We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Afternoon tea in Paris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meurice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meurice
Ranked #34 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I have had afternoon tea in eight different hotels including the Ritz in London but Le Meurice is the best so far. The staff were welcoming and very friendly. At no point did we feel rushed or under pressure other than to enjoy ourselves. The room in which we had the tea was beautiful and very grand, light and airy and the furniture was gorgeous.

The tea itself was served in lovely teapots and crockery. The sandwiches including smoked salmon with herring eggs and beef gravlax and were a step up from the usual formula elsewhere. The scones came with cream, jam and marmalade.

The cakes included a lemon meringue tart and a cherry tart complete with chocolate stem.

A perfect afternoon tea!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrennanHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear BrennanHertfordshire,

I sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you loved our afternoon tea so much that you called in "The best so far!" I shall pass your kind comments along to our chef and our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife again in the future,

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    146
    51
    21
    14
See reviews for
188
454
64
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was our third stay with Le Meurice, but this time with our kids. We were reminded at every turn why this is our favorite hotel. The staff was there for our every need and especially welcoming to the children. We had connecting rooms that were perfect for our family of four. The rooms and bathrooms were more than large enough to give all of us the space and comfort we needed. As I've said before the location is outstanding, and was perfect for our view of the fireworks on Bastille Day. What a great trip for all of us! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear wll70,

I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leaving such a positive review. I am glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay, felt welcomed and that you had the perfect view to enjoy the Bastille Day fireworks.

We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Paris.

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

When in Paris never hesitate to book a room in this wonderful landmark hotel!!!

Also,
Across you will find Le jardin de Tuileries great to relax from a busy day ..... from work, studying, visiting or shopping or just from the busy city

They have the most WONDERFUL Service,
I had a terrible loss in the midst of a ten day stay and the Whole hotel Staff couldn't be more helpful and kinder ! They made the sorrow more bearable..... and did everything to help me cancel get to airport etc !
THANK YOU VERY MUCH !!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank erastis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear SilviaTK,

I would like to sincerely thank you for leaving such a warm and positive review. I am glad that our team managed to make your stay more bearable and please know that my kindest thoughts are with you at this difficult time.

I will share your warm thanks with our team.

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel was terrible. The staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. Originally we were given a tiny room towards the back of the hotel facing another building, there was barely any room between the bed and the walls, not to mention how gloomy it was. Upon asking to switch rooms we were met with hostility and the staff were very un-acomodating - we felt this was due to our age and perhaps thought that because we are young that we wouldn't know any better. We managed to finally get a room on Rue de Rivoli with a slight view of the Eiffel Tower, although this room was better it was very dated and felt a little unclean, the decorations were ornate but very sparse. The saving grace of this hotel is the lobby designed by Philippe Starck and the breakfast dining room which was very grand. For the price this hotel is very lack luster and if you are only staying in Paris for a weekend like we were then I'd suggest somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank iamdave89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Iamdave89,

Thank you for leaving your feedback as it is great help for us to continuously improve and we shall take your opinion into account.

After reading about your experience at Le Meurice, I would like to sincerely apologize.

Know that this is very unusual as we aim to always treat our guests with great care and respect regardless of their age. If you would like, please contact me directly so we can exchange on your experience.

I am however glad that you enjoyed our lobby and the design of our dining room.

We hope to welcome you again soon if you decide to give us a second chance the next time you come to Paris.

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was my number one must do hotel for the year since it received such high ratings, and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is extremely accommodating. We booked their summer promotion of stay two nights and get one free (which we felt like was an excellent value) and were pleasantly surprised to find out that even though we had pre paid for our room, we had been upgraded to an executive Jr. suite from a regular Jr. suite. We were also greeted upon check in by the general manager and several other staff members who came over to introduce themselves and wish us a pleasant stay.

The room was spacious and gorgeous. So elegant. It was absolutely perfect for three people and in fact it had a day bed that was the perfect size for my daughter in her own little alcove. The bathroom was large, all in white marble with great amenities. Anything you called for such as turndown service or towels you received almost immediately, the quickest I have ever had. The hotel provided excellent dining options as well.

The only drawback for us was the location. You are right on Rue de Ravoli next door to Angelina, but still sandwiched between the tourist traps and the crowds. It's hard to escape this madness and it puts you off a little bit. However, once you get inside and past all of this it's all good. The lobby decor and as you go farther into the hotel has a palace like feel but with stark modern contrasts. Almost Venetian in a way. My daughter was happy that it was right across the street from the Tuilleries and the ferris wheel. The concierges are knowledgable and able to accomplish most any request like getting us into the Ducasse restaurant at the hotel the very next night with one days notice.

Also be careful too, included in our rate was an american breakfast for two, but even if someone joins you and eats nothing (such as my child who comes in after we are finished and eats a bite of my eggs) you will still be charged an extra 58 euros even though she didn't order the American breakfast. However, the front desk was happy to remove the charge from our bill when we explained. Checkout was smooth. It was very expensive but worth it. We would definitely consider it as a top hotel option on our next visit to Paris especially if they continue the promotions!

Room Tip: Executive Junior suites are perfect for a couple and a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitzicmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Mitzicmich

Thank you for contributing with such a detailed and positive review. I am very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us this summer, and that you appreciated our rooms, the promptness of our service and the efficiency of our concierges. We aim for the highest standards of excellence in order to please our guests.

I am sorry you found the Rue de Rivoli slightly crowded, however it is the drawback for being located in the cultural heart of Paris only a few minutes away from the Louvres, the Tuileries Garden, the Musée d’Orsay and the Place Vendôme.

We look forward to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely night at Le Meurice, our room and bathroom were superb and we really enjoyed our cocktails in the bar, the nibbles were lovely. The reception staff discussed what were doing and the concierge can organise your museum tickets. We ate breakfast at the hotel and it was delicious. We were there for a special wedding anniversary and it is that sort of place, unless you are very wealthy.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jbblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Jbblondon,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us for your anniversary and made the most of our concierge service, as well as enjoyed your stay at the bar and our cocktails and nibbles available at the bar.

Many thanks for your kind words which I will share with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Hotel Le Meurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Oh la la! This is really the best hotel in Paris! Location, location, location! The hotel rooms, restaurants and bar were fantastic! The food was superb! The staff was great. Our housekeeper did a great job with our suite. We loved the suite as it overlooked the Louvre and Eiffel Tower. Great location! We will be back! Oui!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zightzeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Zightzeer,

Thank you for leaving such a delightful comment! We will make sure to share you positive experience with our team and we hope to welcome you again soon, the next time you visit Paris.

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann, General Manager, Hotel Le Meurice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#101 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#58 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#33 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meurice

Property: Le Meurice
Address: 228 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Paris
#26 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#34 Family Hotel in Paris
#35 Business Hotel in Paris
#69 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meurice 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, opposite the Tuileries Gardens, lies one of Dorchester Collection’s gems; Le Meurice. Le Meurice, the first Parisian Palace hotel, has presided over Rue de Rivoli since 1835. Since its creation, Le Meurice has carried a sense of the grandeur and splendor of Versailles, of Kings and Queens, Patrons and artists, enthusiasts and adventurers – and has been perfecting l’art de vivre into a fine art for 190 years.Here, the past and present meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Le Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meurice Paris
Le Meurice Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing