We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to learn history of Paris”
Review of Musee Carnavalet

Musee Carnavalet
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.17*
and up
Paris 2-Hour Private Walking Tour Including the Marais
Ranked #84 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Carnavalet Museum is dedicated to the history of Paris and its inhabitants and has collections illustrating the evolution of the city from prehistory through to the present day. A vast array of works of art, relics and models are displayed in 100 or so rooms, showing the capital at various periods in history and evoking intellectual and everyday life. Magnificent restored historical scenery creates an evocative setting for a stroll through the centuries in an enriching, delightful visitor experience.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to learn history of Paris”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

What a great way to learn about the history of Paris! The furniture and household contents, letters and artwork all show what life was like throughout the history of Paris. What a marvelous place to visit !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmamarlene5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    430
    154
    54
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“History and decorative arts”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This free museum tells the history of Paris through paintings, furnishings, and objets d'art, arranged in a large hôtel particulier. A good stop for when you're shopped out in the Marais.

Helpful?
1 Thank chidini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprise treat”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

On a quiet Friday morning, we dropped in this museum mainly because it was free. We spent at least two hours inside and were actively engaged the whole time. We learned more about the history of Paris in this museum than we did on any of our other more focused tours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PugTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“History of Paris!!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wow, the age of this place,1500's and the pieces of art! The documents from the revolution( no not replicas) REAL.. Simply in a glass case was Hair from Marie Antoinette, her son etc oh how I wished I took a pic of the label...! Napoleons Armour, his Generals sabres, the drums, the Art, and don't forget the Archaeology sites... 4500 yr old canoes etc etc. Get a picture of yourself with the Vase, you will not regret it.....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
388 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“OK if you're in the area anyway”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stopped in while we were walking through the Marais - am definitely of the thank goodness if was free camp. Highlight was seeing the model of pre-Haussman Paris and the building's architecture. I will say that this museum had the meanest, surliest group of staff members of any attraction I've ever been to in France. It was actually pretty shocking and almost made me want to leave before the visit had even started. Oh well, its free right?
Enjoy Paris!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Carnavalet also viewed

 

Been to Musee Carnavalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing