We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff”
Review of Hotel le Lavoisier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel le Lavoisier
Ranked #832 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Excellent location walking distance to everything, just off the main road for a quiet nights sleep. The management staff is awesome, they are a true team, I asked Vanessa at the front desk to change my rail ticket because I was leaving early to meet a friend. not only did she change my rail but the Manager waived the cost of the night. we arrived at 10AM and left without a days notice. The service is clearly top notch. The gentlemen running the breakfast is also outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    172
    42
    16
    5
See reviews for
68
181
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel le Lavoisier with our 4 month old daughter for 5 nights in May 2012.

Our room was spacious in comparison to other Paris hotels, and clean and comfortable. I believe some rooms at the hotel have been refurbished and whilst it appears that our room was not renovated, it was still clean and comfortable, so that was fine by us.

The reception staff were fantastic - their English was great and they were very helpful with booking taxis for us, making restaurant reservations, providing a travel cot for our baby.

I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel le Lavoisier to others.

Room Tip: Perhaps specifically request a refurbished room if you would prefer a more modern room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Having decided to use the Paris train system (Metro)it was great to find this Hotel only a 2 minute walk. Only 10-15 minutes to the Louvre and associated sites makes it a great central hotel for much sightseeing. The Arc de Triomphe was a little further and the Eiffel Tower too far to walk unless you enjoy a 40 minute walk.
The room itself was finished in a classic Parisian style with a fair degree decoration. Fairly small in size with no room for a couple of extra chairs and a small table. It did have a table up against the wall to allow for laptop use etc.The room itself while ok was a little tired and did not appear to have been updated for some time, but I would not consider this a game changer for anyone wishing to make a booking.
The breakfast was inclusive and was fantastic. Fresh coffee, orange juice, basket of baguettes, croissants, and similar. In addition there was cheese, yoghurt and other goodies included.
Overall very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimdotcom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our 5 day stay at this excellently located boutique hotel was very pleasant and convenient. We felt very safe in this neighborhood and found it an easy walk to the subway, shopping, cafes and monuments. We had a lovely stay thanks to the friendly and accommodating staff. Our room was very clean, quiet and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was included in our price and Nissa (not sure the name is spelled correctly) provided exceptional service which made for a great way to start our day. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet since we were on the third floor away from the elevator. The only negative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhewett4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a good time. It was our honeymoon and they gave us a free champagne. Very kind.

Nothing wrong with the hotel, but the taxi they helped us order ripped us off like crazy. The driver charged us an extra $20 euro for our suitcase! But, we were running late, so we paid it and I heard stories of drivers locking their trunk until you pay. So, yeah...maybe it's not a good idea to ask for taxi from the hotel.

Take the shuttle!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludolavoisier, Directeur général at Hotel le Lavoisier, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We are very pleased that you liked the hotel and it's allways a pleasure to welcome honeymoon travellers to discover Paris.
We are sorry for what happened with the taxi ; when we call for a cab we never know the driver... the cost for each piece of luggage is normally 1 €.
The hotel staff thank you for your attention on the quality of its service.

Yours sincerely

Ludovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel is comfortable and the renovation is OK. Most of the rooms a located on the "Rue Lavoisier" but are althought facing "Boulevard Malesherbes". So, lot of the rooms are quiet noisy, if your window is opened, but I have to recognise that the insonorisation, when the windows are closed, is of a high quality. Staff is OK, no more, a bit arrogant, and the breakfast correct. Maybe quite expensive for the standard, but in Paris...

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room not located on Rue Lavoisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel. It is perfectly located in the heart of Paris, walking distance to all the sites, shopping, restaurants and cafes! The hotel was clean and staff were helpful and considerate. My only suggestion would be changing the location of the hotel dining area as it was adjacent to the toilet facilities. The area was clean but the proximity in nevertheless problematic for some tastes. However, nevertheless, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludolavoisier, Directeur général at Hotel le Lavoisier, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear SabrinaCape Town,

Thanks for letting a review about Hotel Le Lavoisier in Tripadvisor and for recommending us according our convenient location in the 8th Arrondissement. In a short time our guests can find themselves sauntering along the Champs Elysées or strolling through the Jardin des Tuileries...
The Staff thanks you, and is always available to assist our guests with all their needs. We try to make each stay truly unforgeattable.
Our breakfast room is small and cozy and we do our best to keep our guests away from any disturbs. We will try to improve it better.

Yours sincerely

Ludovic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monsieur
Hotel Monsieur
#289 of 1,802 in Paris
209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gofen
Gofen
#1,641 of 1,802 in Paris
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arioso
Hotel Arioso
#681 of 1,802 in Paris
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Sydney Opera
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elysees 8
Hotel Elysees 8
#334 of 1,802 in Paris
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Malesherbes by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Lavoisier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Lavoisier

Property: Hotel le Lavoisier
Address: 21 rue Lavoisier, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#295 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#311 Family Hotel in Paris
#409 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#431 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Lavoisier 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who has never dreamt of enjoying a gentle night in a decor which is peaceful but joyous, elegant but modern, comfortable but contemporary. Or, of different places which we feel could be “like home”. Yet, this is a hotel room, my hotel room, where I would like to find myself one evening after a day of work in an unknown city, or for a romantic weekend, when this room was the site which we preferred the most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel le Lavoisier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Lavoisier Opera Hotel
Le Lavoisier Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing