Bar also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Buddha Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing