We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Science in a park”

Parc de la Villette
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.54*
and up
Seine River Cruise and Paris Canals Tour
Ranked #137 of 1,275 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 130-acre park in northeast Paris is home to a music academy, a science museum and an IMAX theater.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

You will need a whole day to enjoy the full facilities of this park, the cost to see all attractions is €18.50, so make good use of it. We only had a few hours there before moving on.

1  Thank GrahamGrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great park"
in 3 reviews
"modern park"
in 2 reviews
"nice walk"
in 2 reviews
"main attractions"
in 2 reviews
"rainy day"
in 2 reviews
"metro station"
in 2 reviews
"science"
in 11 reviews
"geodes"
in 10 reviews
"cinema"
in 6 reviews
"stroll"
in 9 reviews
"dragon"
in 2 reviews
"stalingrad"
in 2 reviews
"joggers"
in 4 reviews
"futuristic"
in 3 reviews
"french"
in 9 reviews
"quai"
in 2 reviews
"dismantled"
in 2 reviews
Filter

87 - 91 of 439 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

As two adults we had a terrific day exploring the park with the help of the information centre materials and realised what a gold mine for families this venue would be. The park has so many diversions for children and adults alike. We were there in early spring on a cold day, and it was hard to find food, so our picnic lunch was a good plan. In the summer the rides would be operating and the stalls would be open.
The highlight was a visit to the Cite des Sciences and Industry housed in the park. We only covered one of the three possible floors, but were delighted with the standing exhibitions on Maths ( yes, you read correctly), genetics and space travel. There was plenty more, and its extremely interactive.

Thank RobnGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I'm a little surprised Paris has let one of its larger parks get so run down. It reminds me of the Pompidou Centre - would have looked shiny and new once, but now looks shabby from the outside.

The first playground we came across was under renovation. Its sign said "Renovations started Jan 2011. Expected completion May 2011" - it's now April 2013. That’s fairly reflective of the whole park.

The second playground has interesting and innovative play equipment, but some of it was broken and fenced off. The clean looking playground public toilets were shut for some unknown reason, so unfortunately the children had to pee around the corner of the building, where it looked like everyone had been doing the same for some time.

The nearby Metro station is also one of most run down and dirtiest I have seen.

Having said that, the kids enjoyed it. They didn't care (or didn’t notice) that it was a shambles, and want to go back. Also it was a bleak early spring day - maybe some leaves and sunshine will lift it. But the Tuileries Garden is so much better - why would you bother going back to Villette, unless you were a local with children.

1  Thank SMBiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

There's often something going on in this park - free music festivals, outdoor cinemas, paris plages etc. It's also a place where you can actually walk on the grass and not just admire it from the pathway ;) Be warned though, it's super crowded on warm Sundays. However the canal gives the park spacious feeling. There's a lot of "follies" in this park if you're interested in that kind of stuff.

I didn't like the surroundings of this park, but the park itself is lovely.

Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

we visited the place on Oct 13, the weekend was free entrance because of anniversary. We liked very much the many exhibitions, explanations on all kinds of scientific topics. Our kids 12,14yrs enjoyed themselves. The museum is big and you can easily spend the day here. We also took the imax cinema experience with a nice movie on wildlife. A souvenir from the shop and a perfect day in Paris on a rainy day.

1  Thank GuitarGerry61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parc de la Villette also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Parc de la Villette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing