We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in an excellent location.”
Review of Hotel Montalembert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montalembert
Ranked #92 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Hotel Montalembert is an excellent hotel in an excellent location. The staff on the reception desk were very welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The food and service at dinner were great too. The location was perfect to explore the heart of Paris. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for a superior room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Peter T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your recent stay with us.
We shared your compliments with our different teams as well as with our Chef, David Maroleau. We are all dedicated to our guests' satisfaction and are therefore glad to hear that your stay fully met your expectations.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Montalembert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 665 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Amazing location, beautiful suites, exceptional staff. Paris is expensive, but this hotel was on par with other quality hotels. We had a great view of the (top of the) Eiffel tower and the street scene below. Nothing was too much bother. Everything was classy and understated. No criticisms whatsoever.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a street view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandDoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear NeilandDoreen,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your Suite and its beautiful view on the Eiffel Tower.
Thank you for sharing your experience! It seems that we went home with plenty of memories from your visit in Paris. Our teams will be sensitive to your comments.
We are truly looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Location, location, location…a big part of what I look for when booking a hotel in Paris is, “Can I walk to a good variety of restaurants at night and shops during the day?” Ordinarily I prefer to stay in the 6th arrondissement, but in fact, this location was the best of both worlds. The Hotel Montalembert is conveniently located right on the line between the 6th and 7th. It is a block away from Boulevard St. Germain, close to my favorite Café de Flore and yet just next to rue du Bac and a short walk to Le Bon Marche. Coincidentally, we walked right past our hotel during our Baguette to Bistro Tour – how cool! This is my new favorite location!


Spacious bedroom
Hotel Montalembert represents the “new” Paris way of thinking with regards to renovations. The rooms are filled with classic period piece beds, armoires, bedside cabinets and converted mini-bars giving you a sense of times gone by, but they have completely modernized the bathrooms adding a contemporary chic flair to the guest rooms. While the bathroom was not very spacious, the layout was efficient and the amenities were first class. Fluffy robes, L’Occitane toiletries and soft towels were much appreciated. Each night we had a different turn down treat that we devoured – yummy chocolates and pastries and we were welcomed with personalized note and fresh fruit, how divine!


Love L’Occitane products
The rooms are sized generously with plenty of space for luggage and had excellent sound-proofing. My room was opposite the elevator and I never heard a peep! Of course, you will always hear street noise from any Parisian hotel room with street facing windows, but rue Montalembert was quite quiet.

Two versions of a Continental breakfast were included. One was regular fare and the other was a healthy option. In addition, you could order off the menu for a nominal fee. The restaurant room was light, bright and a pleasant place to savor the first cup of coffee each morning. The restaurant also serves lunch and dinner. Although I did not personally eat any other meals there, I observed a busy lunch crowd seeming to enjoy their fare and one of the Gal Pals stayed behind one night and ordered a lovely cup of soup with bread from room service that she said was, “Amazing!”


Cheerful breakfast spot!
The front desk staff and management were warm and friendly and the doorman was a peach. He had great advice about travel times, directions and car services to the airport. The lobby area was comfortable and I noticed there was an outdoor terrace just off the lobby/restaurant area where in warmer months (my visit was in January) it would be an absolutely lovely spot to have a drink and people watch.

For the excellent location, lovely rooms, great service and amenities, we all agreed that Hotel Montalembert was worthy of their 5 stars and we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Priscilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Priscilla P,

What a detailed review on your Montalembert experience!
Thank you for all your nice comments, which are really encouragements to our teams.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon during the nice season, so that you may enjoy our terrace.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was a birthday treat and so we threw caution to the wind and booked three nights here, at some expense, largely because it is a hotel I was interested in as I am currently researching the lives of a group of 20th century Literati whose milieu was based in the area, and some of whose number were regular guests here. Sadly, little remains of the character of the former Montalembert today - there is a slightly homogenised feel to the decor - but it was clean, comfortable, excellently located and the staff that we met were courteous and friendly - especially the delightful young room service chaps! On arrival we were told that we had been upgraded from a standard to a deluxe room, which was a very nice surprise. I was hoping for the 6th floor, as I had made a couple of requests and enquiries to the manager by email, but having received no answer to either, I was unsure if they had been read or even received. Our room was, in the end, on the first floor, above the main entrance, and was very comfortable, if on the snug side, and with an amazing all-mirrored bathroom - beware if you have a heavy night; the morning ablutions can be a little frightening! Our only gripe would be that it was noisy. There was a civic building project going on directly outside our window and we were woken each morning by pneumatic drills and other noisy machinery - just as well we wanted to be up reasonably early to explore! Also, during our stay, there was a new carpet being fitted to stairs and hallways, and this was a bit noisy and smelly but hey, we were in Paris and not to be deflated! But we did find that the 5.30am delivery man who parked directly beneath our window and proceeded to talk VERY loudly in reception was a rather less forgivable disturbance, and my partner was compelled to ask him to keep the noise down please!
We only ate in the restaurant on the first night as we arrived late and, as is often the way, there wasn't much on the menu for vegetarians, but the chef very kindly provided a meat-free version of the club sandwich - for which we paid full whack, and I mean whack! - but we were tired and hungry and not in the mood to make a fuss. It was tasty but expensive. We opted for the continental breakfast and that was fine, but the "English Breakfast Tea" was unlike any English tea I've ever tasted, so you might want to pack your PG tips....! All in all, it was a comfortable and convenient stay. I was disappointed that I was unable to find any information out about the history of the hotel, or the people that stayed there. I had a chat with a very friendly member of staff called Pascal who said he would ask about viewing the "Golden Book" of past guests but sadly I was unable to chase up any response. For me personally I would have enjoyed a little more ambiance and character - but I had a fantastic time in Paris, so the hotel was only one aspect of it. Next time I think I would opt for less stars and more atmosphere...but I can't hold the hotel responsible for my own tastes!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnacleBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear BarnacleBelle,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments.

We are pleased that you felt comfortable in your room and that your stay was enjoyable. We are taking the opportunity to inform you that the street works are now completely over and that there is no disturbance anymore. Regarding the carpet change, we are doing our best to minimize the inconvenience for our guests. However, it is also our priority to constantly maintain the level of our product and we are completing the full change of our room and corridor carpeting this March.
On another note, we could investigate for you concerning some writers who might have stayed at the Hotel Montalembert in the past.

We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you once again at the Hotel Montalembert.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I joined my husband in Paris on the 15th February 2013, he had already stayed one night at the Hotel Montalembert. I arrived the next day and said I was joining my husband, without saying more they greeted me by name. The concierge booked us into a lovely restaurant that evening in Rue du Bac called the Cinq Mars, the food was truly delicious. This was a lovely hotel, very polite and helpful staff, the room service for breakfast was spot on. I would recommend this hotel, I agree with other reviews that the rooms are on the small side but that really wasn't a problem at all. Its location is lovely to explore all the 'smarter streets' of Paris on foot.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear jane278,

Thank you for choosing the Hôtel Montalembert and for sharing your experience.

We are pleased to hear that our establishment, as well as the level of service offered by our team, did meet your expectations. Please, be ensured that your compliments will be shared with all the members of our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon to the Hôtel Montalembert.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel just off Blvd. St. Germaine in Paris's Left Bank area. We arrived in the early morning and were straight away given an upgraded room, which was very pleasing after a long flight. As noted in other reviews, the staff are extremely helpful and courteous, which made our short stay very pleasant. Our Deluxe room, on the first floor, facing the street, was very comfortable, and surprisingly quiet. The location was brilliant, and within walking distance to so many Paris attractions.
My only suggestions would be to grade this hotel as 4 Star, not 5 Star, as it is not really a 5 Star hotel in my experience of 5 Star hotels, and then the guest wont be disappointed. The hotel room rates are on the high side for this type of hotel. And when the next renovation is due, the Classic rooms would be better turned into Contemporary rooms, as the 'old world' feel of the Classic rooms, is well, old! Our 'old world' wardrobe was huge, and took up a lot of space.
However in saying that, I would recommend this hotel for its comfortable rooms, pleasant and helpful staff and great location in the heart of the Left Bank.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the first floor, you can use the stairs and not have to squeeze into the tiny...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, Directeur général at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Robyn M,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Montalembert for your recent stay in Paris and for taking the time to write this review.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you particularly appreciated the upgrade to a Deluxe room you were offered, as well as our level of service. It is a pleasure for us to surprise our guests upon arrival whenever our availability allows us to do so.
We do understand that your preference goes to more contemporary designed rooms. We do wish to keep few Louis-Philippe style rooms, as some of our guests do prefer this ambiance. Please, feel free to notify us on your next visit, so you will be allocated a modern style room.
We are looking forward to welcoming again soon to the Hotel Montalembert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the perfect location for strolling around Paris. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms fine and although on the small side (as expected for Paris) they are well appointed and nicely done. The wifi is a bit on the slow side but other than that there's nothing to complain about. The staff are an asset to the hotel and are very friendly and welcoming. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myriam K, General Manager at Hotel Montalembert, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013
Google Translation

Cher MrAwallace,
Je vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un avis sur Trip Advisor.
Nous sommes heureux de lire que vous avez apprécié notre établissement. Nous ne manquerons pas de trasmettre vos compliments aux différents services.
Au plaisir de vous revoir très prochainement au Montalembert,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#153 of 1,804 in Paris
906 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Bel Ami Hotel
Bel Ami Hotel
#180 of 1,804 in Paris
1,185 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#72 of 1,804 in Paris
670 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#150 of 1,804 in Paris
230 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#84 of 1,804 in Paris
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montalembert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montalembert

Address: 3 rue Montalembert, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#228 Family Hotel in Paris
#302 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#509 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $301 - $1,193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montalembert 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montalembert, built in 1926, is the first 5 star Boutique hotel on the Left Bank. The Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Saint Germain des Prés on the Left Bank. Few steps away from the Orsay and the Louvre Museums, this boutique hotel is surrounded by design stores, exclusive art galleries, antique shops, famous cafés (Café de Flore, Deux Magots) and the deluxe department store Le Bon Marché. The warm and intimate atmosphere of the lobby makes you feel unique and privileged. The hotel Montalembert is the perfect combination between contemporary design and cosy ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montalembert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montalembert Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing