We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite Square in the whole world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Place de la Concorde

Place de la Concorde
Book In Advance
More Info
$219.76*
and up
Private Tour: Notre-Dame, Paris Historical Walk & Skip-the-Line Louvre Museum...
Ranked #67 of 1,086 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's largest public square has a lengthy history as well - it served as the site of the guillotine that was used to execute Louis XVI, Marie-Antoinette, Robespierre and many others during the French Revolution.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
265 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“My favourite Square in the whole world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Despite the traffic, I love the fact that apart from the fountains and the obelisk in the centre, this square has no building. Any time of the day or night, this site is attractive even though one would wish it to be totally barred from the cars. One great way to visit it is in August, where traffic is scarce, but even with all the traffic it's an amazing place. When you are in its centre, you have a double perspective, across the Jardins des Tuileries towards the Louvres and across the Champs Elysees towards the Arc-de-Triomphe and beyond the Arche de la Défense.
When I was a teenager, I used to ask my dad or whoever was driving me there to turn around and around and around it...and sometimes, shame on me, I do it alone when I happen to drive through it. What is sure is that it's among the places which, as a Parisian, I will always try to get through when going in the vicinity

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DRM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    985
    1,036
    403
    40
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
232 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A beautiful site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was in Paris in July of 2012. We started at the Louvre, and then decided to walk to the Eiffel Tower. You walk past beautiful gardens, and get to the Place de la Concorde. This is where the guillotine used to be back in revolutionary times. Louis XIV, Marie Antoinette, and countless others were bereaved here. This place is full of history. Today, the Place contains two fountains, as seen in the movie The Devil Wears Prada, and the Obelisk of Luxor. It's a very nice place to stop and take a few pictures on your way.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RPR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,576 reviews
687 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,212 helpful votes
“It's a roundabout...but you can get some good photos of Paris from here.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

As many reviewers have already pointed out, Place de la Concorde is in fact a roundabout. However I would say that it is fairly pretty for a roundabout! It is a very central spot in Paris and if you are walking around the city, it is highly likely you will walk past here.
You can get some likely pictures of Paris from here. Along the Champes Élysées with the Arc de Triomphe in the background, the Eiffel Tower, the National Assembly, the Louvre. So if you do find yourself here, it's certainly worth stopping and spending time to take in the views.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest places in Paris in my opinion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This location has it all, every direction you look to, you see something beautiful.
Don't miss it... And maybe the grand wheel location just near it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A monumental roundabout, central to many other key attractions.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Really it's just a big roundabout. It has historical significance, but i imagine this will be a place you'll visit while en route to somewhere else. Worth a quick look around, but with so many incredible (and better) attractions in this city, it's not a priority.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharmVara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Place de la Concorde also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Place de la Concorde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing