We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!”
Review of Hotel le Lavoisier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Lavoisier
Ranked #828 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Medway, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Briefly: Beautiful accommodations, fabulous staff, great location!!! Long-windedly: I traveled to Paris for the first time with two girlfriends (also their first time) at the end of August 2012. We chose this hotel based on photos from its website and we were not disappointed!! Prior to arrival, Le Lavoisier staff were very prompt and courteous in assisting me via email with logistical questions... We stayed only two nights and this hotel was PERFECT for a condensed Parisian adventure - quiet location (perhaps based on going in August), walking distance to the hot spots we wanted to visit, cute and comfy accommodations with a spacious room for three adults (we could find no other small hotels that could accommodate the three of us in one room). The staff were incredibly kind, fun, and helpful, particularly the lovely woman with whom we checked in upon arrival (whose name we sadly did not get) who was so hospitable and friendly when we arrived exhausted at 6am from our flight and let us skip the checking-in formalities so we could sleep first! (And letting us check in hours ahead of check-in time was awesome)... She was also amazing with her suggestions of which way we should walk to begin our adventure once we woke up. All in all, our stay was incredible and we will definitely return to Hotel le Lavoisier!

Room Tip: Room 101 accommodates three adults quite comfortably!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellieBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    173
    42
    16
    5
See reviews for
68
182
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
parkp
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This cute French town house hotel is tucked away about 10-15 minutes walk from Place de la Concorde near the St Augustin and Gare de Lazare Metro stations. We had a week-long stay earlier this month in the most basic type of room and found it a good base from which to explore Paris. The clientele are mostly rich Americans as they get a deal from the embassy. The hotel derverves its four star rating, but don't expect it to be like an American business chain hotel: there's no mini-bar fridge in the room, no free bathrobes or slippers and the in-room TV was a bit small. Also, you are in France: there is no in-room kettle, no carpet (wood floors in the junior suite), and a cooked breakfast is extra... For every little disappointment, though, the place more than made up for it in other ways:

First the good side:

- Great location, not so far on foot from places like the Gallerie Layafette, Rue de Rivoli and Place de la Corcorde.

- Near to St Augustin Metro stop. Remember to bring a passport photo and get a Paris navi-card (like an oyster card) for one week's unlimited cheap Metro travel around the city centre.

- Wonderfully quiet: it's a small hotel, tucked down a side road. You can barely hear the other guests.

- Generally superb continental breakfast. If you phone down they bring it up to your room before 10.30am at no extra charge. We'd like to praise the catering staff too, especially Nisha, whose English was excellent and who lived to please. In our opinion he provided five star service.

- Nice quiet lobby area.

- No problems with the plumbing or hot water.

- Friendly staff.

- Handy local shops and restaurants including Monoprix and Planet Sushi.


Now the less good side:

- Slight security issue: there are no in-room safes here, so you have to keep asking the desk staff to store valuables. One joshed with me that I could always keep my iPad in my room. Two days later we returned from a day out to find our room's door ajar. Nothing had been stolen, and it was suggested that the maid had not pulled the door locked properly. In our opinion the hotel needs to update its locks. Another issue here is that each room only has one key, so if there are two of you doing different things in the day time, you'll need to keep leaving your (one) key at reception.

- Unfortunately the view from our window was of a pretty run down and gloomy back courtyard. C'est la vie!

- No free wifi in the room (though you can connect to it in the lobby).

- A few things in the nature of the place: corner-shaped rooms, small bath, occasional lack of supplies (one day they ran out of French stick bread and, though they made this up the next day, it does seem like a basic in Paris!) Also, don't arrive late and expect to change rooms if you are not happy - there are too few rooms here to give the choice.

A final tip: we were told that guests are not advised to stroll the Champs-Elyssee at night as it can be unsafe. Of course that advice applies where ever you stay, not just at this hotel.

... All in all, we had a lovely time at this quiet French town house hotel. They are a cosy operation and dropped the ball a couple of times, but on balance we would definitely stay here again. The niceties far outweigh any of the problems. What better place for a wonderful breakfast brought to your Paris room?

Room Tip: Arrive in the afternoon. Ask for a high floor. My guess is that even the front of the hotel is prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our room at Le Lavoisier was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was fine -- more thanwe expected -- and the gentleman who served us was alwats friendly and efficient. And I especially want to single out the very helpful young woman -- unfortunately I did not get her name -- who works at reception Sunday-Thursday. She worked hard to help us resolve a complicated ground transportation problem, and recommended a very superb restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Excellent location walking distance to everything, just off the main road for a quiet nights sleep. The management staff is awesome, they are a true team, I asked Vanessa at the front desk to change my rail ticket because I was leaving early to meet a friend. not only did she change my rail but the Manager waived the cost of the night. we arrived at 10AM and left without a days notice. The service is clearly top notch. The gentlemen running the breakfast is also outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel le Lavoisier with our 4 month old daughter for 5 nights in May 2012.

Our room was spacious in comparison to other Paris hotels, and clean and comfortable. I believe some rooms at the hotel have been refurbished and whilst it appears that our room was not renovated, it was still clean and comfortable, so that was fine by us.

The reception staff were fantastic - their English was great and they were very helpful with booking taxis for us, making restaurant reservations, providing a travel cot for our baby.

I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel le Lavoisier to others.

Room Tip: Perhaps specifically request a refurbished room if you would prefer a more modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Having decided to use the Paris train system (Metro)it was great to find this Hotel only a 2 minute walk. Only 10-15 minutes to the Louvre and associated sites makes it a great central hotel for much sightseeing. The Arc de Triomphe was a little further and the Eiffel Tower too far to walk unless you enjoy a 40 minute walk.
The room itself was finished in a classic Parisian style with a fair degree decoration. Fairly small in size with no room for a couple of extra chairs and a small table. It did have a table up against the wall to allow for laptop use etc.The room itself while ok was a little tired and did not appear to have been updated for some time, but I would not consider this a game changer for anyone wishing to make a booking.
The breakfast was inclusive and was fantastic. Fresh coffee, orange juice, basket of baguettes, croissants, and similar. In addition there was cheese, yoghurt and other goodies included.
Overall very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimdotcom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our 5 day stay at this excellently located boutique hotel was very pleasant and convenient. We felt very safe in this neighborhood and found it an easy walk to the subway, shopping, cafes and monuments. We had a lovely stay thanks to the friendly and accommodating staff. Our room was very clean, quiet and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was included in our price and Nissa (not sure the name is spelled correctly) provided exceptional service which made for a great way to start our day. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet since we were on the third floor away from the elevator. The only negative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhewett4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gofen
#1,636 of 1,801 in Paris
20 reviews
Hotel Monsieur
#228 of 1,801 in Paris
222 reviews
Hotel Arioso
#749 of 1,801 in Paris
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Tiquetonne
Tiquetonne
#521 of 1,801 in Paris
560 reviews
Hotel Elysees 8
#319 of 1,801 in Paris
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Lavoisier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Lavoisier

Property: Hotel le Lavoisier
Address: 21 rue Lavoisier, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#295 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#311 Family Hotel in Paris
#406 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#431 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Lavoisier 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who has never dreamt of enjoying a gentle night in a decor which is peaceful but joyous, elegant but modern, comfortable but contemporary. Or, of different places which we feel could be “like home”. Yet, this is a hotel room, my hotel room, where I would like to find myself one evening after a day of work in an unknown city, or for a romantic weekend, when this room was the site which we preferred the most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Lavoisier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lavoisier Opera Hotel
Le Lavoisier Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing