We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A license to print money!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Moulin Rouge

Moulin Rouge
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.59*
and up
Moulin Rouge Show Paris
Ranked #3 of 242 Concerts & Shows in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This risqué world-famous cabaret, performed in a 19th-century windmill, has been exciting audiences since 1900.
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A license to print money!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Poor singing, poor dancing, poor show and the juggler dropped his baton... twice!!!
Well overpriced and it felt like every little part of the evening was a way to get more money out of you!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank vwt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,491
    2,517
    1,500
    573
    549
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So disapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Not very impressed by the show, and the seating where way to close. It was not very pleasent that you are seating with the side to the stage. Only positive thing, is that the girls are natural and quite normal body types, or some if them are.

Helpful?
Thank 87fufu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Eurotrash meets eurovision”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Much more tacky than I expected. Costumes were great, and a couple of the acts were great (acrobats and mime artist). However the coordination of the dancers during their routines was terrible. I think that they need to tighen up their act a bit if they want to justify the very high ticket prices

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samford, QLD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Packed in like sardines”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Moulin Rouge sadly gouges as much money as they can out of us hapless tourists. The show, dancers, costumes and sets are stunning but you pay a lot to be squashed in like sardines. Our vision of a romantic setting with a table for two to watch the show was dashed when we arrived and were herded in to sit so close to others that our shoulders were jammed into theirs and our backs were touching the backs of those behind us. It was so crowded we could barely breathe and they pack in two shows a night like this. The Can Can was a highlight as were the acrobats performing in the breaks but we were very disappointed and couldn't wait to escape.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pandapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So disappointed I actually left early!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This had been my big dream for quite some time... Naively, I thought it might be somewhat reminiscent of the early days of the Moulin Rouge (just like the film of the same name), and if you too think this... then you will be greatly disappointed! However... this was not the first problem! Firstly we waited in line for about an hour. To 'avoid the cues' we arrived about 35 minutes early and were lucky enough to wait inside... but we were not seated until about 11.25pm. The show didn't start for another 20-25 minutes.

After booking tickets on line (show only, because I don't particularly like champagne) we were seated in THE WORST seats ever.... despite being very close to the front of the line. It seemed as though everyone else had booked champagne, so we got the cheap (CRAP) seats because we didn't. Now... you would assume at such a venue there would be a bar, or at least someone to take a drink order, but no. (NOWHERE ON THEIR WEBSITE DO THEY SAY THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE A BAR OR THAT YOU CAN'T ORDER OTHER DRINKS!)
The rude waiters did not even come our way. They were SO RUDE that when my boyfriend actually asked where the toilets were, his reply was; 'near the entrance - good luck!'

So here we were, the crappiest seats, no drinks whatsoever... and then the show begins! I thought at least I will love the show... and tried to feel good about it. But I was ohhhh so disappointed! Sure, the women were gorgeous... nice boobs and great legs... but the choreography was horrible... it was just horrible. No story line, no connection between the scenes... nothing besides loud music and great costumes. The dancers were like robots... so rehearsed at doing the scenes that they no longer have any joy in doing so... Oh, and did I mention all the songs are ridiculously mimed to playback???

The ONLY saving grace was the two acts in between the 'main acts'... they were circus performers. They were great!! We didn't even stay for the famous can can it was THAT BAD! We thought if we didn't leave when we did, it would take at least an hour to get out!

Overall, it was a horrible experience. I wanted to cry. All my expectations of an amazing night were shattered the minute we joined the queue. Spend your money elsewhere!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankieMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moulin Rouge also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Moulin Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing