We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid but ...”
Review of Le Meurice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meurice
Ranked #33 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in an excellent location and, obviously, it is reflected in the price. Listed as one of the prestigous palace hotels the decor reflects that although it is actually relatively modest in size. I stayed for four nights in an executive room on the sixth floor. The room was spacious, well decorated with an attractive bathroom. Although it faced the inner courtyard there was an attractive view across the rooftops. This actually turned out to be a positive as the aircon never fell below 24.5 inspite of all my efforts to reduce it so open windows were essential. Service unfortunately was mixed. The staff at the front desk and in the bar were charming and efficient. Room service was disappointing. On my first morning, I ordered breakfast tea with milk but I received Earl Grey without milk. On my third morning, I got a tiny jug of milk even though I had ordered tea for two. On two occasions in the afternoon a member of staff rang and then immediately entered the room to take away the tray before I could respond. On my final morning, at 8.45 while I was packing a member of staff again rang and then immediately entered the room to check the minibar. On all occasions the staff were apologetic but it is not difficult to wait 30 seconds before opening the door. Conditions outside the entrance can also be chaotic. There is clearly a problem in finding taxis in Paris at busy times but surely a hotel of this standing should be able to master it. This was my fourth stay and would I return - yes but could they improve - yes as well. One message to their staff would be a little less egalite and a little more fratenite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear PJW22,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about Le Meurice. I am very pleased to read that you liked the decoration of your room and the public areas of the Hotel as well as our location.

On the other hand, I am extremely concerned to hear of the difficulties you encountered during your last visit regarding the control of the temperature in your room and the service provided.

Please be aware that I will speak to all concerned to ensure no such issues arise at any time in the future.

I also have considered you comments about the taxi service. Be assured that we will take these into great account.

We look very much forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Meurice.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Spent only one night in Le Meurice during a short trip to Paris. So far the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. The location is ideal and you can reach all the major attractions by foot. The service is excellent and very attentive. My room was practically a small apartment: very spacious with a gorgeous marble bathroom. It was so quiet so I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NeverAgainCannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear NeverAgainCannes,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a so enthusiastic review about your recent stay at Le Meurice.

I am very happy to see that your stay at Le Meurice has brought you entire satisfaction. I will be delighted to share your kind comments with my entire team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back !

Yours sincerely,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Best location in Paris for a landmark of french hotellerie, across from the Tuileries and a block away from the Louvre. Still has its charme, especially in the service, which is top-notch. Standard room not very spacious; bathroom (in marble) proportionally much larger. I did experience, like other guests, the uncomfortable experience of the water temperature fluctuating from hot to cool. Excellent restaurant, but very expensive (and so is the bar: 7 euros for a Coke). Congierce and house keeping very good. Overall a place to go, if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Lucaerrante,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor this nice feedback about your recent stay at Le Meurice.

We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed the services of our staff, our cuisine as well as the location of the hotel.

We sincerely regret the issue you encountered with the water temperature in your shower. Please be assured that I asked our head engineer to look at this matter into detail.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Meurice and please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you wish to come back to our property.

With my best regards,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Le Meurice. From the moment we arrived we felt well looked after. The taxi door was opened for me, our bags whisked away then we were checked in within moments and escorted to the bar for a glass of champers! All lovely. And after an extremely expensive glass of champagne we went up to our room. This was lovely but very small. We had no view and the room felt cluttered with furniture because it was so small. Anyway, we did opt for the cheapest room, so what should we expect?! Perhaps a bit more from a 5 star hotel I think but hey ho. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom perfect (they could invest in better quality loo roll here!!!). Internet connectivity is also ridiculously expensive, especially after staying at similar hotels where this is offered free of charge.

We were staying at the end of fashion week, so understandably the hotel was busy and to my husbands delight full of very tall attractive models! It is a bit disconcerting having to walk through the busy restaurant/bar area to get to the lifts especially when it's very busy.

Julie on reception was amazing and spent one morning trying to get us into a lovely restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. As it was fashion week this was nearly impossible but she managed it and remembered us the following day and asked us how the evening had been, so we felt well looked after.

One tip - if breakfast is a little expensive head down the road to Cafe Angelina for breakfast instead, it's lovely (if a bit chaotic!!).

Anyway - the best thing about this hotel is the location. You are central and it's walking distance to the Louvre. Opposite the hotel is the beautiful Tuileries garden - amazing to be able to walk out of the hotel, accross the road and into the gardens.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCC-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear JCC-H,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing Le Meurice for your recent visit in Paris and for taking the time to give us your impressions.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay among us. Please be assured that we also took into consideration your comments regarding the fact you were inconvenienced by our pricing and your observations on the different aspects of the Hotel.

Kindly know that the “Promenade” area located just next to our more classic Bar the 228, where you had to walk through, was an audacious idea of the designer Philippe Starck who redesign our lobby area 5 years ago.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Le Meurice.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next visit to Paris. I assure you in advance of my best care and attention.

Sincerely,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

To be short:
- SERVICE was stellar at the reception and with room service. The staff was extra-obliging, addressed me by name by the end of my 3 day stay. managed to get me a last minute reservation for 6 at a very good restaurant on a Saturday night. The recommendation for lunch was also incredible and just what I wanted.
- PRICE for 1300 euros per night I got an average size room with a nice bathroom, rather surprising three small terraces with incredible views over the whole of Paris AND an unpleasant smell, that can hardly be masked by the all the room perfumes that the hotel uses. The smell just just not be there (I do not think I would come back to this hotel just because of this) - not for 1300 euros per night. Last year, for 2000 euros a night I got a suite at Georges V that was 2.5 times the size. Then again, it was not fashion week, and the location of Geores V sucks. In short - questionable value for money, bad smell, but very romantic view.
- DINING people at the restaurant should learn the word "hospitality" and realize they work in the hospitality industry. They seem to propose you the worst possible table and then you press your way up to a better one asking whether it is possible to seat at a better table, at which point they oblige. That leaves one with a bad taste in the mouth.
SUMMARY: location can't be beat, value average, concierge stellar, romantic terraces. Your choice, might go to Crillon next time.

Room Tip: 605 where I stayed had three mini-terraces with awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Georgy D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

I value and appreciate your feedback and I was most concerned to read about you mixed feelings regarding this less than satisfactory first stay at Le Meurice.

I have been particularly sorry to learn that you were disappointed with an unpleasant smell in your room and that the welcome you received at our restaurant was not the appropriate. I want to express my sincerest apologies to you for any discomfort caused as this certainly does not reflect the standards in which we pride ourselves on here at Le Meurice.

Please be aware that I have discussed your comments with the our heads of department to avoid situations such as these from arising in the future.

I am most anxious to restore your faith in our hotel and I invite to contact me directly for a next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

An amazing experience. Just the way you'd expect one of the best hotels in Paris to be - classically elegant with fantastic service and an A-list film star among the guests! Just glad I wasn't paying as the prices are astronomical.......

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, General Manager at Le Meurice, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Devonhall,

Thank you very much for your very kind comment. It is such a nice reward. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcoming you back soon again at Le Meurice!

Yours sincerely,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I travelled to Paris from Victoria, B.C., Canada for two weeks with two girlfriends. We were staying in Le Marais area and booked our dinner reservation at Restaurant Le Maurice towards the end of our stay, September 19th to be exact. We booked the reservation from Canada at least a couple of weeks in advance.
Everything went like clockwork from the minute we entered the hotel. The staff knew exactly who we were. After having a look around the Lobby for a few minutes the Hostess found us and brought us to our table. From that second on everything went like clockwork. We chose the Degustation Menu, with wine pairings. I think there were 12 or 13 courses in all, and it was all simply perfect. It lasted from 7:30-11:30 p.m. and we enjoyed everything single minute. The staff were simply amazing. The cost was pretty amazing too, but worth every single penny.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VancouverIslandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, General Manager at Le Meurice, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear VancouverIslandAnne,

Thank you for sharing your review of your dinner at restaurant le Meurice. I am delighted to hear that the experience lived up to your expectations. I will be sure to share your review with the rest of the team who will be very happy to read your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to le Meurice on your next visit to Paris.

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#50 of 1,805 in Paris
702 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#13 of 1,805 in Paris
1,614 reviews
Le Bristol Paris
#5 of 1,805 in Paris
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meurice

Address: 228 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Paris
#24 Family Hotel in Paris
#29 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#35 Business Hotel in Paris
#68 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $800 - $1,400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meurice 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, opposite the Tuileries Gardens, lies one of Dorchester Collection’s gems; Le Meurice. Le Meurice, the first Parisian Palace hotel, has presided over Rue de Rivoli since 1835. Since its creation, Le Meurice has carried a sense of the grandeur and splendor of Versailles, of Kings and Queens, Patrons and artists, enthusiasts and adventurers – and has been perfecting l’art de vivre into a fine art for 190 years.Here, the past and present meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meurice Paris
Le Meurice Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing