We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely French experience with gret service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Ranked #77 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely French experience with gret service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hotel. The rooms can be a bit small, but all are comfortable and decorated in a classic French fashion. The beds were extremely quiet and the room we ended up in was quite quiet. After having stayed in extremely high and low-end hotels, I found the L'Abbaye to be a perfect place. We intend to make it our "go to" hotel in Paris from now on.

The staff was extremely attentive and caring. They even arranged for a doctor immediately after one of us became ill, and followed up on this every time we stopped by the desk. They also were quite gracious about moving our room after we realized that our first was noisy.

Now, about the noisy room. We were situated first on the 1nd floor by the stairway. This particular room allowed in some noise from the front desk, stairway and machinery from the elevator. The staff immediately showed me a couple of alternative rooms when I asked to be moved, and our second room was perfect.

We especially enjoyed the lobby area, which includes several formal lounges and wine/liquor/snack service. The dining area for breakfast was nice, and I think it would become delightful when the garden opens in the summer.

All in all, we found the hotel a perfect way to spend a few days in Paris.

Room Tip: See the review. The rooms immediately off the main stairway may be a noisier than the others. You a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    156
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
121
428
42
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunkeld
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

As I experienced when i stayed last June, we were very well looked after, and as we had to endure a very long flight via London to Melbourne, Australia, we were allowed to occupy our room for longer than the check out time. It made such a difference. As before, I found the room so very comfortable and relaxing. The staff, understanding and helpful

Room Tip: Tall people might find the beds a bit short.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I never write reviews, but since I found this hotel on TripAdvisor, I want to let others know what a wonderful hotel this is. The staff was very kind, the room was small but immaculate and very comfortable, breakfast was a delight and the location can't be beat. Such a charming hotel with character! The common room/garden area was the perfect place to enjoy breakfast and a cocktail. What a delightful hotel!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I would like a larger room for $400 a night, but maybe I just don't have the perspective of a seasoned Paris traveler.

My wife worried about quiet, and this place was very quiet, and on a quiet street too. A beautiful court yard in spring, with blooming camellias and a lovely gurgling fountain, added to the intimate sitting areas.

The drinks and small plates served in the evening create a great sense of relief that you can just hang out, and not have to go anywhere. Reasonable prices for food, but high prices for cocktails. A very nice Continental breakfast is served with charm.

Many US tourists, which is what it is.

Some people staying here said they've tried other places, and this is their favorite, bar none. I might try one or two more places just to see for myself. But it was not a mistake to start here. PS...very close to the St.Suplice stop of the #4 Metro...very handy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steamboatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a wonderful time, the staff was excellent, very accommodating. Great value with the breakfast service. Charming atmosphere and a good value. Wifi service available and a guest computer in the lobby, where you can print out tickets and such.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was my second stay at Hotel de l'Abbaye in the past three years and it did not disappoint. If anything the hotel was even more appealing as all furniture in the public rooms has been recovered in the same delightful materials and the room we stayed in appeared to have been re-decorated very recently. It is an exquisite small boutique hotel that offers a very Parisian ambience in the heart of Saint Germain. Perfect location with access to St. Sulpice Metro, great shopping and restaurants.

Staff at the hotel are gracious and will work hard to fulfill all of your expectations. Free internet service is included.

Rooms are on the small side but elegantly appointed and clean. Breakfast is served in the atrium area overlooking a small garden or if you choose in the sitting room just off the lobby and atrium. Coffee is served in silver pots with accompanying croissants, delicious French breads and jams.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithP845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I traveled with my husband and two kids, 6 and 8 years old. We were in adjoining rooms on the third floors each with their own bathroom. The rooms were a great size. The location in the city was perfect for us with Luxembourg gardens just a few blocks away and the major attractions a quick taxi or metro ride away. This hotel was perfect in every way. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#14 of 1,811 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#22 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#29 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel La Tamise
Hotel La Tamise
#2 of 1,811 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Address: 10 rue Cassette | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#31 Family Hotel in Paris
#56 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#61 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Abbaye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing