We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais
Ranked #97 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Lovely, quirky little hotel situated in the heart of the Marais district, which is brimming with authentic parisian cafes, bars, restaurants, bakeries and eccentric shops. The staff could not have been more helpful and the room, although not large, was warm, clean and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front side room was lovely and not at all noisy (though it was January).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    202
    36
    10
    9
See reviews for
91
383
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Staying here last week was one of the highlights of my visit to Paris. It is not just a hotel but a piece of history. The staff are phenomenally helpful and friendly. My room had a bouquet of fresh flowers.....even outside my room in the hall. The hotel is located in a prime location for shopping, dining and seeing the attractions. Bathrobes are an added perk of the stay. The smallest details are important to how this hotel is managed. The rooms are even 'aired' out daily while linens are being updated. I will return with pleasure!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for a week over Christmas and truly loved this small charming boutique hotel. I would advise asking for a front-facing room with a large bed, as these are the largest rooms. Even with substantial luggage, we did not feel too cramped, as so much thought has been put into the details of the rooms, to utilize space. Also, details such as hooks where needed, magnifying mirror and full length mirror in the bathroom, full tub and shower, and fresh flowers in the rooms. And, of course, the decor is trés Parisian. An excellent full breakfast or just coffee (the coffee is decent) can be taken in their lower breakfast room or brought to your room up until noon - this is really wonderful.

The location is terrific. After many years of staying on the left bank, I only realize now how limiting that was, if you want to be central to more arrondisements. From this location, we could walk over the bridge to the Latin quartier or St. Germain, yet still walk up rue Rivoli to the Louvre, or stay in the Marais to explore the shops and cafes. And, many of the best bistros are now in the neighbouring 11th - which makes staying here more proximal to them.

However, even with all the aforementioned advantages, the most memorable part of our stay was the personable and charming staff who were so helpful and patient each and every day. Phillipe and Geneviéve are wonderful and added so much more to make our stay at the Caron de Beaumarchais a very pleasant one.

Book early, as there are only 19 rooms. Exceptional value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank buddahbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Just to reiterate previous positive reviews. Very friendly manager & staff. We arrived early, left late and it was no problem to leave luggage.
Allocated room on 6th floor and my wife started to climb stairs, as she can't go in lifts. Manager immediately reallocated lower floor room without hesitation.
Room wasn't as small as expected,
lovely attention to detail, with decor and furnishings replicating late 18th century. Clean with powerful and hot shower over bath, mini bar under sink.
Would definitely return.

Helpful?
3 Thank Guinness1970
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais was our first experience of what Paris is all about, history, beauty, charm, elegance and wonderful customer service.
From the moment you arrive at the front door, you are warmly welcomed and assisted with your luggage - you feel like you have just stepped back in time and into someone's home.
Our room was small, as are most Parisian Hotels, but it had so much character and charm and was adorned with antiques & heirlooms of a time gone by - we loved it.
Nice bathroom complete with a bath which was great to relax in after a long day of discovery. We also had a small balcony overlooking the Parisian rooftops and the streets below. One evening we had quite a hilarious experience trying to fit both of us onto it to enjoy our cheese, olives & baguettes we'd purchased at the farmers market in the square nearby. Of course our yummy food was complimented by a lovely bottle of french red wine....perfect!
The location of the Hotel could not have been better, close to everything. We could walk to a different Restaurant each night, lots to choose from, a Supermarket/Wine Shop around the corner, many bars & cafe's, lots of quirky retail shops, and of course the all important Patisserie's and Boulangerie's VERY close by! Most of the major sightseeing attractions were walking distance and if not, the Metro Station was nearby and a Bus Stop just around the corner.
There is also a great do-it-yourself Historical walk around the Marais district which we found really interesting and very enjoyable indeed. Occasionally detouring off the designated route, unintentionally of course, we discovered fascinating little 'Villages' with quaint shops and cafe's, tucked in off the main streets, it was just wonderful.
Now, last but by no means least, what really makes this Hotel so delightfully personal, are the people that greet you everytime you walk in and out the front door, or answer your questions or give you directions, all with the most enthusiastic attitude, as if you are the only one that day to require assistance. But, not only do they show you on a Map, or point in a direction, they actually get up from their seat, take you outside, walk to the corner and point to the Bus Stop, or where the shop etc is that you are looking for. Phillipe did that for us on a number of occasions, and his knowledge is exceptional, he gave us so much valuable information. We also had Alain (Owner) go out on the Street and hail us a Taxi because he said it would be a long wait if we called one, then he helped carry our bags up to where it had stopped. All of this to me is Customer Service at it's best, and I have only mentioned two people by name because they were the ones whom we mainly encountered during the day, but everyone at Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais contributed in some way to our 6 day stay being a most memorable experience! Thankyou all so much.

Room Tip: Request a front room with a Balcony if possible (some Balconies are smaller than others)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Chez261247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I just had a fabulous stay at Hotel Caron du Beaumarchais. Here are a few ways I would describe this hotel and our experience there:

The character of a great B&B. The moment after, we walked into the lobby, put down your bags and met the staff, we had the sense that we chose the right place. The small but highly functional lobby was adorned with all sorts of relics waiting to tell their stories. It felt a bit like we were guests in the comfortable, elegant but not lavish country home of a cultural historian with a sense of humor. Except that this country home was plopped down in the middle of one of the most walkable neighborhoods in all of Paris. If you are looking for the opposite of the cookie cutter mega chain hotel, this is it. There are just dozens of nice little surprises. Our room had the feel of a cozy hideaway amid the hustle and bustle of the busy Parisian sidewalks below. The fireplace in the lobby also adds to the sense of coziness.

Exceptionally knowledgeable and helpful staff. Some hotels train their staff to be knowledgeable and helpful. Lord knows I’ve relied heavily on them over the years. But some hotels manage to hire people who delight in making your experience easier, more interesting and more enjoyable. They seem to frequently go well beyond the call of duty. Hotel Caron du Beaumarchais is such a hotel. My only issue was that I sometimes felt bad for taking so much of their time with very basic questions about the neighborhood, transportation options, etc. because they would give so much of their time.

Phenomenal location. It would be difficult to imagine a better location. Within walking distance is a cornucopia of cafes, shops, bars, restaurants, markets, amazing sites, etc. All the major sites we wanted to see and all the neighborhoods inside the city limits were within easy reach.

Tasty and abundant breakfast. My wife tried the hotel breakfast while I slept in. She said that everything was fresh and delicious. And abundant! Perhaps even a bit excessive. For 13 Euros, she said that they brought her a croissant, chocolate croissant, a baguette, soft boiled egg, yogurt, a kiwi, two kinds of jam, plus tea, coffee or hot chocolate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank StephanFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This little boutique hotel is a really great find in a great location. It has the feel of a bed and breakfast with small, but comfortable rooms. The exposed ceiling beams make you feel like you stepped back in time, but the amenities are modern. Includes a nice bathtub to relax after a hard day of sightseeing and free wifi to contact home. There's no food available after breakfast but just up the street is Le Marais with bars and restaurants to enjoy. And just down the street is the Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter. Located at the intersection of Rue de Rivoli it is also right by the Hotel Deville stop on the Metro 1 line. So even though it rained while we were in Paris, we could easily get everywhere we wanted without killing our budget on cabs. The daytime manager was most helpful, but I still recommend doing your research online as some of his information was out of date.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Middlehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#83 of 1,802 in Paris
183 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#34 of 1,802 in Paris
147 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Dupond-Smith
Hotel Dupond-Smith
#6 of 1,802 in Paris
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#326 of 1,802 in Paris
486 reviews
Le Marais
La Chambre du Marais
La Chambre du Marais
#45 of 1,802 in Paris
186 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Duo
Hotel Duo
#389 of 1,802 in Paris
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais

Property: Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais
Address: 12 rue Vieille du Temple | 04 Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#153 Family Hotel in Paris
#341 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with antiques in Paris historical center, Le Marais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caron De Beaumarchais Paris
Caron De Beaumarchais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing