We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden flame...hmmm”
Review of Liberty Flame

Liberty Flame
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.97*
and up
Segway Tours in Paris
Ranked #262 of 1,108 things to do in Paris
Attraction details
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Golden flame...hmmm”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I saw it today while on a boat tour and thought it looked a lot like statue of liberty flame. Didn't know it was dedicated to princess Diane. Probably won't walk to it, but nice facts about it

Helpful?
Thank rccompton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    47
    51
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nothing exceptional”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The meaning and significance of the flame is better than the actual physical flame( my opinion ) this is a good quick thing to see on your way to other attractions but I wouldn't plan a whole day around this flame.

Helpful?
Thank Margaux V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Good as a Walk-by Tribute to International Goodwill”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

While not much of a destination in its own right, the Liberty Flame is a nice landmark to pause at on the way to other major sites. I usually pass it on the way between the Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysses, as the Liberty Flame is at the end of Avenue George V, which allows a straight route between Champs Elysees and the Quai Branley where the Eiffel Tower sits. Most visitors to the Liberty Flame are now focused on paying tribute to Princess Diana, who died in the tunnel that begins near the flame. However, the flame is actually a thank-you gift from the United States to France, given in 1987 to recognize the friendship between the countries with this replica of the torch that the Statue of Liberty holds. The Liberty Flame is a very pretty sculpture. Unfortunately, the traffic in this spot of Paris is usually very hectic, and I always feel a little threatened by zooming scooters when I cross to the street island that the Liberty Flame stands on. Be careful when you cross here!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loretta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
219 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A little tacky but worth a visit”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were in the neighborhood so we stopped by. The flame itself is kind of silly, but the memorial to Diana is actually a little touching. Don't go out of your way for this one, but take a look if you're nearby.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dcdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Re-Inventing A Gift Into A Monument”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Many people wonder: why here? It's located directly above the tunnel where Diana's car accident took place.

True, orignally this was a gift to France from the International Herald Tribune in the USA. It's a replica of the flame atop the Statue of Liberty, which was a gift from France to the USA. But that is the item's history. Today, it has been transformed into a monument with international significance and I don't think its unwritten dedication to the late Diana, Princess of Wales is any reason to devalue it. If anything, more people appreciate it now than ever before.

You are able to leave gifts, flowers, and notes here. As well, many people missing and mourning Diana have scribbled messages on the cement wall behind the monument, beyond which is the tunnel where she lost her life.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dadarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Flame also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Liberty Flame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing