We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice museum”

Musee du Luxembourg
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.40*
and up
Paris Hop-On Hop-Off Combo: Sightseeing Bus and Seine River Cruise
Ranked #118 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum has an extremely diverse collection of European art but much shorter lines than the Louvre.
Paris
Level Contributor
252 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A very nice museum”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This small museum displays temporary exhibitions of high interest and quality - we visited the current one about Dream in the Renaissance times. The book store is very rich. And after visiting, just enjoy some hot chocolate at the Angelina outlet just down the stairs !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingFrenchman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    117
    38
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Qld Aust
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chagall exhibition”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited the Chagall exhibition in Paris in July and it sensational. Standing in line we met some wonderful people from Melbourne and we met again after to discuss the display. It was well planned and the exhibition was well worth a visit. We had missed a similar earlier in our trip so appreciated it all the more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
223 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“More than Monet”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Very original designed museum where you can see the Grandes décorations of Monet and more. Nice boutique to buy souvenirs. Less crowded than Musee D'Orsay and Louvre. I had see the Grandes Decorations at Boston Museum of Fine arts and I was very interesting to see them in their home place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank poporoMontr_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Chagall Exhibit”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited the Musee du Luxembourg specifically to see the Chagall exhibit. There is a fee, and this museum is not covered by the Paris Museum Pass. It was a quiet afternoon, and we were able to move through the exhibit relatively easily without being overcrowded. Depending on what exhibits they have on, I would recommend a visit. It also gave us the opportunity to stroll through the Luxembourg Gardens afterwards, which I would highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aymie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Well Paced and Very Illuminating.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We got there early in the morning and walked straight in. Thankfully, no long queue. The exhibition was excellent. It covered the period of Chargall's life from before World War One to the 1980's. It showed very vividly how Chargall's content and technique changed according to significent events in his life namely the war with the Nazis, his Jewish and Russian background as well as his great love for his wife and his extreme grief when she died. But it is the paintings that steal the show. So emotional and so easy to interpret. Whet your art appetite here before the Louvre and Musee D'Orsay. Very comfortable museum, shops, toilets and single level with no stairs make for a plasant walking tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 255100Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee du Luxembourg also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing