We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A department store like no other”
Review of Galeries Lafayette

Galeries Lafayette
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$56.07*
and up
Paris Galeries Lafayette Shopping Break and Exclusive Lounge Access
Ranked #54 of 1,124 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors to this massive department store can find brand-name items of nearly every variety. Please note that Galeries Lafayette Haussmann will be exceptionally closed for the holidays on Sunday the 25th and Saturday the 31st of December.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A department store like no other”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Even if you don't have loads of cash to buy anything from Chanel, Dior, Prada, it is still a great store to wander around and look at all the infamous labels you have heard of. Don't forget to go to the top of the building and take a gander at the view.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,093
    1,643
    576
    157
    109
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Everything under one roof”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

It opens at 930 and we went in right when it opened. There is 3 buildings under Galeries Lafayette - main store, gourmet and the other one I can't remember. We only managed to shop the main store.

All fashion brands are in here. We even bought a luggage from the 4th floor to keep our new stuff! There is also restaurants and cages in the top floor ( or maybe 5th).

You can really spend a day here! From buying fashion stuff to food to chocolates. Make this your last shopping day!

There is a VAT refund counter in the shoe level (-1) and level 2 behind LV. You can refund in cash at the counter in level -1. Do this at the end of your shopping of course!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy_Meidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Sensory overload”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Perfume and money...strong smells and stronger prices. Well worth a look, but bring your wallet, very high end except for oil barons! Nice gourmet area on bottom floor...very professional staff.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Xhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My boyfriend suggested we eat here and it was really lovely, lovely seafood.... Glass of savvy blanc and some crusty French bread and unsalted butter - what more could a girl want!!!

We also went to look at the view of the view of the dome from the ground floor - so spectacular it made me feel a tad emotional - but maybe that's my age, I also had a hot flush... ;-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelD999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a must see, even if you aren't into shopping, you can appreciate the architecture. We spent almost all day yesterday in Galeries Lafayette because it was one of the only places open on bank holiday. It is gorgeous. Beautiful shops, Lanvin, Givenchy, Louis Vuitton, Chanel, Prada, Gucci, Saint Laurent, Lancel, Longchamp, Repetto, and many many more! There's even a McDonalds for a budget lunch (and also a cafe on the upper level that has a gorgeous panoramic view). A second visit is in the works hopefully before we leave.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AJM9447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galeries Lafayette also viewed

 

Been to Galeries Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing