We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice spot to be in the middle of everywhere!”
Review of Hotel Jeanne d'Arc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Ranked #346 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Holland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A nice spot to be in the middle of everywhere!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

If you are looking to find some cheap accommodation ( a needle in a haystack in Paris!) in the centre of Paris you cannot go any better than this place.

The hotel has only two stars but they have decent rooms and bathrooms . Small wardrobes, that I will never understand of French hotels in general).

I have used this hotel for the second time and I have to say that it is great for the purpose. Situated really in the middle of the Marais ( a great fun central quarter in Paris). It is rather basic, hence some complaints before of mine, but believe me I’ve seen a lot worse in Paris , so, all in all. I would go back, in fact I did, and I would recommend it, in fact I am doing this!

Breakfast is basic too, but if you need to go out early (as I did because I was there on business for a trade show) it is best , and probably cheapest than other places around there in the area. The croissants are really buttery!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank milandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    266
    72
    15
    15
See reviews for
89
294
72
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently stayed for a second time. Ten years ago, we found the rooms drab and basic, but the location was so desirable...we forgot the hotel's shortcomings. The elevator to the 6th floor was the slowest on record; I chose to take the stairs instead most of the time. There was no WiFi as advertised. We attempted to connect in the lobby...to no avail. No hair dryer in the room. The concierge was not only not helpful but gave incorrect information. I knew that the Musee d'Orsay was closed on Monday, but the staff reassured me that it was open on Monday. So much for relying on current information. When it came to helpful public transportation information, the staff was of no assistance.
We had only a short stay this time in Paris, and much of it was wasted due to poor information or no information at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyFrenchAffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having stayed at this well located hotel two years ago with a mate, I was keen to return with my family. For two people the accommodation upstairs is small but comfortable. The Marais is a fantastic base for exploring Paris. An inexpensive cab fare, metro, or 20 minute walk and you're right in the action.

For this 6 night stay our family of three was allocated a space on the ground floor unfortunately next to reception and the staff toilet, noisy and smelly. The two-roomed space was poorly configued with shabby furniture, minimal lighting and old occillating fan with death rattles, in lieu of airconditioning. As the large (broken) windows opened directly onto a well-used narrow alley we felt that our safety would be compromised if we opened them at night.

We were all disappointed with the accommodation and advise families considering this hotel to explore other options in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We really like this hotel and recommend it to our friends. The renovation since our last visit is very nice. The staff is very helpful, nice shopping and eating in the area, and an easy access metro stop to get around the city. Room was clean and comfortable. This is a good hotel in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agile_Lapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is just a short walk from the St. Paul Metro in Marais area of Paris District 3. You can also walk quite easily to the Bastille, Les Halles, and Pompidou Center. The staff was very accomodating and the rooms are not so small. Our room did not have an electrical outlet in the bathroom or a bracket to hold the shower head. Worst thing was dirty carpet. There is an American breakfast diner near, an an unending number of cafes, bistros, bakeries, etc. Marais includes the old Jewish section also. Steps away from the front door are two nice dinner cafes and a plaza with four or five more cafes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haymaker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we loved this hotel! small and intimate, boutic and unique :) the location is great --- at the canter of paris and you can travel easy to every place at the city.
I think that young couple would love this place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inbar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Location, location, location....this hotel is all about location. The Marais is a charming, trendy, exciting area of Paris with few affordable hotels. The Jeanne d' Arc is affordable and perfectly located in the center of the Marais. The hotel is basic with simple stark rooms that could use some upgrades (bathroom had broken floor tiles etc). It was clean enough. We had stayed here before, so knew what to expect. This is not a luxury hotel, but it is an excellent value. The common areas are very charming. The breakfast was adequate. Much of the staff are not Parisian and are consequently limited in their knowledge of the city, but there is a computer in the library that can be used by residents. As budget travelers who love Paris and the Marais, in particular, we would not hesitate to stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DidiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#362 of 1,800 in Paris
482 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#81 of 1,800 in Paris
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#489 of 1,800 in Paris
388 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#970 of 1,800 in Paris
251 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#339 of 1,800 in Paris
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jeanne d'Arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jeanne d'Arc

Property: Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Address: 3 rue de Jarente | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#350 Family Hotel in Paris
#524 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jeanne d'Arc 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jeanne d'Arc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jeanne d Arc
Jeanne d Arc Hotel
Grand Hotel Jeanne Darc
Hotel Jeanne Darc Paris
Grand Hotel Jeanne d Arc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing