We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Pandas!”

Menagerie du Jardin des Plantes
Ranked #220 of 1,169 things to do in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small zoo located within the Jardin des Plantes.
Tromso, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Red Pandas!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to see, among other things, the red pandas. There were immensly cute and looked like clumsy red cats. many other nice animals were present and the whole thing really is beautifully made. We recommend, especially if you like fluffy animals.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    145
    74
    33
    27
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Menagerie du Jardin des Plantes”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family just returned from Paris with 2 teenagers, and we all loved the menagerie. There are many exotic animals and reptiles that we don't see here in the US. The architecture style of the cages were fun and interesting to compare to US zoo's. The Gardens and greenhouses were beautiful, the natural museum was interesting as well. The history of the gardens and menagerie are interesting and one should read up one them before the visit. The visit may be more enjoyable to some if they knew the origins and intent of the zoo and garden. One of the favorite things we all did. Well worth the trip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

In my point of view, this is a very limited zoo. It is only good if you are seeing other attractions inside the Jardin des Plantes.
I would not recommend anyone to go there only to check the zoo out...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank engped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great zoo in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The zoo is located in the Jardin des Plantes and charges admission. It's a great spot to spend an afternoon, especially with kids. Our one-year-old daughter was in awe. There is a great diversity of animals, and many are located in fenced enclosures rather than cages, so you can often get excellent views (and photos). The grounds of the zoo are lovely, with lots of mature trees providing plenty of shade on a sunny day. This is one of the oldest zoos in the world, and though it might not be evident from a visit there, a main focus of the zoo is conservation research. Would highly recommend, especially for families with kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A great outing for the grandchildren.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We are in Paris minding our grandchildren whilst Mum works. This was one of the many options to entertain children in Paris that popped up from a simple web search. It is small by many zoo standards and thus has a limited variety of animals. They all look well and cared for and the opportunity to see young owls in the nursery was an unexpected pleasure. The children had a great day and were full of stories about crocodiles, snakes and flamingos when they got back to the flat to see Mum.
There are some unusual animals not previously seen up close. The cost is very reasonable when you consider prices in other zoos throughout the world.
The Menagerie is located in the Jardin des Plantes complex alongside the the gardens and a museum of natural history with lots of dinosaurs.
Looking to find interesting things to do with children? Put this on the list for Paris.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank petsaloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menagerie du Jardin des Plantes also viewed

 

Been to Menagerie du Jardin des Plantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing