We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emotional”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Liberty Flame

Liberty Flame
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.46*
and up
Segway Tours in Paris
Ranked #272 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
Attraction details
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
515 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 929 helpful votes
“Emotional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The flame, surrounded by cards, flowers and photographs is an emotional tribute to Princess Diana. It gives you such a strange feel approaching the tunnel and brings the memories of that awful day flooding back. Taking time for a moments of reflection is well worth while. Yes it can be viewed from the River Seine but you don't get the same 'feeling' as visiting the Liberty Flame direct.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    45
    48
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth Looking By if on your Route”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I deliberately wanted to see this due to my love of New York and its history. I didn't need to go out my way as I knew roughly where it was and with a little concetration I could see it from the top of the Eiffel Tower and realised it could esasily be on route back to Place de Concord. (Also, look the opposite way up the Seine and you will see a replica of the full libery statue on the end of the island in the river).
I got some great pics of the flame with the tower lit up behind it.
By crouching and framing you can capture this without including the graffiti written on the wall behind.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nothing special, only if you know why it's there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

This statue is exactly above the tunnel where Princess Diana had the fatal crash. There is nothing extremely special about it but if want to see the replica of the flame of the real Statue of Liberty in NY, then do come and see it for yourself. When I was there in 1998. there were many photos of Lady Diana, Dodi Al Fayed and Henri Paul, flowers, notes, writings...nowadays none really. I am attaching photo from 1998 for you to see.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank galadrijella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
443 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“A thank you for the Statue of Liberty restoration”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This exact replica of New York City's Statue of Liberty flame was offered to the city of Paris in 1989 by the International New York Times (The New York Times Company) with international donor money. It was a thank you for the Statue of Liberty restoration work that was performed between 1984 and 1986. Métalliers Champenois and Gohard Studios provided the restoration services during that time.

The Liberty Flame is even more symbolic because of where it was purposely placed. It's at the intersection of l'Avenue de New-York and the Place de l'Alma, and continues to be a lasting symbol of the friendship between the US and France. I've only seen it from the river, and it was a nice enough view for me. Most people visit it because it has become an unofficial memorial to Princess Diana and is near the Pont de l'Alma. Everyone remembers that tragic day in the tunnel. The Liberty Flame is now more associated to Princess Diana, and rightfully so. It serves as an eternal flame to her kindness and compassion.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenV87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“And the life goes on...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

This Liberty Flame is situated above the tunnel where Diana had a crash. Not specially worth wile a visit on its own. You may see this while your normal travel or walks in that locale.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ratish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Flame also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Liberty Flame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing