We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paris city centre hotel by excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castille - Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #305 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Recently upgraded to a five star hotel after renovation, the Castille is ideally located in the city centre of Paris. Walking distance from Opera, Louvre and all the 'maisons de haute couture'. We stayed in a junior suite, which was quietly located in a separate wing. Excellent and friendly staff. Only bemol: once this hotel had a Michelin starred restaurant, with excellent food, nowadays the restaurant is offering good but not extra-ordinary food.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docswimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully located, close to the Opera, the Louvre and Place Vendome. Great for shopping and sightseeing. I got a really quiet room at the back. It was a pretty spacious room, clean, warm and well appointed - and for a Parisian hotel, it was a large room! Its is possible that all rooms are not as good. The hotel is understated but offers quality and good service. Be warned that they sell rooms at too many different rates. I booked mine @ EUR 260 a night which I thought represented decent value for Paris, but later saw comments from other contributors here that they'd paid a lot less. On their website the Castille offers rooms at EUR 600, which is a ridiculous rip off. Incidentally, the breakfast is another rip-off @ EUR 30 so I just walked down to the cafe at the corner. They claim to have free internet which barely crawls, and a faster service is offered at EUR 7 per hour !! I wish they'd stop playing these stupid games for otherwise it's a very nice property.

Room Tip: I only saw one room - 253 - which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Many times to paris, now we chose to star at this castille at gambon street, mainly because we like to do more shopping in paris as this periode is a sale season.

Walking distance to galerie lafayette and printempt malls, next to honore street branded shops also near to louvre museum and opera too

The standard room a bit petite and we upgraded to higher categoty, all minimalis design which is we like it, very modern, wifi internet is free everywhere included in the rooms

Is a quality hotel right in the shopping centre, just walk around, near to the metro to go beyond this area, such as eiffel tower

We stayed 3 nites


Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Antonthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

had a week at the hotel everything was wonderful staff was nice room was perfect and best bathroom breakfast was expansive and the area was great highly recommend it if your not staying at the really expensive hotels

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vdraddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are privileged to be BA Executive Club members and travel enough that we get some great deals. We paid less then £500 for 2 rooms for 4 nights for this hotel, in the interest of full disclosure, so we thought it was amazing. Had I paid the full €500 a night, plus €30 breakfast, I would not have been as enamoured.

The decor is lovely. Obviously refurbished recently, and a lovely job. The staff were, without exception, flawless. Welcoming, accommodating and helpful. My French is average at best, but even with the smallest effort, they were incredibly warm and helpful in English.

I would say that if you get breakfast included as part of the price - it is the most wonderful breakfast I have ever eaten. I may just be overly enthusiastic about awesome bacon, pastries and baked appes, but I will miss that breakfast every day until I figure out how to mimic those apples.

The location is incredible. Oh yeah, Chanel is next door, but I'm kind of middle class at best, so I can't afford to dress well enough to get in there. But you know what I can afford? Macaroons. And you know where the best macaroons in Paris are? (if you say Pierre Herme you may be right but shut up for now, ok?)? LADUREE. And it's about a 4 minute walk away.

Back to the hotel. I'll be honest. The Internet sucks. Don't bother paying, the connection is as bad as the free speed. Not complaining about the free speed - but we paid €21 so we could watch Amy Pohleher and Tina Fey be amazing at the Globes, and the connection was awful. On the plus side, all I had to do was explain this to the front desk attendant, and he wiped the charge.

So, is this a €500 a night 5 star hotel? Only if you have tonnes of money and hae never stated in a 5 star hotel. If you get it for £120 a night, it's a dream.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedVarga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed over holidays with my family. Excellent location near Tuilleries, Louvre, and Metro stations. I got a reasonable rate thru Hotwire, so I'm getting used to star inflation. The service was quite good, tho I did not find the restaurant recommendations from the Concierge was great.

AVOID, AT ALL COST THE Aux Delices de Manon-Paris Ile de France patisserie and restaurant around the corner (see the TripAdvisor reviews).

The rooms were on the small side, but not awful. Everything is very modern and clean. Bathrooms are excellent. Internet is a little spotty. Elevators are tiny -- we were on first floor so stairs were not a problem once we found them.

There was a strange smell in the hallways -- not sure what is was -- but not in the rooms or lobby/common areas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyinnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. This hotel is four star hotel and located on Cambon just next to the flag shop of CHANEL. It is very easy accesss to EGLISE DE LA MADELEINE and OPERA GARNIER, it takes about from three to five minutes.

The hotel is very confortable and clean. The room keepers informed us the weather every day. The stuffs were reliable and deligent. We booked a Michelin star restaurant so that they phoned the hotel to confirm the resavation even though I expected the calling to my mobile, and then a stuff of this hotel informed us and called back the restaurant quickly to confirm.

The bathroom was quite large and clean. We could get hot water of cause. The bath tub was separated from the toilet.

We were satisfied with this hotel and enjoyed staying in Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chreeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Le Burgundy
Hotel Le Burgundy
#134 of 1,809 in Paris
732 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#215 of 1,809 in Paris
772 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Scribe Paris Opera by Sofitel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Regina Louvre
Hotel Regina Louvre
#88 of 1,809 in Paris
1,152 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#488 of 1,809 in Paris
3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castille - Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castille - Starhotels Collezione

Address: 33 rue Cambon, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Family Hotel in Paris
#208 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#252 Business Hotel in Paris
#298 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $315 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castille - Starhotels Collezione 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Italian chic and Parisian haute couture combine at the iconic hotel Castille. Standing alongside the legendary Chanel Maison, in the heart of the 1st Arrondissement, this romantic hotel is so Paris. Every detail has been lovingly restored to exude the opulence of its 18th century glory days, yet still retain a charm that you rarely find in a central Paris luxury hotel. At the Castille you’ll find a restaurant and bar that combine the style of Paris with Italian warmth and spirit. L’Assaggio offers an exquisite menu full of the finest Mediterranean flavours, topped off with a Florentine courtyard for al fresco dining. Then there’s the bar, perfect for light meals and any drink you can think of, day or night. Finally, the Salon de The is a wonderful spot to while away the afternoon over a fine tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castille - Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Castille Paris Hotel Paris
Starhotels Castille Hotel Paris
Paris Starhotels Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing