We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, tired rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees
Ranked #356 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at the Lancaster for seven nights and had to change rooms three times due to different problems, which was quite annoying, though the staff was really helpful and also kindly upgraded me. I did, however, sleep wonderfully since all the rooms I slept in faced the quite courtyard. Food was excellent, both in the Michelin-starred hotel and in the hotel restaurant. Great ambience and very friendly staff. My only complaints would be that the fitness room was tiny and not inviting - and the rooms really need a make-over.

Room Tip: Insist on a room facing the courtyard, and make certain it does not have adjoining doors to the next...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineA660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We have taken due note of your goods remarks concerning the maintenance. The hotel was recently refurbished and we continually upgrading our accommodations.

I immediately shared your comments and everyone is very proud and pleased to read that you have enjoyed the staff during your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback regarding the service as it encourages to strive for excellence,

We all look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Lancaster in the near future.

With warm regards,


Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 692 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

We wish our stay had been longer because for the two nites we were there our every whim was catered to. The staff was knowledgeable, super attentive and extremely accommodating. They had already installed a magnifying mirror on the bathroom wall per my request thru American Express, and when I inquired about a pot of hot water when we arrived, they promptly appeared with an electric kettle which remained in our room for the duration of our stay. Thank you, Hotel Lancaster - we will definitely return. p.s. I agree the light switches are challenging - my husband and I were in stitches trying to get them to go off at nite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slc380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Guests,

Warm regards from Paris.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment, I immediately shared your comments and everyone is very proud and pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us..

It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback as it encourages to strive for excellence.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Lancaster in the near future, in the meantime,

Yours sincerely



Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here as an add on to a business trip in France. I was very pleased with the hotel and the service. I had a single room #408 that was tucked away in a private corner. This is a lovely hotel with welcoming chocolates, luxury amenities, and just the right touches. The light switches are a bit tricky and definitely needed a tutorial to get the hang of the switches. Also the room temperature was great. I am one of those people which is always cold. So to have a warm hotel room to come back was very nice.
I ate the restaurant for breakfast - which was very lovely. I was not quite sure if it was serve yourself or full service. I used my best judgment being 1/2 and 1/2. The drinks are serviced, but the food was serve yourself. I would recommend the breakfast for at least 1 of the days you stay. It is worth the price, for a quality French breakfast. The hot chocolate is to die for!!!!!!!
Staff - very lovely. I require alot of attention as a client and they were there at every call. Very polite, helpful, and spoke good English.
The location was great! I mostly used the metro to get around the city. The hotel was a close was (1 block) to the subway (George V station).
I would recommend this hotel to a couple, business or a solo traveler like me!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NDIrish_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,


We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Paris and for posting your positive comment .

Our main goal is your satisfaction, therefore your feedback is important.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff.

Again, we thank you for staying with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Lancaster during your next visit to Paris.


Yours sincerely.



Valentino Piazzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Location is great, next to the Champs Elysees, small hotel but realy nice. Breakfast was great, room a nice mixture of classic and modern. We enjoy a lot our stay in Paris, and will try again the Lancaster.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to learn your positive feedback about your stay. I would like
to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comments have been shared with our team which will motivate them to
continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality
products and services.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely yours,



Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am not happy to write this, but I feel an obligation to those that write honest reviews that I often rely on. The staff at the Lancaster tries very hard, but they can only apologize a few times before it no longer has meaning. The condition of the physical plant is horrendous. We were in a freezing room and after several attempts to repair the heat, they gave us portable heaters. The towel warmer in the bathroom never worked and could not be fixed. The worst was that the shower valve needed to be replaced, so we had a virtual flood everytime we took a shower in order to get the water from the tub to the shower. The shower made such a loud banging noise that, each time we showered, I was sure to have got the attention of most of the guestsThe drain in the sink and shower were always clogged, so I showered in water above my calf and brushed my teeth in a pond of merky water. The furniture and beds are old and need to be replaced.

This is supposed to be a Leading Hotel of the World, but it surely is not!!!

The staff tried hard and offered to move us to a suite, but the bedroom and the bath were very small with a huge, cold living room. We declined because we did not want to pack and move to an inferior room. We had a Prestige Room which was more expensive than a Standard, Dreamer or Deluxe Room. They should have paid me to stay at this hotel....not me pay them.

I asked for a high floor and early check-in when I booked and paid for the reservation. The room was not ready for 4 hours and it was on the second floor. I should have known then what I had to look forward to.

Sorry, but the truth is sometimes painful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank sparky824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at Hotel Lancaster. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At the hotel Lancaster, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to fix the technical problems and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,




Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

An absolute gem. 2 minutes walk from the Champs Elsyee - great prices and the restaurant produces the most amazing dinners. Comfortable beds and great bathrooms with wonderful toiletries. Staff very attentive and extremely helpful. All speak very good English and really eager to please.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the courtyard - away from the road noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercaclassman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Paris.

I am delighted to learn your positive feedback about your stay. I would like
to sincerely thank you for your very kind words regarding our services.

Your comments have been shared with our team which will motivate them to
continue their efforts in providing our valuable customers with quality
products and services.

We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely yours,



Valentino Piazzi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times since July 2012 and I'm sure that this is the one both for business,pleasure and fine dining.No is not in the vocabulary of the staff or management as any request or suggestion is greeted with a smile and a positive response.( I grew up in France and am still troubled by the negative attitude that can be found in many service businesses.)
Eveyone knows your name as well as your favorite appetizer from last time or other small details such as who are my regular guests..I look forward to my next stay in 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinoPiazzi, Directeur général at Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice note and to thank you for supporting the Lancaster.

I immediately shared your comments and everyone is very proud and pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us..

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback as it encourages to strive for excellence.

We all look forward to welcoming you back at the Lancaster in the near future, in the meantime,

Yours sincerely.


Valentino Piazz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Raphael
Hotel Raphael
#349 of 1,804 in Paris
593 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris
Champs-Elysees
Prince de Galles Hotel
Prince de Galles Hotel
#45 of 1,804 in Paris
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Balzac
Hotel Balzac
#667 of 1,804 in Paris
449 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#222 of 1,804 in Paris
699 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Marignan Champs-Elysees
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees

Address: 7 rue de Berri | Champs-Elysees, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#212 Business Hotel in Paris
#230 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $412 - $796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
57 Rooms & suites appointed with antique furniture surround a Zen-inspired patio that is a natural complement to the art that pervades the property and the cuisine at its Michelin-rated "La Table du Lancaster".The paintings at this century-old, boutique hotel located on the Champs Elysees are distinguishable from the acquired art lining many European hotels, as they were done by the hotel's artist-in-residence inthe 1930s, Russian painter Boris Pastoukhoff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancaster Paris Champs-Elysees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing