We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedford, NOT the place to stay in Paris”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #534 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Bedford twice. Once in early Aug 2013 for 7 nights. And then again later in the month for one night.
Lets start with the positives: the carpeting and wallpaper make this hotel beautiful. The views are beautiful. The front desk staff and housekeepers are friendly.
Now the negatives: First stay - towel warmer did not work; a/c would not stop and kept it freezing in the room. When we called the front desk, they said someone would be right up. Nobody showed. They remotely turned off the a/c for our last 3 nights. One window would not open properly. The wifi does not work in the rooms or hallway on the 8th floor; there is no water pressure on the 8th floor and no ability to control water temp. It kept changing from freezing to scalding. We asked for assistance but the front desk said the person that deals with those equipment issues in the rooms was not there yet (at 9:30 am) and they would tell them when they arrived. When we checked out I asked to speak to the general manager. The deputy director came and spoke with me. He did not seem concerned at all about the negative experience. He offered that they would 'do something' if we came back to the hotel next month. No apology, nothing. That deputy director is a stuffed shirt and should not work in the hospitality industry. He is a poor representation for Hotel Bedford. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. ANYWHERE ELSE IS PARIS WILL BE A BETTER EXPERIENCE.

Room Tip: To choose a good room - quickly choose another hotel in Paris. Don't bother with Bedford, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mwhiteaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

I am very sorry that our property and service did not meet your expectations.

I will contact you personnally within the next few days.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 528 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I spent a week on business in Paris staying at the Bedford. The staff represent what I consider the essence of la politesse française; a commodity sadly rare in Paris but abundant at this hotel.

My only caveat is the wifi service, which was fast but which one had to log into every time the iPad or iPhone was closed. But this is a small consideration compared to the excellence of the lovely staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Traveling as a family we booked the 2-bedroom suite for 6 days. It was great. The room size was slightly small. The location is fantastic and a few mins from the nearest metro in Madeline. There were many restaurants nearby for breakfast, lunch or dinner, all of which can deliver to your room too.
Our room had two bathrooms both with bath tubs and good amenities. It was a quiet location and yet very central. Its halfway between the Louvre and Champs Elysee and at the heart of the Opera, Grand Magasins. Gallerie La Fayette was a 5-10 min walk for those who like shopping. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The decor is very nice and classic with a Parisian feel.
Only downside was that we did not really like the limited variety in the breakfast area, but thats probably due to the fact that its a French breakfast, however serving an international one is better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777Mbh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent six fast-paced days in Paris using Hotel Bedford as our base. It's an excellent neighborhood, quiet with one or two embassies nearby. Very close to the Metro and Rue St. Honore, the location is really perfect. The rooms are nice, very clean and efficient. Nice bathroom and good quality amenities in the bath. The staff was quite nice and accommodating. I recommend highly!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top level, father away from street noise which is nice. M
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Near many cafes and restaurants, the "hop on hop off" tour bus stop and Metro at the Madeleine, small grocery markets and great shopping...all walking distance. Rooms clean and well-appointed, staff friendly and helpful. Definitely a Paris "boutique hotel" feel! On a quiet street and hotel itself quiet. Best was the Bedford was exactly as the pictures showed. If in Paris again, this hotel will be my first choice!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hat-a-Tude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very tidy, classy place. Staff and Service were very good. After 7 visits to Paris I would say the rooms are a little bigger here at the Bedford than most. Very quiet street, located not far from Madeleine Metro station and only a short walk to "Les Grand Magasins".

Only aspect that disappointed was the "Petit Dejeuner" buffet. In my view a little too expensive with little variety - no hot options.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StueyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was my second stay at the Hotel Bedford. I was very satisfied.

It is clean and well appointed. Perhaps the most appealing thing was the old-fashioned touch of having real room keys. There is something homely and welcoming about a real key rather than a plastic card to swipe.

Another positive feature was that the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Sometimes people grumble about the French, but the staff at Hotel Bedford were obliging and friendly.

Finally free wifi throughout is also a benefit which other hotels are mean about.

The second floor single room was a tad small, but you don't need a lot of space for sleeping.

€185 was not cheap for a single room. However the handy location and comfortable stay meant that this was an acceptable price.

I did not try the breakfast. Why would you have a hotel breakfast in Paris when you can nip out to any cafe for your classic coffee and croissant?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel de l'Arcade
#522 of 1,804 in Paris
352 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Waldorf Madeleine
Hotel Waldorf Madeleine
#516 of 1,804 in Paris
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
#352 of 1,804 in Paris
568 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Westminster
Hotel Westminster
#236 of 1,804 in Paris
1,059 reviews
Hyatt Paris Madeleine
#251 of 1,804 in Paris
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 17 rue de l Arcade | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#211 Family Hotel in Paris
#310 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#403 Business Hotel in Paris
#436 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $185 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing