We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip”
Review of Musee du Louvre

Musee du Louvre
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.26*
and up
Louvre Entrance Ticket with Host
More Info
$53.45*
and up
Skip-the-Line Louvre Ticket and Montmartre Art Walking Tour Double Feature
More Info
$73.64*
and up
Skip the Line: Louvre, Seine River Cruise and Big Bus Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #3 of 1,132 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to Leonardo da Vinci's Mona Lisa, the Louvre is considered the world's greatest art museum, with an unparalleled collection of items covering the full spectrum of art through the ages.
Weshpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

First of all the area around the Louvre is huge with that iconic glass pyramid bursting out of the pavement, it's fabulous. Very modern and clean inside the museum with clear maps and direction. The artworks are varied and the Mona Lisa is like meeting an old friend. Stunning. Please make a trip here it's an afternoon of pure joy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75,846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53,687
    16,455
    4,309
    921
    474
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Enormous and crowded, but worth it!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Louvre is enormous and can get crowded, but it still worth seeing. We arrived at around 10am, and there were no appreciable lines, which was nice. We made our way to the Mona Lisa, and while it was mobbed, it was not unreasonable. We were able to get right up front and get a few pictures with la Giaconda! After that, we made our way around the museum to look at the other works. The sections are logically laid out, which makes everything easy to find. The only problem is that some sections are closed off, preventing you from getting around in the most direct manner. Also, sometimes you have to take stairs up and down just to stay on the same level! You'll see what I mean when you go there, because of course you will. Everyone does.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MadMaxEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,305 reviews
516 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“This is it”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Ok so you want to see the world but unfortunately you don't have years at a time to travel.

Go to the Louvre. There's nothing that you will see elsewhere that you can't see here.
(I know they don't have pyramids etc.)

The thing I like about this museum, that cannot be seen in one day, is that you can focus on what you like.

I particularly like sculptures and there are so many from all over the world I couldn't see them all.
I have to admit that paintings are not my thing but I did fall in love with some of them here.
Sorry to say The Mona Lisa was not one of them. There were much better paintings near The Mona Lisa that are not behind glass.

This place is a must see. No-one is ever disappointed.

cancil some of your other flights and just fly here.
hey it's Paris, what could be bad Oui?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wasntme58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chaotic and not enjoyable”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Armed with Paris Museum Passes we entered quickly and were ready to go. We were not prepared for the utter chaos of the museum. Maps and signs were misleading or non-existent, and the crowds of tourists created a stifling, claustrophobic atmosphere. Around any notable exhibit were hundreds of tourists holding up cameras, smart phones, iPads, and small laptops -- anything that would take a photo. The group around the Wings of Victory statue was so large it was blocking a stairway, making it very difficult for anyone wanting to get up the stairs (warning all throughout the museum, the stairs are quite worn causing the surface to be uneven). It was loud, hot and most unpleasant. We lasted about a half hour and left. We found museums such as Orsay and Orangerie, which do not allow photography, to be much more enjoyable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank enjoyslife85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's the Louvre”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's the Louvre... even if you don't like "art" there is so much to see and the architecture is so amazing. Plus the different aspects of the entire experience; from egypt to europe to the roman empire.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee du Louvre also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing