We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a Small Hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duc de Saint Simon
Ranked #629 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2006

I returned last week from a week long stay in Paris. I thought the Hotel Duc de St. Simon was one of the most delightful hotels I have ever stayed in. It was a real oasis of calm in a city that has grown increasingly busy and noisy. Located on a quiet street on the Left Bank, the hotel has a small garden, as well as a front terrace for breakfast or drinks. The room I stayed in was small, but with a large window opening onto the garden. The bed was comfortable and the room had every amenity one could wish: beautiful, embroidered cotton sheets, lots of towels, a brand new flat screen TV, plenty of storage space and a good sized bathroom.

I used room service for breakfast, used the computer (free), and the lounge for drinks. Although the hotel is small, the staff was helpful, polite and spoke excellent English. The driver they used to take me to Charles de Gaulle very early in the morning was a polite and careful driver with a new and roomy car.

A big advantage of this hotel is that it is located within a couple of minutes of the Metro and bus lines. It is within walking distance of the Musee d'Orsay, the Musee Rodin and major streets such as the Boulevard St. Germain and the Boulevard Rapail. The streets immediately surrounding the hotel are filled with good restaurants and charming shops.

If you are used to staying in a large, modern hotel with a big room and spa like facilities, you're out of luck here. This is more like staying in a large, immaculate and friendly French country house. The place is small and quiet, clean and calm. The furniture and decoration are all beautiful 18th and 19th century French style.Personally, I loved it and plan to return as soon as I can. A winner, I thought!

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
19  Thank Seckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 301 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2006

The hotel is quaint with some troublesome issues. The first night we were ushered into a beautiful small room with A/C, exquisite furnishings and two lovely windows overlooking the street. The following night we were moved to a room that was even smaller with only one window & without A/C. Generally it was not nearly as nice as the first room. We were charged the same price as the first room. We were not told that the room did not have A/C. The weather was sultry which required us to leave the window open. The quarters were so cramped that we had to shut the window each time we walked to the bathroom. Our computer did not work in our room even though we paid for the privilege. We asked for a wake up call to catch our train on the third day and they neglected to wake us on time.

The hotel has some positive attributes however, the staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the lovely breakfast room as well as the entrance and sitting room/ lobby. The location is safe, convenient, quiet and close to the transit system.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Clbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Our family ( spouse and two children) loved the hotel. The service was outstanding and the rooms and lobbies were wonderfully decorated. The staff was excellent, responsive and helpful but not overbearing.

It's a great location and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Sophistrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
230
Reviewed June 12, 2006

My dear friend and I recently spent 6 nights at this lovely little hotel the week of May 7th-13th. We had travelled to Paris before with our husbands, but returned this year to spend a "girls only" week. We were absolutely delighted with Hotel Duc de Saint Simon. The hotel is ideally located on a private, quiet street in a great neighborhood {Invalides/St Germain de Pres} just a few short walking blocks from the Blvd St Germain. We were able to stroll to shops, reataurants and all of the major tourist attractions.

The hotel itself is a beatifully decorated jewel box of a hotel, and well maintained with a lovely garden patio, welcoming lobby and charming rooms. The staff was just as charming, and took pains to make us feel welcome. Our pretty room was on the 3rd floor and overlooked the garden patio. We marvelled at how quiet it was, despite its close proximity to the lively St Germain de Pres neighbiorhood. We did order items twice from room service during our stay. The quality was very good and the excellent service was provided within 10 minutes.

We appreciated coming home to such a welcoming little haven after a busy day of sightseeing or shopping, and at the end of an evening. We especially appreciated the fact that we felt welcome and safe as two solo female travellers. The hotel requires that guests leave their room key {an old fashioned large key with a tassel} at the front desk before leaving the hotel. Upon your return, the staff unlocks your key from the case at the front desk and returns it to you. We could not have asked for a more ideal hotel for our wonderful stay in Paris , and look forward to returning to such a special little gem.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
providence,RI
118
Reviewed May 7, 2006

We stayed at the Duc de Saint Simon for 3 nights.It is in a great location very close to Orsay and Louvre museum.Walking distance to Notre Dame.The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet street in the heart of the left bank.
My wife and I stayed in room 27.The room was lovely,incredibly confortable and well furnished with antique furniture.The food from the room service was excellent with a great choice.Staff were very attentive and friendly.
We will stay at this hotel again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
boston,MA
114
Reviewed April 23, 2006

My wife and I spent 5 nights in this magical place! probably one of the most charming hotel in Paris. Hotel has little courtyard as entrance where you can have breakfast or drink.
The location is perfect, right in the center of all monuments and walking distance to Orsay, Louvre and Notre Dame.
We were in a room with terrace on the 2nd floor, with an interior garden view,very quiet, very romantic .
Our room was nicely decorated and the bathroom well equipped and very clean.The mattress was confortable.
Staff was extremely efficient and nice.
We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2006

It is true, this hotel may not be for those seeking an over the top, glitzy place. But, it is definitely the place for privacy, lovely surroundings and all things french.

The rooms are on the small side, but are beautifully decorated. We usually ask for the rooms on the terrace. Nicely appointed baths with fabulous ammenities. The hotel itself feels like a warm home. We've always had attentive and friendly staff, very helpful with reservations and concierge services. The location can't be beat. Just minutes from almost anything you want to do or see. I will admit, if we are in Paris during the warmer months, we stay elsewhere with A/C...yes, we're wimps. But, we keep coming "home" whenever we can.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank day1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Comtesse
Hotel La Comtesse
#78 of 1,809 in Paris
302 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel by MH
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#193 of 1,809 in Paris
899 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel de Varenne
Hotel de Varenne
#135 of 1,809 in Paris
1,357 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
K+K Hotel Cayre
K+K Hotel Cayre
#276 of 1,809 in Paris
2,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duc de Saint Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duc de Saint Simon

Address: 14 rue de Saint Simon, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#195 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#327 Business Hotel in Paris
#352 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $227 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duc de Saint Simon 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duc de Saint Simon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc De Saint Simon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing