We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth a check” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Catacombs

The Catacombs
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.33*
and up
Skip-the-Line Admission Tickets : Eiffel Tower Summit and Catacombs
Ranked #56 of 1,086 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A genuine labyrinth in the heart of underground Paris, the Catacombs were fitted out in the galleries of former quarries. Twenty metres underground, the ossuary houses the remains of approximately six million Parisians, gradually transferred between the end of the 18th century and the mid 19th century, as the capital's cemeteries were closed for health reasons. Along a tangle of dark galleries, visitors discover a presentation of death with bones arranged in a romantic macabre decor. This unique site is a moving testimony to the history of Parisians and invites visitors on a timeless journey.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a check”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Awesome and a different side of Paris to see. If your tired of seeing the famous monuments and the glitz and glamour and want to get down and dirty, but you want to stay away from the dark and unsafe areas, this is for you. Great history and fascinating. Just remember to book tickets or be there EARLY, otherwise you'll be baking in the sun for hours waiting to go in

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ash_skywalker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,184
    1,822
    629
    162
    127
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a loooooong wait...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We got there early and STILL had to queue for 2 hours in the BURNING hot sun. Make sure you take plenty of water and a sombrero with you if you are going during summer!

Once inside, it is actually quite pleasant. NOT gory, as I first imagined. Very interesting history, lots of information. Actually a very nice visit. The walk is relatively easy (the worst part are the stairs at the end, not good if you are totally unfit and do not like small, spiral staircases). Make sure you dress comfortably and have comfortable shoes on. The gift shop at the end is interesting.

Cool visit!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui-in-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nbraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must see but be prepared”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

A very emotionally moving and rather disturbing experience, not to be missed. We were lucky in the sense that we visited the Catacombs during late March 2011, before the tourist season, when hordes of tourists descend into Paris. We arrived early in the afternoon and waited no more than ten minutes to begin the tour.
Paris is one of my favorite places to visit, the wide boulevards, monuments, museums, eating establishments, the pace of life, Paris has it all. I would rate Paris to be one of the most elegant and aesthetically beautiful cities in the European continent. Simply beautiful and breathtaking. I find the Parisians to be an extension of all the beauty that surrounds them, very polite, chic and elegant.

I told my wife that I wanted to take her to a place in Paris where beauty was on the eye of the beholder. A place where everybody was equal regardless of social or economic status or external beauty. We toured the Catacombes de Paris, which were very easy to access via the wonderful parisian metro system and getting off at the Denfert-Rochereau Metro Station.
Needless to say, the adjectives that came to mind while touring the facility were: Eerie, as we were the only two people that descended into the caverns but more than eerie I would consider it a very emotionally moving experience. The enormity of the place and the fact that these remains were once people like you and I, some of them the children of some unfortunate parents. The skulls, that by looking at them appeared as they had been the victims of violent deaths. The number of remains (six million people). All of that contributed to the enormity of the place that we as humans, meaning my wife and I, found it very hard to grasp. Soon we found ourselves so moved by it all that we couldn't help it but to shed some tears for all the forgotten souls residing within the confinements of the Catacombes. Highly recommend it, but not for the faint hearted or physically unfit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“hauntingly great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

i enjoyed touring the catacombs. We got there early, before the doors opened. As we waited for the opening, the line did get quite long. There are a many small steps down to the entrance, so keep this in mind as you will need to be physically able to manuever them. Once down in the catacombs, be aware it can be wet and water may also drip on you. Small puddles are common. It was interesting and also eerie, but something I will never forget. Read up on the history beforehand so you know why all the bones are down there. Enjoy!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank bikefamkoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“get there early - very early!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

we arrived at the back of the line at about 10.30am ...... we got in at 1pm! but wow was it worth the wait!
yes the line gets very long - and as the attraction only allows a max of 200 people in at any one time it works on a one in one out basis...... but with a lot of small bars and bistros in the area and a lot of people and cars to watch it isnt too bad!
Be warned, there are no toilets in the attraction and i couldnt find any near by so dont drink too much.....!

the attraction itself is accessed via a long spiral stair case ... there is then about 500m of darkish tunnels to walk through. these can get very low in places - i am very tall (6'6) but they were even low for people of 5'5!

after about 10 mins of walking, you reach the 'graves' .... im not sure 'Graves' is the right word as it is more like art work with bones piled from floor to ceiling ... i expected it to feel weird but it really didnt .... it had a warm comfortable feeling.

in total there was about a KM of 'bone tunnels' and all i can really say is that they were amazing ... really not what i expected but well worth the long wait!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lawrence3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Catacombs also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to The Catacombs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing