We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whooooooo!! Spectacular”
Review of Pantheon

Pantheon
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.76*
and up
Skip the Line: Paris Panthéon
More Info
$131.47*
and up
Exclusive Bike and Skip the Line Louvre Museum Tour
More Info
$382.44*
and up
3-Hour Private Sightseeing Tour by Minibus
Ranked #52 of 1,169 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: With the Pantheon, architect Jacques-Germain Soufflot met Louis XV’s wish to glorify the monarchy in the form of a church dedicated to Saint Geneviève, the patron saint of Paris. The edifice was deconsecrated during the Revolution in 1791 and renamed the Pantheon. During the turbulent years of the 19th century, as regimes changed, it alternated in its role as a religious and patriotic monument. Since 1885, the year of Victor Hugo’s death and burial in the Pantheon, it has been the last resting place for the great writers, scientists, generals, churchmen and politicians who have made the history of France. The crypt houses the tombs of more than 70 illustrious figures including Voltaire, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, Emile Zola, Alexandre Dumas, Pierre and Marie Curie etc.Open:> 1st April to 30th September: from 10 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.> 1st October to 31st March: from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Last admission 45 minutes before closing time. Closed:> 1st January, 1st May and 25th December. Admission fees: Adults : 8,5€; Concessions (18 to 25) = 5,50 €; Free admission: minors under 18*; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Whooooooo!! Spectacular”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Holey Moley, was I surprised by what I saw!!! Inside the history of France Liberation! Beautiful frescos, the architecture is so wonderful. Go into the crypts!!! I was shocked! I guess Nobles, generals, cardnails, Victor Hugo's crypt, Roussou (father of the revolution) Madame Currie, and her husband, and guess what you to could be there for a fee!!!! A lot of the crypts just waiting for you! HA. They even had all the names of the marters who helped with the revolution. We must of been there for 2 hrs. What a site! Outside was a great picture stop!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,423
    1,239
    437
    53
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
291 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Burial Place of Famous French People”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A former church, the Pantheon - from the time of the Revolution onward - is dedicated to the achievements of French ingenuity. Inside are murals of some important events in French history and Foucault's pendulum, which proved the rotation of the Earth. The Pantheon is also a mausoleum: the crypt downstairs contains the graves of many famous French people, including Emile Zola, Marie Curie, and Victor Hugo. The building feels a bit empty though, as it is no longer a functioning church, so it probably won't top your list of must-sees in Paris.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 274beckyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“must see in paris”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

beautiful on the outside, beautiful on the inside...did not know of its existence until arriving in Paris...a must see!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoGrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice to visit but not a top attraction”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Pantheon is a building located in the Latin Quarter. It was originally built as a church dedicated to St. Genevieve but, after many changes, now functions as a secular containing the remains of distinguished French citizens. Among the many include Voltaire, Rousseau, and Victor Hugo. The day we went it was not busy and it was nice to be away from the major tourist bustle. In the main section the architecture is quite magnificent and the art work is being restored. There is scaffolding in many areas.

The lower area includes the Crypt, which is quite a massive area (almost maze like). Quite impressive to see the engineering that went into building all of it underground.

The Pantheon was good to see but in our opinion not a must see attraction especially since it is currently under extensive restoration(it was our 2nd trip to Paris and thus we opted to check it out). The information posted around the entrance indicates the cost and extent of the renovation, and it appears that it will take some time to complete. The scaffolding and other restoration items do take away somewhat from the building's beauty, and we were especially disappointed in not being able to see the Dome.

All of the recent restoration information is in both English and French but it would be helpful if all the historical information included English inside the building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CanukTraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
324 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Surprising! Rich in history and beautiful.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I didn't know much about the Pantheon before going, and found myself enjoying it more than I anticipated. While it is true that all the information inside is in French (and if this is a problem for you, then you are welcome to complain about it - but you are in France), we found that we could easily identify the main points. (and there are many informative iPhone apps to help as well). The upstairs was a church - and a beautiful one at that. Below is a tomb containing a significant number of famous French deceased. Many I wasn't familiar with, but there were a few notables that most would know - including Dumas (Three Musketeers), Hugo (Les Mis and Hunchback of Notre Dame), Curie (nobel prize winner) and Braille (who's name plate in English and in...Braille). Found our time here interesting. It wasn't busy at all, and the crypt is nice and cold (great for a hot summer day). You don't need a huge amount of time (an hour is adequate), and it is included in the museum pass, making it easy and cheap to stop in for a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lysmekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pantheon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing