We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really eerie but amazing!”
Review of The Catacombs

The Catacombs
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$91.14*
and up
Skip-the-Line Admission Tickets to the Eiffel Tower and the Catacombs
Ranked #56 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A genuine labyrinth in the heart of underground Paris, the Catacombs were fitted out in the galleries of former quarries. Twenty metres underground, the ossuary houses the remains of approximately six million Parisians, gradually transferred between the end of the 18th century and the mid 19th century, as the capital's cemeteries were closed for health reasons. Along a tangle of dark galleries, visitors discover a presentation of death with bones arranged in a romantic macabre decor. This unique site is a moving testimony to the history of Parisians and invites visitors on a timeless journey.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Really eerie but amazing!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Catacombs experience is really eerie seeing all the skulls and bones piled up in the underground mines. As you go through the different chambers and passages you read about the history of the mines and the making of catacombs.

It would seem that they limit the amount of people who are underground for safety reasons which is good and so that its not over crowded and so that you get a better experience of being down there almost alone at times which is great. The downside to that is massive queues to get in. So be early and come appropriately dressed for waiting a long time outside. There is a McDonalds down the road and a small coffee shop that sells coffee and snacks which is good.

It was an epic experience for us and we despite the very long wait to get it we really enjoyed it when we walked through. We would certainly recommend see this if you are in Paris.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Polo_and_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,360
    1,944
    682
    169
    139
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into Paris history”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was such a great attraction to see in Paris. Something alternative to the main sights and really worth making the effort.

We arrived early and it still took us an hour to get in but it was worth it, you walk deep underground and follow one of the tunnel networks which is itself amazing, it opens up eventually to a walkway to the Catacombes which eerie but extremely interesting.

This isn't open Mondays and opens at 10am. Arrive as early as you can to avoid waiting in line for a long time but if you don't mind the wait there is a bakery across the road which sells coffee and delicious food which makes waiting line easier.

If you have time just go - it's a great piece of Parisian history.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_H1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great History, Arrive Early and Bring Cash!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After reading so many reviews of LONG lines at the Catacombs, I made sure we arrived at 9:15am, 45 minutes before the gates opened. Even then, the line was still 60 people long. There is a McDonalds just down the street if you need to run to the toilet during the inevitable line queue (.50 euro). Once the gates opened, the line moved somewhat quickly (maybe another 15 minutes) until we made it to the payment window. After an hour wait, we found out their credit card machine was broken (no signs were put up until afterward) and they were only taking cash that day. Fortunately, the attendant was nice enough to let me run down the street to an ATM while my wife held our spot. Big FYI here, make sure you have cash on you, I'm not sure every attendant would be so generous and you don't want to wait only to be turned away at the gate.

Once inside, you get a nice mix of Geology and History with the signs in both French and English. We were lucky enough to tag behind an English speaking tour guide who pointed out little historical facts (Black plague victims skulls, etc). You end up in the Ossuary pretty quickly, I recommend you take your time looking at the dates and the formations they placed the bones in, all of it very interesting. I have a feeling some of the lower ratings come from guests who blew through the tunnels without understanding the history behind them.

If you're claustrophobic, can't handle the steps or not into history, you should probably skip a visit here. I recommend a visit for anyone into history and something a little "off the beaten path" for most visitors to Paris. Just remember - ARRIVE EARLY!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CincyTraveler1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd visit to catacombs, would return again”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was my second visit to the catacombs. The cost is 8 euro per adult or 4 euro per young adult. We got in line at 10:20 and got into the catacombs by 11:30. The line was around the back of the building, in my opinion it moved quickly but I had read reviews here first and knew what to expect. The walks down and back up the spiral staircases weren't horrible. All the posters in French had English translations at the bottom. After the stairs you walk through tunnels before getting to bigger rooms with the bones. For the most part we weren't around any other groups. I did not find it to be claustrophobic at all. This is a highlight of visiting Paris.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, ON
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lifelong dream fulfilled”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I read a story about the catacombs when I was a teenager and dreamed of seeing it for my self one day. It was a beautiful and moving experience. The artfully placed skulls and bones are not morbid at all surprisingly.
The bad was the 3 hours long wait to go in.

Helpful?
Thank jofcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Catacombs also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to The Catacombs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing