We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Hotel Malher continues becoming nicer all the time!”
Review of Grand Hotel Malher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Malher
Ranked #684 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel Malher continues becoming nicer all the time!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Malher many times between 2002-2006 and always enjoyed it - staff, cost, location. The rooms were small but what I needed and felt there needed to be a bit of improvement but nothing kept me from going there. This time, due to mean spirited reviews, I didn't reserve. I booked somewhere else based on high Trip Advisor reviews and it was clean but depressing. On my first day in Paris I was in the Marias & decided to check out the hotel. IT WAS WONDERFUL and luckily there was a large room available and my partner and I immediately booked and moved to Hotel Grand Malher. It was a perfect room, staff was helpful and sweet & our time in Paris enriched by "going home" to our hotel. I never wrote on Trip Advisor before but felt compelled to by the rude and mean reviews posted. My only fear is there won't be a room next time I try to go! Thank you Lucas Fossier and Hotel Grand Malher!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghmalher, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Malher, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you very much for you comment ! It is such a pleasure to see that you liked your stay in one of our new rooms. As a small famillial hotel, it is important for us to know our guests and to communicate with them. Be sure we will do our best to find a room for your next trips to Paris. We wish you all the best until your next visit ! Lucas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    82
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
74
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed for 4 days in the Malher. At the booking I was told to have to change my room after the second day due to reservation problems. The rooms are okay, but the floor could do with a more lovely decoration. The bed was comfortable, the shower hot and the pressure good. A nicely surprise for a hotel in Paris. Breakfast was adequate though I had to ask for my orange juice. People who love a bufett should have breakfast outside. After I changed the room I realized that I missed my shampoo, that I had left in the bathroom. I asked the Concierge to get the keys of the former room to take my shampoo. Unfortunately, it wasn't there anymore and the concierge didn't want to do anything. I was in a fury, because the shampoo was expensive and I had to buy a new one in paris. This is an unaccpetable behaviour!!!! The cleaning staff has to bring the shampoo to the reception and not to steal it!!!! So the reservation problem of the beginning turned out to be a shampoo problem for myself. For me Hotel Malher turned out to be Hotel MALHEUR. So be aware and don't forget anything.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank travellerparis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Malher, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment, we are happy that you liked our hotel and the location.

We are sorry about your lost shampoo, but you have to understand that the cleaning team has to throw away all these kind of things when they clean a room. Unfortunately, we cannot afford to keep all these kind of things for our guests, such as shampoo, soaps of food.

If you had asked kindly, we would have refounded the value of the shampoo, like we usually do when such cases happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms were recently renovated and were very clean and updated. Very large bathroom with shower/tub combo in our triple room (though we only had 2 people). The hotel is going through renovations in common areas, so did have pounding/etc at 9:00 a.m.- for us not a big issue since were out sight seeing. It looks as though the renovations should be completed soon.
the hotel is very clost ot the tube/metro, and only a block from a taxi stand. Lots of shops in the area- could spend 2 days just exploring the area. Nice cafe's close for dinner and a bakery within a few blocks for breakfast. 10 minutes walk to Pompado, 15 minutes to Louve. Will definately stay here for next trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakerliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghmalher, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Malher, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you very much for post ! Renovations are going well here and we hope everything will be finished in october. As you know, we absolutely change evrything so sorry if there was some noise but the goal is to make the best place possible for our guests. We will be hapy to welcome you during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

120 euro plus 9 euro breakfast is too much for a small double room last decorated in 1990. It's spotlessly clean, but there is no welcoming atmosphere and the decor is dull. Great location but no reason to return. There's better value round the corner.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanartus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghmalher, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Malher, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We just want to inform you that we are entirely renovating our hotel, all rooms, bathrooms, decoration and the main reception. We hope we can welcome you in this new hotel and that you will like the new decoration.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

For some years that I come often to this hotel. 
It is NOT a modern hotel, but I get what is fundamental for  a night sleep.
Location is splendid in the Marais zone, very near to St. Paul Metro 1 station
People at the reception are nice.
Prices are fixed and fair. 
I prefer to take breakfast at "Dôme St Paul" café, by the corner of the street.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghmalher, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel Malher, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your comment. It is always a pleasure to welcome guests like you who come back over the years.
We are now renovating entirely our hotel and we will be a 3 star hotel by the end of the year. All rooms, bathrooms and decoration will be new. We already finished two floors and we would be happy to show you our new rooms on your next visit to Paris.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My parents and I stayed at this hotel in Paris for a Saturday night in June. The location of the hotel is conveniently close to the Saint Paul metro stop and a short walk to Notre Dame. The staff is very very friendly.

My room on the first floor facing the garden was quiet and adequate.

My parents room on the fifth floor faced the street, and with no air conditioning they were forced to choose between the hot stuffiness of the summer, or the loud noise of the bar across the street until 3 am. They had adjoining twin beds.

My mother woke in the morning with bed bug bites up and down her legs. The hotel denied any awareness of a bed bug problem (which may be true). The hotel failed utterly to make up any cost of the stay for this great unpleasantness and the stress it caused my mother, nevermind casting a shadow on an otherwise nice trip to Paris.

I will not recommend this hotel to anyone because 1) bed bugs!! and 2) if you have any problems, be rest assured the hotel will not do anything to remedy the situation. The hotel was informed I would leave this review if nothing was done - so you can conclude that nothing was done.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelingMat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2010

This hotel is very well situated in the living area of Le Marais. Everything is nearby (underground station, shops, restaurants…) and you can walk to quite a lot of places of interest (Place des Vosges, Beaubourg, les Halles, Notre Dame de Paris, La Bastille…).
The rooms are not very big but very clean and well kept. The continental breakfast is served in charming room that was once a cellar and the qualitiy of the food is excllent.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deuborch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#342 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#1,002 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#487 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#379 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#354 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Malher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malher

Property: Grand Hotel Malher
Address: 5 rue Malher | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#410 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#506 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Malher 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family establishement for the past 3 generations, in the very heart of the Marais area, just next door to Place des Vosges, the Bastille Opera House, the Picasso and Carnavalet museums, and close to the Ile Saint Louis, Notre Dame, Pompidou center and the Grand Louvre.We are located 2 minutes from the metro station Saint Paul.In our historical area, you will also find antique dealers, art galleries, fashion boutiques, restaurants, typical bars and colourful markets.The Grand Hotel Malher is being entirely renovated now and 2 floors are already finished. We will become a 3 star hotel by the end of the year. All rooms including bathrooms and furnitures are new, with modern and elegant design. You will also be delighted to have breakfast in our 17th century wine cellar.Our charming team will be happy to help you if you need information on your business trip or if you are visiting Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Malher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing