We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Le Bristol Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Bristol Paris
Ranked #5 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I booked Le Bristol for my husband's 50th Birthday. We stayed in a Deluxe Junior Suite with our two children (aged 2 and 7) for 3 nights. The room was lovely - very clean, good quality furnishings etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and clearly liked children. Unfortunately, it never quite reached the standards that I had expected given its star rating and other reviews.

Firstly, there was no reference to the fact that this was a celebration of my husband's 50th year. (Perhaps the travel agent didn't pass that message on in spite of saying that they would.) There was no DVD player in the room but we were told that one could be made available to us. We never got it. (In fairness we never chased them up on this but really should we have had to?)

We ordered breakfast in our room each morning. The second morning, we had asked for breakfast between 9am and 9:15am. When it had not arrived at 9:25am, my husband phoned down to find out where it was. Five minutes later it arrived. On the morning of our departure, we requested breakfast at 6:30am. Once again it did not arrive until after my husband had phoned down at 6:40am to find out where it was. Interestingly, on the first morning we had to sign a receipt for the breakfast order. My husband queried this given that we were staying on B&B terms. We were told that this was normal procedure and the breakfast would be deducted from our bill at the end of our stay. Interestingly, we were not asked to sign any receipts for the breakfasts we had on the second or third mornings of our stay. So, either it was normal procedure and they failed to obtain signatures going forward or they made a mistake on the first breakfast.

The Hotel staff very kindly said that they would cancel the taxi that we had ordered to take us to the airport at 6:30am and book us a taxi for 7:30am instead. An alternative taxi was booked but the first was never cancelled. Hence at 6:30am we received a phone call, saying that our taxi was here and did we want it?

For a five star hotel I had imagined that everything would run like clockwork, that the service would be excellent and that this would be a Birthday to remember. Instead both my husband and I feel let down. There should not be this number of niggles on such a short trip at any hotel but certainly not one with a reputation like that of Le Bristol. This is not a hotel to which I would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank SJWoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLeBristolParis, Hotel Manager at Le Bristol Paris, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Madam,

It goes without saying that we truly regret that we somehow lost sight of your husband’s fiftieth birthday! We are trying to get to the root of how we could have missed such an important occasion.

That we confirmed that we would place a DVD upon arrival, and not carry that request through is unforgiveable. And indeed you should not have to repeat the request. Your comment regarding having to sign for your breakfast the first morning, but not on the second or third day also is not coherent. Regarding the lack of follow-up between the Concierge and Guest Services team for the cancellation of your taxi at 6.30 am had to be another very frustrating moment.

You are very correct in assuming that your stay would be seamless. Our aim is to offer a consistent product and service to each and every one of our guests. We sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of making amends for this less than satisfactory first stay.

Sincerely,

Leah Marshall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,453
    144
    28
    5
    8
See reviews for
312
707
98
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

the hotel itself is beautiful, very old-school luxury with elaborate ceilings and statues everywhere. our room (one of the standard ones) was on the spacious size for a 5 star Paris hotel.
Service is great. the concierge cannot do enough for you. we wanted to go to a restaurant with a great view for lunch, and he not only recommended a nice (and not touristy) place, but went into the trouble of persuading the restaurant to take a booking depite them not taking reservations at that time!
the hotel restaurant (has several michelin stars) was expensive, but the food was amazing!
location is good, just off saint honore, walking distance to place vendome, le louvre etc
but dont stay here if you are on a budget.. pretty pricey..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank missrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

We cannot praise this hotel and their staff highly enough.We were treated wonderfully from the moment we arrived.Everyone spoke english and just made us feel as though we were their only concern.
my husband was celebrating his birthday and after a busy day sightseeing we returned to our suite and there was a beautiful chocolate cake and a letter of congratulations there.
We would certainly love to return given half a chance.It is these little gestures that make a great break memorable.Thank you Le Bristol.Ps.....stunning decor and gardens...and food....

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cozumel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Multi languages spoken by all the staff, super nice, courteous and accommodating

Room Tip: AMEX will upgrade you to a suite if you use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnniejetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Everything was so well maintained and well kept. The rooms were great, and every nice. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Number One in Paris.............. New Spa ..............a 3 Stars restaurant......best service in Paris
It is Home
Reception and Concierge are outstanding....
Would not stay anywhere else in Paris

Room Tip: I don't know any bad room at the Bristol
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here one night in a junior suite with my friend.
We have stayed many times at the Crillon but after some mixed feelings the last times we decided to try Le Bristol. And i can say we where not dissapointed.
It was a rainy day and our taxi stopped outside the hotel, 2 staff was standing ready with umbrellas open and covered us until until we reached the door. Check in was as told from 3 and we arrived a bit before 2 so we were told our room should be ready at 3, totally understanable we went out for lunch. Came back at 3:30 and our room was getting ready so thay said to have a drink in the bar, we did and 5 minutes later was told that the room was ready and the bar bill was picked up by the hotel. Very nice gesture. Our junior suite was stunning, completly refurnished and very fresh. Big livingroom, big bedroom, walk in closet, pink marble bath room and etc.. And a chilled bottle of sancerre on the house. We felt pampered. Throughout the stay we where only met by extremly nice staff smiling and wanted us to feel at home and to our service. This has to be the best hotel experience ever and i have stayed at lots of hotels like this, but they are best in class i think. You cant beat location either. So i hope to be back very soon for a longer stay..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#11 of 1,801 in Paris
1,478 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Narcisse Blanc Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Maison Souquet
Maison Souquet
#1 of 1,801 in Paris
622 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#16 of 1,801 in Paris
307 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bristol Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bristol Paris

Property: Le Bristol Paris
Address: 112 rue du Faubourg Saint Honore | 8th Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Paris
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#4 Spa Hotel in Paris
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#10 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Bristol Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic, generous, fine and stunning palace, where the service is an art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Bristol Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bristol Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing