We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel with an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duc de Saint Simon
Ranked #610 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent location. 5 minutes walk to musee d'orsay.
Little boutique hotel with beautiful furniture and decoration. Concierge was extremely nice. She was very helpful providing us with very useful information to go around the city.
Rooms were clean and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raimundo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 298 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and it is always the most incredible experience. I cannot recommend it more - it is a perfect place to stay in the city of lights. From the beautiful and quiet rooms to the amazing location, it really is a wonderful place. And I have never experienced better customer service. Every single member of their who we interacted with was kind, welcoming and helpful. I went back and forth even writing this review because I want this place to stay a secret because I am so in love with it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityGirl10009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Little boutique hotel in an old 'Hotel Particulier' style building in the 7th quarter of Paris, within walking distance of Boulevard St Germain, walking distance of great shopping: 'Le Bon Marche' and walking distance of metro station rue du bac. Quite convenient!

We booked room 14 which had a terrace and it makes up for the very small size of the bedroom. Very relaxing and quiet environment, real Paris lifestyle.

Room Tip: pick one with a Terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bengrenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I think that it is essential to establish some kind of rapport with management so that both parties get to know each other. We wrote for reservations last year hoping for a suite, since this property is often booked. I appreciated the numerous tips on the rooms and later wrote for restaurant reservations (l'Affable and Le Florimond). When we arrived June 4 we were shown suite #19 and immediately fell into the beautiful setting with sofa and plenty of space for luggage. Although I do speak French, all staff members were fluent in English and other languages. Impressive! At no time did we hear any disparaging comments from staff. The location is perfect for visiting the Rodin Museum (gardens cost only 1€!). When we asked for directions for Le Jacquemart, Madame showed us the most direct route.

As far as breakfast is concerned, the women serving the cellar room are all professional despite their speaking Creole amongst themselves. A polite "Merci, Madame" or "thank you" will go a long way to create respect and community. Certainly the price is high but so is the quality of ingredients: cereal, yoghurt, cheeses, meats, superb breads, fruit, and of course cafe au lait. Eggs are available for a supplement.

Settling the bill is painless and the requested taxi will appear within minutes, leaving just enough sadness to regret having to leave so soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Duc de Saint Simon, which we now affectionately call “The Duck”, and this time we brought family and stayed seven nights. It was fantastic, as always. Quiet location, friendly and efficient staff, and wonderful rooms. This time we were delighted to see that the bathrooms have been upgraded (not sure if all of them have), and they’re first-rate, although it’s still a high step up and over to get in and out of the bathtub. (Room #4 has a walk-in shower as well as a tub, which is very nice.)

Be sure to ask for a room facing the garden in the rear of the hotel. It’s very quiet and you’ll think you’re in a small French village rather than the heart of Paris. Room #4 faces the garden, and do suites #19 and #2. Suite #2 in on the ground floor and has windows at both the front and rear which creates a nice cross ventilation (not essential, since there is AC), but the front window opens onto the front courtyard which means that when opened there’s some noise and a sense of a lack of privacy.

The staff are all terrific, and will do everything from calling a taxi, getting concert tickets, bringing morning coffee to your room, or just about anything else. Unfortunately the front desk staff is usually just one person who is often handling telephone inquiries about reservations, which in my opinion should be handled by a back office, giving the front desk more time to deal with guests.

Breakfast is the one weak link. It’s good, but it’s expensive and it’s served in the stone cellar. The cellar is nicely decorated and quite picturesque, but it’s still a cellar. That’s okay of the weather’s bad, but we had great weather and preferred have breakfast in the sunshine in one of the local cafes in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KH198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Wonderful stay in Paris. The staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were delightful. Our bathroom was updated to a 5 star hotel. The location on the left bank was great; walking distance to the D'Orsay, Louvre and Notre Dame. The Metro stop was also near. Many great restaurants nearby. We could not have been happier on our first trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phcfinancial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We again enjoyed a great stay at Hotel Duc de Saint Simon. This is not your 5 star palace but so much more charming. Charm with efficiency and quality of service to the best level. Nobody keeps you waiting for anything. Everything works as it should. We never had a bad experience here in more that 10 years. Maybe continental breakfast should be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a "large" room, it will be small enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Bourgogne et Montana Hotel by MH
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#199 of 1,805 in Paris
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#79 of 1,805 in Paris
732 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
K+K Hotel Cayre
K+K Hotel Cayre
#266 of 1,805 in Paris
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duc de Saint Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duc de Saint Simon

Address: 14 rue de Saint Simon, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#195 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#327 Business Hotel in Paris
#349 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $219 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duc de Saint Simon 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Duc de Saint Simon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duc De Saint Simon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing