We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful little hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Ranked #94 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a wonderful little hotel!!!”
Reviewed May 23, 2009

I traveled with my friend to Paris May 7-10 2009 and I was tasked with finding the hotel. There are only about 1,500 to choose from! I was reading "Paris For Dummies" and the author rated this hotel as one of his favorites. So, I booked it! I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. STAFF: The staff was so friendly and courteous from the moment we walked in to the moment we checked out. ROOM: Our room was the "Classic Room". It was a medium sized room with charming linens and drapes. There were 2 twin sized beds pushed very close together but I still feel like we had ample room. We each had our own closet to hang our clothes and there was an additional closet with the safe and extra storage. The bathroom was fantastic - very modern and comfortable and with shelves to hold our toiletries. There was NOT an iron or ironing board - but the hotel does offer clothes pressing service. There was a hair dryer. AND, there is FREE WI-FI internet access which is a nice added bonus. FOOD: Our stay included breakfast which we ate outside in the wonderful garden. Our breakfast was coffee or tea, fresh squeezed blood orange juice, and an assortment of croissants and rolls with jams. LOCATION: the location is perfect! The St. Sulpice metro station is a block away - this was the cheapest and easiest way to get to Paris - this train takes you to the Chatelet stop in Paris which is a block or two away from the Seine. The hotel is also near the Jardins du Luxembourg which were absolutely beautiful. The area was a very nice, chic area of Paris. We felt very safe there as well. PRICE: our room cost us each approx $150 USD/night. It was well worth it - the hotel is so charming and exquisite and the location is just right. OVERALL: I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat - it was such a positive, wonderful experience. Our host, Midi (not sure how to spell his name was FANTASTIC. If anyone ever tells you that the French people are not nice, they are WRONG. Everyone at this hotel was wonderful!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANNEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    160
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
125
456
44
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We just returned from a short stay at the Hotel de l'Abbaye in Paris. What a wonderful place with helpful staff, cute breakfast area, and amazing charm. It is well located near the Luxembourg Gardens and the St. Sulpice metro stop. This is the place I will stay at every time I return to Paris.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Everything about this hotel was just perfect as far as we were concerned. Fabulous and helpful staff, clean and functioning rooms, excellent location. If there was any
'complaint', we would have appreciated some sort of coffee service in the room, but this is so minor compared to all the pluses. We've already decided that there is no need to look at further hotels for our next trip to Paris. This is where we will always stay in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otherside0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

The best i loved about the this hotel is that its natural surroundings. The room though small, was lovely and beautiful with a garden !!

The staff is very great. It was a very friendly feel here.. truely french !!

Sitting for breakfast in the conservatory felt good..

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2009

My friend and I stayed in the Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain for 4 nights recently and we enjoyed everything except the shower. To the hotel's credit, they tried to fix it, and I'm sure they did the best they could, but it never really drained properly. I'm sure it's because of the "ancien" plumbing. The bathtub worked well however and was big and roomy. The hotel itself is lovely with a peaceful courtyard in the middle and everyone there was very friendly and helpful. When we left, we had left behind some articles which the hotel mailed to me here in the USA at their expense. Can't get better service than that. The room service was good but it would have been nice to have had more choices for lunch and dinner. Very basic menu of sandwiches and cheese and fruit plate, omelets, etc. Breakfast was delicious and could either be served in your room or downstairs by the courtyard listening to the birds. The location of the hotel is great with shops, restaurants, and pharmacies nearby. One other thing though, we turned the thermostat down to the lowest setting but it never really did get cool enough (for me anyway!) I like it really cool especially at night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2009

The concierge was incredibly helpful: He made our dinner reservations for us, offered us breakfast when we arrived from our overnight flight; and helped me improve my french at my request: Our room was spotless, and we had a small private garden: Do not expect a chain hotel; you will hear the plumbing and people outside at night But you will also hear the birds and feel the fresh air through your huge windows. It was charming!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrykBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

Just what we wanted. A very French hotel in Paris. Small - 47 rooms. Breakfast in the small garden or in the sunny breakfast room. Walk to sites in the 6th, 7th, 5th, 1st. Staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#38 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
#177 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#58 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#121 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Address: 10 Rue Cassette | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#31 Family Hotel in Paris
#61 Business Hotel in Paris
#74 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL HOME, since 1973 Located in the very centre of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, renowned for its array of cafés, restaurants, clubs and theatres, the peaceful Hotel de l'Abbaye offers a pleasant contrast with this symbolic district of Paris. L'Hôtel de l'Abbaye perpetuates its legend through enduring values. A shared passion for the art of French living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Abbaye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing