We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids, not so great for science” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cite des Sciences et de L'lndustrie

La Cite des Sciences et de L'lndustrie
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.02*
and up
The Paris Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60...
Ranked #169 of 1,086 things to do in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This large interactive science museum has numerous exhibits dedicated to making science comprehensible for non-scientists.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great for kids, not so great for science”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

So there a a lot of parts to the museum and you have to pay separately for different parts, which can get kind of complicated. If you are planning to go, find out in advance what you want to see. We went to see the regular exposition, the sub and the Cite des Enfants 2-7. Apparently there are also playgrounds outside, but those weren't immediately obvious to us and in the end we had to move one.

The regular exposition is really nothing special. On the second floor there is an optical illusion/interactive part which is quite fun to do though.

At the Cite de Enfants our kids (2,4 and 6) had a blast. Basically you get 1,5 hour to play around with all kinds of interactive stuff, which also teaches your kids something. In the end 1,5 hour was just too short.

After that we visited the sub. It was pretty interesting for aduls, not so much for my oldest daughter. Basically you get to walk through the sub from back to front with an audioguide. There is also a small exhibition.

One thing to avoid is the canteen on the ground floor. It's horrible and expensive. We parked in the garage of the museum and couldn't find our car. It's not very clearly marked and we forgot to take note on which floor (there are two) we parked and where we parked.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jie Yong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    309
    157
    113
    71
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wroclaw
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Modern Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Nice modern museum. Unluckily not so big exhibition, but when you know how to use all that scientific things you can spend there interesting few hours.
For me the most important thing was to see real submarine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanagawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My child had a blast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The first thing you have to do is to find out when each session starts. We were unaware that there were time restrictions and just bought tickets to find out we only had an hour and a half left. We went to the 5-12 kids section and immediately my son ran to the closest thing at hand. Everything is in French and English and hands-on. It was very busy and some activities we could not do. They even have a greenhouse with beautiful butterflies everywhere, you just have to be careful when leaving as one may be perched on your shoulder. Luckily we were able to return to the greenhouse and put it back before it flew away. Some of the kids were very pushy and no adult was around them so it is best if you keep an eye on your child so they get their turn. There was one machine that let you create a cutout to make a box by folding it in certain ways but some of the adults there seemed to be making several designs, making it impossible to get your design printed. It may be best to go there first if you want to do this activity. The area was also very popular and my son's favorite. They even have live ant colonies and a section dedicated to how a TV studio works including a green screen, weather backdrops, cameras, and specialty cameras and a switcher.
The closest metro station is the Porte de la Villette on the Metro 7, someone advised us to take a different metro (I think the 5) and it was quiet a walk just to get to the entrance (at least in the rain). When we went the hours were Tuesday to Saturday 10am to 6pm and Sundays 10am to 7pm.
This was a perfect activity to do in the winter time when it was raining outside.
There were several other things that could be done there but we did not have a chance.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank L0ve2Travel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
217 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Uninteresting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were quite keen to go as it was touted as the biggest in Europe. It was closed on a Monday so we had to go back on Tuesday.

On the map, the site looks really big but the bulk of the space was really for the library, expositions, forums for discussions and conferences.

The actual space for the sciences was quite small. We didn't find it very interactive or interesting at all.

There is a McD and a Quick hamburger store nearby and your ticket is valued for multiple entries in the day.

Give this place a miss.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank T5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A break from the normal musuems”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I loved this science musuem. I spent hours here with my girlfriend and we didn't even see everything. The exhibition on the 'The Great Story of the Univierse' is brilliant and the planeterium was good to. The Illusion exhibition was great fun. What I loved about it was that a lot of the displays are interactive. The Cité des Sciences was included in the Paris Museum Pass. There is a lot to see here, so leave plenty of time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cite des Sciences et de L'lndustrie also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Cite des Sciences et de L'lndustrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing