We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value in Paris”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #550 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Value in Paris”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is well located within walking distance of most places of interest. i got a great deal here and so was a bit apprehensive of what to expect for £100 per night, however I was surprised to see that the lobby was quite impressive.
The rooms were surprisingly large (especially for paris) and clean, however, the decoration was a drab and slightly tired. Would definitely stay here again for that price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl8823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Hotel Bedford!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    229
    61
    20
    15
See reviews for
124
160
25
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

All round from limited buffet @ €20 and tired rooms @ €450 the hotel could do better. Why not build on the style and ambience of the dining room to make the hotel something really special.
Location is very good and able to walk everywhere with excellent restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our property.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Hotel Bedford is a serious luxury hotel, and carries a seriously expensive price ticket. That's not a problem - you get what you pay for, and we have been treating ourselves to visits here for the last twelve years. However, after our experience in August, I don't think we will be coming back. On our first night, we were woken around 1am by guests in the room above arguing, fighting, screaming, throwing the furniture around... We're in our forties and no strangers to a bit of high spirits, but it really sounded like someone was going to get seriously injured upstairs. After an hour of this, I went downstairs and spoke with the staff, who subsequently called on the guests on the floor above and eventually managed to get them to quieten down. The next day, we expected that there would be some kind of communication from the management... regret over the incident, apology, offer to move us away from these noisy (my wife suspects drug-taking or alcohol fuelled) neighbours. Absolutely nothing. Not a word. Eventually, at the end of the morning, we asked to be moved (and, to be fair, were with no hesitation). But really, if you are paying top dollar, you expect top dollar attention. Unless, of course, this hotel is only interested in, and pays attention to, its super-rich glamour guests, and allows them to misbehave to the detriment of the rest of us. Such a fabulous hotel - utterly spoiled by this experience. Beware.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxfordhollyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your comment.
We are sorry you hade such an experience at the Hotel Bedford.
We never have this kind of comment, as we are a family-owned property where the comfort of our guests is our priority.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel was excellent. We stayed 3 nites in a beautiful very clean upstairs king size room with balcony and view of the Eiffel Tower. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was excellent, close to everything, sights, restaurants, trains/bus. Very safe area, able to walk anywhere with no concerns. Don't have one complaint about this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 124_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your comments about the Hotel Bedford and your recent stay in Paris. Your impressions are always very valuable! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to the hotel.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed there with my wife for three nights since our regular hotel was fully booked. What a pleasant surprise. Perfectly located in central Paris. Everything within walking distance. Very nice italian restaurant only 30 meters away. We got an upgrade since it was our first stay. Room was spacious, clean and with view over the street. Furniture were old but in style with the old building. Fine service. We would definitely stay there again. Downside: breakfast expensive and no concierge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street. With the large french windows it is really nice to open them up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apppppppple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I spent a long weekend at the Bedford Hotel (Paris) in Sept 2012. I went with my sister and 4 year old nephew. We booked one of the apartments, but changed to two double rooms as they were bigger - the apartment had a small single room and bed and the living room was really really small.
I liked the location and the lobby. My room was tired but my sister’s room was better, having been refurbished. The rooms were adequate but they did not have a wow factor. My bed shees had a blood stain on it – never nice! One of the lifts was not working.
The staff were polite, they helped us when we needed it. The hotel restaurant was not open in the evening in early September ...
I would not return to the hotel for a second visit but it was okay. Paris hotels are expensive so I guess it did the job for the money but I had hoped for more

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidpageant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank your very much for taking the time to give us your feed-back on your stay at the Hotel Bedford Paris. Our guests' comments are always very valuable to us.

I am taking good note of your impressions of the rooms.
You mentionned that the restaurant was closed for dinner. The Victoria dining room is always closed in the evening but can be privatized. Our Bar, the Relais Bedford, welcomes our guest for dinner everyday.

In any cases, please do not hesitate to contact our staff at the Reception, which is open 24 hours.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

With my very best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The room are very clear and ample. The staff is very nice ans ready to serve you. Perfect to families. But the breakfast is very expensive and not is included in booking. In front of there is a boulangerie with a vaste types of bread and coffes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laetitia B, Directeur général at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de l'Arcade
Hotel de l'Arcade
#587 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Opera Marigny
Hotel Opera Marigny
#462 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
Madeleine Haussmann Hotel
#420 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Hotel Roblin La Madeleine
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Folkestone Opera
0.1 mi away
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
Hotel Madeleine Plaza
#311 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 17 rue de l Arcade | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#314 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#404 Business Hotel in Paris
#436 Family Hotel in Paris
#437 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing