We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week end in Paris”
Review of Hotel Raphael

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Raphael
Ranked #360 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Week end in Paris”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Excellent situation for a shopping spree in the capital. Small room but perfect for a weekend. Breakfast could be a litle more generous. Will recommend it to my friends who want to find a central point in Paris at a very affordable price.




  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank paddington009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear paddington009,

First of all, I would like to thank you very much for your kind feedback after your stay at the Hotel Raphael.
It’s a pleasure to read that your stay has reached your expectations and that you are keen to recommend our hotel to your friends.

The location of our property is indeed very central, at few minutes from the trendy shops of the Champs-Elysées and the exclusive Montaigne Avenue. You can also easily reach major touristic attractions and monuments such as the Arc de Triomphe, the Eiffel Tower, the Grand Palais, the Jacquemart André Museum and the Modern Art Museum.

It was a surprise to read that you found your room too small because our smallest category (Classic room) is approx. 30 m² and is considered very large for Paris. For your future stay, why not trying a Deluxe room (approx 40m²)? With its spacious guest room and office area, traditional furniture and roomy wardrobes, this room will guarantee you a magnificent escapade in the heart of Paris.

Be sure your comments about breakfast offer will also be forwarded to the restaurant.

Again thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Raphael hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    127
    50
    25
    14
See reviews for
91
271
22
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I was there on one weakend with my girlfriend ...service , concierge and hotel is very nice and clean everything was perfect..but breakfast was verry poor ...and prize 80 euro for two person for small buffet is really funny...breakfast in this hotel is biggest waste of money......i never seen poor breakfast in five stars hotel like here.....

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback after your stay at the Raphael hotel.

First of all, we are more than pleased to read your positive comments about the general service, the cleanness of the hotel and assistance given to you during your stay. It’s a real joy to know you give us a 5 for the service, location and rooming.

However I am rather concerned regarding your comments on our breakfast and I would like to apologize if we did not meet your expectations for this point. Our breads and home-made pastries are made every morning by our team. The delicatessens, cheeses and fruits are carefully selected to offer high quality products. Clients can choose between a buffet breakfast at 40€ per person or continental breakfast at 34€ per person. Our prices are the same applied by any 5* deluxe hotels in Paris.
For your next stay in Paris and hopefully at the Raphael hotel, we strongly recommend you to book breakfasts upon your reservation in order to benefit from special rates and make sure the cost of this service is already included in your booking. Please do not hesitate to visit our new website for special offers.

We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Raphael
and remain at your entire disposal.

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at beginning Oct, good hotel, classic style, rather than modern, internet a bit slow and need multiple logins... However room was very spacious.... Gym closed for renovations. Good location close to Champs Élysées

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Markqn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Markqn1,

Thank you so much for your 4 star review of the Hotel Raphael. We really appreciate you sharing your comments online.

You are right; the location of the Raphael is second to none, which is why we are such a popular destination for leisure and business travellers. The hotel is located within walking distance of many of Paris’s iconic sights, including the Arc de Triomphe, the Champs-Elysées, the Trocadéro, museums (Baccarat, Chaillot, Guimée…) as well as shopping in the avenue Victor Hugo. The business district of la Défense and the Palais des Congrès Convention Center at Porte Maillot are not very far and are easily accessible by subway or bus.

I am pleased that the classic French décor of the hotel was to your liking and that you enjoyed our spacious rooms. Please accept my apologies if you found our free internet a bit slow. I will speak with the maintenance team and will check if the problem has been resolved
Our fitness room was closed during 10 days while we were setting a brand new sauna. I am happy to inform you that hotel guests have again access to the fitness and now they can relax at the Swedish sauna after a hustle & bustle of Paris.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Raphael in the near future. I hope you will have the opportunity to try this sauna and maybe also taste the new business or gourmet menus created by our Chef Amandine Chaignot.

Kindest regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspley Guise
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is, quite simply, a wonderful hotel. My wife and I had our honeymoon here and returned for our fifth wedding anniversary. We were pleased to find nothing had changed.
The lobby is beautiful with lovely wood panelling andantigue French furniture giving an air of refinement and comfort. The rooms are well appointed and tasteful and scrupulously clean. This is a hotel which never feels vulgar or meretricious. It is the perfect place to return to after a hard day's sight seeing.
The hotel is well located and is close to the Arc de Triomphe, Eiffel Tower and Champs Elysees. For those not inclined to be flaneur, other sights can easily reached by the two nearby metro stations
The hotel's greatest asset however is the staff. Every member of staff is courteous without fault. Service is understated but efficient and guests are made to feel extremely welcome. The hotel is still family owned and this seems to be reflected in the attitude of all members of staff from managers to chambermaids. Most staff are multi lingual and nothing is ever too much trouble.
In short, a fine hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkyAspleyGuise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your excellent review about your stay at the Hotel Raphael. We always enjoy contributing to special occasions and I am so pleased to learn that your 5th wedding anniversary was a success. We were thrilled to welcome you back to the Raphael for this celebration. If I am correct the 5th anniversary is usually associated to Wood- which represents strength, solidity and warmth.

We are delighted that for your second stay with us, you still loved the hotel and its beautiful French décor and enjoyed our wonderful location just steps from great sight seeing spots in Paris.
Our staff works to provide friendly and top notch service every day, and we’re glad this was your experience. It is true the team at the Raphael are what makes us so unique and special. The hotel is still privately owned by the same French family over four generations and each one of our staff prides themselves on ensuring that all of guests feel welcome and completely at home. Kindly know that your appreciation means a lot to us and that I have been delighted to share it with all the staff.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We would love to welcome you back to the Raphael for another celebration or anytime your travels bring you to Paris.

With warmest regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel, as other reviewers have mentioned ,good location and so elegant .beautiful decor throughout and very comfortable bedrooms and beds.spotless bathrooms too .Buffet breakfasts delicious and very charming staff.The top floor roof-terrace has stunning views of the Arc de Triumph and the Eiffel tower, a wonderful spot for a coupe de champagne!Loved it !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Gabalotte,

I am delighted to learn that you felt compelled to write such a wonderful review following your recent stay at the Hotel Raphael and would like to thank you for sharing your impressions. Getting a perfect 5 rating from a Top Contributor means a lot for us. Merci !

We are deeply touched to be called a " Gem " , thank you so much for this nice reward.

The location of the hotel is ideal for both the business and leisure traveller, adjacent to the subway Kléber or bus station, within walking distance of many of Paris’s iconic sights, including the Arc de Triomphe, The Champs-Elysées, the Trocadéro, museums (Baccarat, Chaillot, Guimée…) as well as shopping in the avenue Victor Hugo or avenue Montaigne. Everything is accessible few blocks away from the hotel.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed our buffet breakfast, elegant décor, spacious rooms & bathroom and friendly staff.
We pride ourselves on our attention to detail, and it is gratifying to hear that it does not go unnoticed.

Raphael-Le Bar, on the rooftop, is a top notch place during summer time to sip a cocktail or a glass of champagne while enjoying magnificent 360-degree panoramic views over the Capital’s skyline (Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe…).

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Hotel Raphael for your next stay in our lovely " City of Lights".

Sincerely Yours,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Still family owned (which is a very rare and admirable thing today), very professional service, especially at the reception. Great breakfast abd ambience, real good way to start a day in Paris.Room was elegant, traditional design with antiques, but very well maintened and very clean.
Ideal location – in the heart of Paris (2 min to Champs Elysees), but located on the quiet street of Avenus Kleber at the same time.
If lucky with weather, definitely visit the rooftop bar and order champagne – the best view ever.
And the Concierge was very kind and knowledgable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Karl M,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this extremely kind review!

You are right, the hotel Raphael is the only Parisian five-star hotel privately run by a French family.
This delightful hotel has always retained its private and intimate ambiance so dear to the Baverez Family. After opening Hotel Regina in 1900 and Hotel Majestic in 1907, founder Léonard Tauber continued his glittering career with the opening of Hotel Raphael in 1925, a hotel designed especially for a VIP clientele. Madame Françoise Baverez perpetuates the tradition started by her grandfather and recently handed the general management of Hôtels Baverez on to her daughter, Véronique Valcke. Mother and daughter work hands by hands,
they operates the 3 hotels of the group and comes in every day. Often, they determine themselves if we need an extra item of decoration or if we need to change the curtains. If the housekeeper sees the need to change the decoration, carpeting or curtains, she can also speak directly to the owner. The hotel is managed like a private house, which is good for us and very good for the customer ( like you , they can see the difference )

Our whole team prides themselves in ensuring that all of our guests are looked after and cared for from the minute that they enter the hotel. It is always a lovely to see that this has been recognised by our guests and the team are thrilled by your comments regarding their service.
We are so lucky to have many of the top attractions right on our doorstep and the Concierge team are brilliant at pointing our guests in the right direction of that paris has to offer.

Again thank you very much for the courtesy of your time. We are now looking forward to welcoming you back to The hotel Raphael in a not too distant future to renew this unique French experience.

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Hôtel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We go regularly at the terrace at the top of this Parisian "boutique" luxury hotel.
If you want to enjoy a cup of champagne in a calm place with a beautiful view on Paris : this is the right place to be ! Enjoy !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFROQUEFEUIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LES_HOTELS_BAVEREZ, Directeur général at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Jfroquefeuil,

Thank you very much for your nice review following your experience at the Hotel Raphael.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our summer bar located on the 7th floor of the hotel and were well looked after from the moment you arrived. I have to agree, sipping a glass of champagne in our roof terrace is the perfect way to relax and round off a busy day of seeing some of Paris’ top sites. It is definitely one of life’s little pleasures!

Thank you very much for recommending the Hotel Raphael and we hope to welcome you back before too long for another slice of French pampering. Why not come back and try a cocktail at our cosy English Bar? It's an ideal spot for a quiet chat over a drink at any time of the day or evening. Subdued lighting, wood paneling and armchairs upholstered in red velvet… The epitome of luxury, tranquility and elegance!

Did you have the opportunity to taste the menus created by our chef Amandine Chaignot? She produces cuisine in her own image — honest, lively, up-to-date — and continues in the tradition of the French cuisine that she learnt over more than 10 years spent working with top chefs (Ducasse, Piège, Alleno, Fréchon, Leprince…). I recommend the new business menu at 58€ served in 58 minutes! The menu changes every 2 days and starts by “la patience du jour”!! Do not hesitate to find more information on our website.

Again thank you for your nice review. A bientôt.

With Warm Regards,

General Manager
Hotel Raphael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Balzac
Hotel Balzac
#629 of 1,800 in Paris
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#104 of 1,800 in Paris
332 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Prince de Galles Hotel
Prince de Galles Hotel
#46 of 1,800 in Paris
818 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Majestic Hotel Spa
Majestic Hotel Spa
#749 of 1,800 in Paris
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael

Property: Hotel Raphael
Address: 17 avenue Kleber | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees , Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Paris
#128 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#234 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#380 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a 2-minute walk from the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, this 5-star hotel offers luxury accommodation in the heart of Paris. It offers a panoramic terrace and a gastronomic restaurant. Decorated in a Louis 15th and 16th style, guest rooms feature wooden furnishings and elaborate wall hangings. They include a flat-screen TV and a minibar. Some of the suites feature a balcony, views of the Eiffel Tower and lounge area. The Chef of Raphael Le Restaurant proposes gastronomic French cuisine. Guests can relax and have a snack, tea, drink or just a breath at the cosy English Bar's red velvet arm chairs. Other facilities at the hotel include free Wi-Fi access and a fitness room. Charles de Gaulle - Etoile Metro Station is just 400 metres away, providing direct access to the Louvre Museum and the Grand Palais. Trocadero is a 15-minute walk away, which offers one of the best views of the Eiffel Tower in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Paris
Hotel Raphael Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing