We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No warm water in a room that costs 600€”
Review of Le Bristol Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Bristol Paris
Ranked #5 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The are many good things to say about the Le Bristol:
Entering its lobby is like arriving in a different century; the chandeliers, the marble floors, the wonderful flower bouquets, the charming old elevator, the chintz and velvet arm chairs.... Glorious! Reception staff are incredibly professional and courteous. Food is great (waiters less so- Whenever I have a special request, I feel they look at me with an expression that means "how dare you ask me something"). Also, the owners invest continously into keeping the property immaculate- each time I have stayed there (3 times so far), there was renovation work going on in parts of the building.

HOWEVER during my last stay earlier this week, I was really upset by the fact that in my room that cost > € 600 the was no warm water available at 11.30 at night! Knowing that it is an old building, I thought "ok, probably I just need to wait a little, the pipes are old..." But even after a full 5 min, all that flew from the taps of both the basin, the bath tub and the shower was ice cold water.

I was really tired and had to get up early the next morning, so did not call reception (did not want to stay awake and wait for someone to look into it) and went to bed without a shower. The next morning, it worked fine - but it was a REALLY disappointing experience. At a hotel of this category and price, this is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank LadyBergfex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Resident Manager at Le Bristol Paris, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your last visit at Le Bristol.
We are very honoured to read that you stayed amongst us for several visits in Paris.
Your words concerning our decoration, our Staff and also the quality of the food and the ambiance at Le Bristol are very appreciated!

Nevertheless, we were deeply sorry to read that your last experience has not been entirely in keeping with your expectations, and that you had to face a terrible experience with no hot water at night in your room.
We totally understand that you felt reluctant to call the Reception desk at this late hour, and you are perfectly right, this situation is not acceptable in an entirely renovated five star palace. Be assured however that if you had called our teams, they would have been glad to bring you immediate assistance.

We would appreciate if you could contact us directly, so as to investigate properly on your recent visit to know how we failed, and to have the chance to organize your next visit with us.

Staying at your entire disposal, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

Florence Bezault
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,652)
There are newer reviews for Le Bristol Paris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

From the moment I checked-in to the moment my friend who drove me to the airport, I loved the experience. Being a first timer in Europe, with no knowledge of French, It was amazing how my friends there sorted out everything for me.

I didnt feel like I was checking-in. In about 5 minutes, I was taken to my room. The moment I stepped into the room, the marble flooring, hermes, the washroom, the so comfy bed made me so happy. My friend Jean was like a saviour. He helped me out with everything I needed for my night stay. Its not just about him, there was another friend on mine (Who, sadly, I dont know the name of) even greeted me by NAME. He pronounced it so perfectly just after 12 hours of my check-in and inspite few celebs staying over there. The friends there are just great. You would never feel lost.

Epicure served me some delicious food and Bristol Bar was great. I preferred to dine the last day in my room facing the tower. The checkout was simple. Though I felt the stay was touch expensive, recounting the experience made me re-think that!

Shopping areas were nearby and rightly pointed out by my friends there. Without them, I am sure to have had a tough experience. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vvinodhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Le Bristol Paris, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a kind review on Trip Advisor following your stay at Le Bristol last February.

We are deeply touched to read that we have contributed to make your first experience in Europe a success!

It is great to learn that you appreciated not only your room overlooking the Eiffel tower, but overall the thoughtfulness of the teams making you feel like a celeb. Be assured that we will share your warm words with Jean-Marie Burlet, our Director of Guest Relations.

We are pleased that you enjoyed Epicure, our three-Michelin star gastronomic restaurant, as well as the new evening Bar du Bristol!

I hope to welcome you back again very soon at the hotel.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Le Bristol last weekend and had the most luxurious, wonderful time... it exceeded all our expectations and would recommend it to anyone... the staff are so courteous and friendly, the Epicure Restaurant is the best I have ever been to, the rooms so elegant and comfortable, the spa magnificent..... everything was of the highest standard and yet did not feel stuffy or overly formal - a real tonic for the body, spirit and soul....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Le Bristol Paris, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Ian G. from London,

We were delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your weekend with us in February.

To have any of our guests say that we exceeded their expectations, and that they would recommend us to anyone, is the best compliment one could hope for in this business.

Hope to have the opportunity of meeting you on a future stay.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having visited Le Bristol previously, we were persuaded to return and the hotel was all that we could have hoped for and more.

The hotel was very clean and everyone was very friendly. There were a number of celebrities staying at the hotel whilst we were there (including David Beckham) and I was concerned that we might find ourselves being obviously second in line to them but this was not the case. On the contrary, we were made to feel as though we were the special guests who had come to stay.

I hesitate to single any member of staff out for the quality of service we received, as that may suggest (incorrectly) that the unmentioned staff were not on the same par. However, Jean-François on the concierge desk was exceedingly helpful and gave us excellent directions (even if we ran out of luck when we followed them!) and Stéphanie was also fantastic, managing to save the day on more than one occasion – like locating a camera which we could borrow as I had forgotten mine.

The suite we stayed in was very spacious, clean and furnished in character with the hotel as a whole. We could see the Eiffel Tower from it which made our stay more magical and romantic (which is hard to achieve with two children in tow.) We also had a DVD player in the lounge and bedroom. There was plenty of drawer space available. (Travelling with two young children, it often seems to be the case that, whilst there is plenty of hanging space, there is a lack of shelves/drawers for the children’s clothes.)

We chose to take meals in our room – a lot more relaxing with a two year old. The food was excellent and presented beautifully. We had to wait no longer than if we had been in the restaurant and the food was still piping hot when it came. We very much appreciated all the little extras.

I definitely think that we should come back to this hotel – if only to make sure that the service we received this time is in fact the norm! My husband will always remember his 50th Birthday treat (as will I) for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJWoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Le Bristol Paris, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Ms. Woodhouse,

Thank you for sharing your experiences regarding the family trip to Le Bristol early last month.

Needless to say we were thrilled that the quality of service met your expectations.
I have passed on your appreciation to Jean-François and Stephanie. You are too kind to have singled them out. It is true that all our guests should feel that they are the most special guests.

Look forward to seeing you and the family in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Le Bristol provides even the frequent traveller with an experience of unique elegance, excellence, friendliness, and consistency in all areas. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is uniformly kind, competent and enthusiastic, everything works like a charm and the overall experience is unmatched. What Leah Marshall and her team produce every day is remarkable -- far, far better than the Ritz or Cinque. Make a special effort to stay here; in Paris, don't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James_M358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Le Bristol Paris, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear James_M358 from New York !

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at Le Bristol in Paris.

We know that our business is such that we can always improve, all the same it is such a boost to know when our guests have truly had a memorable time with us.

We look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future!

Best regards from Paris,

Leah
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Dear Traveler,

I just returned after spending three weeks in Europe. I am very grateful, 5 Star Hotels have become my home away from home.

Le Bristol in Paris is in a league of it's own truly leading in the hospitality business. They are so out front that no one competitor is even in sight! The pride and care every guests receive is truly so very special.

The new Le Bar a spectacular edition making your late evenings especially on the weekend very entertaining with some amazing sounds from some of Paris's most talented DJ's. Le Bristol you might want to consider selling some of the discs by just calling them the sounds from Le Bar.

Hats off to real Top Class operation and absoulutely worthy of this years Travel and Leisure 2013 Best of the Best.

Well deserved and keep up the excellent work!!!!!!! Mr. Anthony J Vecchione NYC

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Le Bristol Paris, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Mr. Vecchione,

You are too kind to take the time to post your thoughts regarding your stay at Le Bristol Paris during your stay in February.

It is understood that when one travels as extensively as you do, it is comfortable when you can say that one hotel is now like ‘home away from home’.

We are really thrilled that you enjoyed our new evening Bar that opened in September. As the majority of guests are from Paris, it is nice for our North American or Anglophone guests to actually realize they are in Paris by being surrounded by French patrons! It is agreed that we need to work on making our own compilation of discs!

Thank you for your positive comments, and your support! It is so much appreciated when our guests recognize our earnest efforts to please each and every guest.

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The recent addition to the hotel is the new bar a very nice cozy room intime. Atmosphere ,the hotel personal service .nice rooms and very good food offered in all the restaurants of the hotel makes it a very attractive place in paris. It's upper class luxuriously place prices are in line with level

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yosef L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Le Bristo... P, Hotel Manager at Le Bristol Paris, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Yosef L.,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at Le Bristol in February.

Delighted that you enjoyed our new evening Bar that opened in September. It is most popular with the locals, and not sure if you caught the DJ on Thursdays from 7 p.m. or either Friday or Saturday from 9:30 p.m., but they have been a very positive draw.

Look forward to having the pleasure of meeting you on a future visit!

Best regards,

Leah Marshall
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#16 of 1,804 in Paris
1,508 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Opera / Bourse
Maison Souquet
Maison Souquet
#1 of 1,804 in Paris
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Narcisse Blanc Hotel & Spa
Champs-Elysees
La Reserve Paris - Hotel and Spa
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bristol Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bristol Paris

Address: 112 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paris
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#4 Spa Hotel in Paris
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#10 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $1,009 - $1,898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Bristol Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic, generous, fine and stunning palace, where the service is an art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Bristol Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing