We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location 5 star, hotel not!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Louvre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Louvre
Ranked #404 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Location 5 star, hotel not!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

No denying the excellent location. The staff are also outstanding, but then it ends. I booked a bigger room with a king size bed. The family next door were very noisy, poor sound proofing. I was moved to a smaller and more expensive room. This is a old hotel and it shows. It is not 5 star and I don't think it can make the Hyatt group proud.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to leave a comment about our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Paris.

However, we have taken good note of your remarks concerning your room. Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us improve the quality of our service.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.

With our best regards,

Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    692
    268
    130
    64
See reviews for
421
908
99
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is shockingly poorly kept. One expects a certain minimum standards when a name like Hyatt is associated with a hotel and when you pay top dollars. Please beware that this is not a Hyatt hotel other than the branding on the website. The quality of rooms 'reserved' for Expedia/ Tripadvisor bookings are worse than you will get in a travelodge. Broken furniture, smelly rooms... Let your imagination run wild. Staff are decent and helpful enough and
that's the only saving grace.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelistaVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay in our hotel.

We apologize for the level of service you experienced on this occasion and will indeed be following up in all areas mentioned. We do hold the greatest importance to up keeping high guest service levels and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention in order to help us follow up.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.

With our best regards,

Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Being 5* you tend to expect the best and whilst it may not have met all expectations, the location couldn't have been better, the staff were great and the exterior and some areas were stunning. As a with all older buildings upkeep is difficult but many 5* have kept up so a little disappointing this hotel hasn't. Rooms are very small and fittings are showing much wear and tear.
Gym certainly wasn't 5* but at least they had one, a decent spa is kind of expected (even though I don't use)

Room Tip: Decide if you want a view of the Louvre (within spitting distance - excuse the scenario) or the quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukjaninenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel, and be sure that I will tell our staff about your kind words.
Concerning the rooms, we would like you to know that most of them are unique and benefit from individual touches and exceptional views.
Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. I thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.
We would be happy to welcome you again soon,
With my best regards,
Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Amazzing place to stay in Paris.
You can do anything by walking but if you need to take the metro is quite easy because the best line (LIGNE1)is a few steps of the hotel
Breakfast is very good as well the staff
Cleaning was a little poor , our room stay 1 day without cleaning...
the shower on the bathroom was not very good, weak, warm/cold doesn't work.
But I recomend this hotel because the localization and food.

Room Tip: take a suite , amazzing view of opera garnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAIOMEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

However, we have taken good note of your remarks concerning the housekeeking and the bathroom. Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us improve the quality of our service.

I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel du Louvre.

With my best regards,

Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in two rooms on the 5th floor over looking the plaza behind it...Not a critical thing to say. The rooms were large, the hotel staff went out of their way to help and very very pleasant and accomodating. The bar had a great Jazz band for entertainment and the restaraunt attached to it served superb food. The location is great for the metro and of course is right across the street from the Louvre...They just completed a renovation and the property looks fantastic...

Room Tip: Become part of the Hyatt points program and maximize your opportunity to stay in properties like thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions.
We are delighted to see that our mission of excellence was carried out in every aspect trough your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel du Louvre.
With my best regards,
Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel du Louvre during our stay in Paris. It was a great experience! It is centrally located and easy to maneuver around Paris. The room had a wonderful view! The room was quiet, beds were very comfortable and the room was perfect! The staff was very friendly and answered all of our questions and provided guidance. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda9496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am extremely pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel du Louvre, a Hyatt Hotel.
I will definitely share with all our staff your positive comments. Your satisfaction is an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay memorable.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future !
With my best regards,
Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel du Louvre with my wife during the winter. We were originally checked into a regular room but it had a very strong oder of paint - so much so that I had a headache within the hour and we upgraded to a lovely suite. The hotel was understanding and cut us a deal. It was very lovely and exactly what I expected from a classic hotel. The breakfast in the morning was very nice and the restaurant downstairs was fantastic. Planning on going back to Paris this summer, but this time with the kids and we look forward to staying at the Hotel du Louvre again. Having it so close to the Louvre and a ton of other great sights made this a great location. I recommend !

Room Tip: make sure the room is not freshly painted :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurbankBlvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel and plan to go back this summer ! All the renovations are now completed to you won't suffer from from the odor of paint anymore.

Don't hesitate to contact us for any special request.

With my best regards,

Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#108 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#33 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#277 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#414 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Louvre

Property: Hotel du Louvre
Address: Place Andre Malraux, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Paris
#243 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#331 Family Hotel in Paris
#418 Business Hotel in Paris
#440 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the best of Paris with four facades facing the most famous cultural sights, the Hotel du Louvre is two minutes walk from the Louvre Museum, and ten minutes away from the Opera Garnier. It is set in the heart of the fashion district just steps away from the boutiques on the Rue St Honoré and has direct access to the Champs-Elysées and to the business district of La Défense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Louvre Paris
Du Louvre Hotel
Hotel Du Louvre Paris
Hotel De Louvre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing