We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellency at a price”
Review of Le Meurice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meurice
Ranked #39 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
milan, italy
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellency at a price”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Best location in Paris for a landmark of french hotellerie, across from the Tuileries and a block away from the Louvre. Still has its charme, especially in the service, which is top-notch. Standard room not very spacious; bathroom (in marble) proportionally much larger. I did experience, like other guests, the uncomfortable experience of the water temperature fluctuating from hot to cool. Excellent restaurant, but very expensive (and so is the bar: 7 euros for a Coke). Congierce and house keeping very good. Overall a place to go, if you can afford it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Lucaerrante,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor this nice feedback about your recent stay at Le Meurice.

We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed the services of our staff, our cuisine as well as the location of the hotel.

We sincerely regret the issue you encountered with the water temperature in your shower. Please be assured that I asked our head engineer to look at this matter into detail.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Meurice and please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you wish to come back to our property.

With my best regards,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    158
    53
    23
    15
See reviews for
205
501
67
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Le Meurice. From the moment we arrived we felt well looked after. The taxi door was opened for me, our bags whisked away then we were checked in within moments and escorted to the bar for a glass of champers! All lovely. And after an extremely expensive glass of champagne we went up to our room. This was lovely but very small. We had no view and the room felt cluttered with furniture because it was so small. Anyway, we did opt for the cheapest room, so what should we expect?! Perhaps a bit more from a 5 star hotel I think but hey ho. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom perfect (they could invest in better quality loo roll here!!!). Internet connectivity is also ridiculously expensive, especially after staying at similar hotels where this is offered free of charge.

We were staying at the end of fashion week, so understandably the hotel was busy and to my husbands delight full of very tall attractive models! It is a bit disconcerting having to walk through the busy restaurant/bar area to get to the lifts especially when it's very busy.

Julie on reception was amazing and spent one morning trying to get us into a lovely restaurant to celebrate our anniversary. As it was fashion week this was nearly impossible but she managed it and remembered us the following day and asked us how the evening had been, so we felt well looked after.

One tip - if breakfast is a little expensive head down the road to Cafe Angelina for breakfast instead, it's lovely (if a bit chaotic!!).

Anyway - the best thing about this hotel is the location. You are central and it's walking distance to the Louvre. Opposite the hotel is the beautiful Tuileries garden - amazing to be able to walk out of the hotel, accross the road and into the gardens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCC-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear JCC-H,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing Le Meurice for your recent visit in Paris and for taking the time to give us your impressions.

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay among us. Please be assured that we also took into consideration your comments regarding the fact you were inconvenienced by our pricing and your observations on the different aspects of the Hotel.

Kindly know that the “Promenade” area located just next to our more classic Bar the 228, where you had to walk through, was an audacious idea of the designer Philippe Starck who redesign our lobby area 5 years ago.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Le Meurice.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next visit to Paris. I assure you in advance of my best care and attention.

Sincerely,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

To be short:
- SERVICE was stellar at the reception and with room service. The staff was extra-obliging, addressed me by name by the end of my 3 day stay. managed to get me a last minute reservation for 6 at a very good restaurant on a Saturday night. The recommendation for lunch was also incredible and just what I wanted.
- PRICE for 1300 euros per night I got an average size room with a nice bathroom, rather surprising three small terraces with incredible views over the whole of Paris AND an unpleasant smell, that can hardly be masked by the all the room perfumes that the hotel uses. The smell just just not be there (I do not think I would come back to this hotel just because of this) - not for 1300 euros per night. Last year, for 2000 euros a night I got a suite at Georges V that was 2.5 times the size. Then again, it was not fashion week, and the location of Geores V sucks. In short - questionable value for money, bad smell, but very romantic view.
- DINING people at the restaurant should learn the word "hospitality" and realize they work in the hospitality industry. They seem to propose you the worst possible table and then you press your way up to a better one asking whether it is possible to seat at a better table, at which point they oblige. That leaves one with a bad taste in the mouth.
SUMMARY: location can't be beat, value average, concierge stellar, romantic terraces. Your choice, might go to Crillon next time.

Room Tip: 605 where I stayed had three mini-terraces with awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Georgy D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

I value and appreciate your feedback and I was most concerned to read about you mixed feelings regarding this less than satisfactory first stay at Le Meurice.

I have been particularly sorry to learn that you were disappointed with an unpleasant smell in your room and that the welcome you received at our restaurant was not the appropriate. I want to express my sincerest apologies to you for any discomfort caused as this certainly does not reflect the standards in which we pride ourselves on here at Le Meurice.

Please be aware that I have discussed your comments with the our heads of department to avoid situations such as these from arising in the future.

I am most anxious to restore your faith in our hotel and I invite to contact me directly for a next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Appin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

An amazing experience. Just the way you'd expect one of the best hotels in Paris to be - classically elegant with fantastic service and an A-list film star among the guests! Just glad I wasn't paying as the prices are astronomical.......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, General Manager at Le Meurice, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Devonhall,

Thank you very much for your very kind comment. It is such a nice reward. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcoming you back soon again at Le Meurice!

Yours sincerely,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I travelled to Paris from Victoria, B.C., Canada for two weeks with two girlfriends. We were staying in Le Marais area and booked our dinner reservation at Restaurant Le Maurice towards the end of our stay, September 19th to be exact. We booked the reservation from Canada at least a couple of weeks in advance.
Everything went like clockwork from the minute we entered the hotel. The staff knew exactly who we were. After having a look around the Lobby for a few minutes the Hostess found us and brought us to our table. From that second on everything went like clockwork. We chose the Degustation Menu, with wine pairings. I think there were 12 or 13 courses in all, and it was all simply perfect. It lasted from 7:30-11:30 p.m. and we enjoyed everything single minute. The staff were simply amazing. The cost was pretty amazing too, but worth every single penny.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VancouverIslandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, General Manager at Le Meurice, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear VancouverIslandAnne,

Thank you for sharing your review of your dinner at restaurant le Meurice. I am delighted to hear that the experience lived up to your expectations. I will be sure to share your review with the rest of the team who will be very happy to read your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to le Meurice on your next visit to Paris.

Kind regards,

Franka Holtmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Although this hotel is very pricey (680.00 euros/night for basic room), it was absolutely incredible and worth it. It's located down the street from Louvre Museum. I stayed there from Sept. 7 - 15, 2012. It's very central to shopping, dining, walking in the park and simply enjoying Paris. The hotel staff was very helpful and the concierge went out of their way to contact Air France to locate lost luggage and followed up until it was located and returned to us. It was definately a splurge but so worth it. The marble bathroom with a deep soaking tub was the best way to end a long day. The bed was a dream and I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingInMyBlood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, General Manager at Le Meurice, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were very touched by your kind comments on Trip Advisor. We very much thank you for taking time to share your experiences at our Hotel, Le Meurice.

It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding our property. Your satisfaction regarding the staffs’ service’s affability is most important for us, and we will be happy to share your comments to the concierge team.

Yours sincerely,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager

We have well noted your comment regarding our air conditionning system. Please kindly know that a brand new thermostat is under study at the present moment.

Thank you again for taking the time to share with us your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit soon.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outside nyc
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Spent several nights recently based on a friend's recommendation.
I was expecting excellence and was not disappointed.
However, the hotel has small drawbacks.
To get to one's room, you must walk through a lobby bar. In the evening, it makes an unusual path through the clientele.
The food and beverage prices are outrageous and the personel in these areas are pompous.
Internet costs 24 euro per day.....ridiculous at the prices we paid for the room.
On the plus side, the concierge was outstanding. The room and bathroom spectacular.
Location is great for the d'Orsay and shopping.
Food choices around the hotel are limited and expensive, as expected.
When we return to Paris next time, we will try another five star option.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OutsideNycStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeuriceParis, Directeur général at Le Meurice, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Stevie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your impressions following to your recent stay at Le Meurice.

It is a real pleasure for me to learn that you appreciated our concierge staff efficiency as well as your accommodation.

Please be assured that I took all your observations into great consideration.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Le Meurice.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personnally for your next visit to Paris. I assure you in advance of my best care and attention.

Best regards,

Franka Holtmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#11 of 1,801 in Paris
1,459 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel du Continent
Hotel du Continent
#91 of 1,801 in Paris
665 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#23 of 1,801 in Paris
601 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#102 of 1,801 in Paris
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meurice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meurice

Property: Le Meurice
Address: 228 rue de Rivoli, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Paris
#34 Family Hotel in Paris
#35 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#35 Business Hotel in Paris
#68 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meurice 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Paris, opposite the Tuileries Gardens, lies one of Dorchester Collection’s gems; Le Meurice. Le Meurice, the first Parisian Palace hotel, has presided over Rue de Rivoli since 1835. Since its creation, Le Meurice has carried a sense of the grandeur and splendor of Versailles, of Kings and Queens, Patrons and artists, enthusiasts and adventurers – and has been perfecting l’art de vivre into a fine art for 190 years.Here, the past and present meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meurice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meurice Paris
Le Meurice Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing