We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Pavillon des Lettres
Nearby Hotels
$380
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Peninsula Paris(Paris)
$1,226
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Augustin - Astotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
$170
$152
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$395
$370
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$1,300
$1,145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Saint Germain(Paris)
$208
$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$134
Duquesne Eiffel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$662
$484
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$585
$458
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche(Paris)
$238
$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
227
86
6
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
86
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barsmall luxury hotelmolton brown toiletrieselysee palacefrench presidentshort walk to the champs elyseesthe main shopping areaeiffel towerquieter streethonor barhigh end shopsmajor department storesleave parisjunior suiteliterally around the cornerparis rooftopsart galleries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 324 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in Paris, a short walking distance from many sights, and close to various Metro stations for traveling further afield in Paris.

The rooms are very well furnished with high quality fittings in the bathrooms. Bed was very comfy, and we both slept well during our 3-night stay.

Two minor criticisms:

1) We were given a breakfast form to hang on our door at about 4-5pm on one of the days, and as it didn't cost any extra, we decided to have breakfast in our room on our last day. I filled in the form with our choices, and hung it on our door probably around 6-7pm the night before, asking for breakfast to be delivered at 7:45am the next day. Apparently the forms need to be hung on the door by 3:45am (I think). However the breakfast didn't arrive, and the door hanger was still hanging from the door handle at 8am! What's the point of offering a breakfast door hanger if they're not going to be collected from the door!?

2) Lastly, we made use of the hotel's "honesty bar" for two drinks - a Bailey's, and a Cognac, both of which were small. We filled in a form to say what we had, and on checking out of the hotel we were charged €10 for each drink, which I felt was too pricey. The prices should be made more obvious at the bar. Serves me right for being "honest" I suppose!

Despite these criticisms, the hotel was still brilliant, and one of the nicer ones I've stayed at in Paris.

Room Tip: If you request breakfast via the "breakfast door hanger" method, make sure the hanger has been collected when you wake up in the morning, otherwise you may find yourself without any in-room breakfast! Don't drink from the honesty bar - just buy a bottle of alcohol from a supermarket and use the in-room refrigerator to keep it cool.
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank danielg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAVILLONDESLETTRES, Directeur général at Le Pavillon des Lettres, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam

We would like to thank you for having chosen Le Pavillon des Lettres for your last stay in Paris.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay among us. Further to your comments we feel sorry that you did not appreciate our Honesty bar concept. Indeed we invite our guests to help themselves. They can serve the quantity they need with a fixed price indicated in the Bar menu left on display on the Honesty Bar table.
As for the breakfast door hanger we would like to sincerely apologize that our concierge failed to collect it. We usually collect them after 3am to be sure to have them all. I am sorry for the confusion when I met you I understood that you had left it on the door handle around 6/7am which would have been too late.
We have made sure that the staff concerned is informed about your comments so that such a situation do not occur again.

We hope to welcome you back soon among us

Best regards

Myriam descarpentry
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We chose the hotel for its location, which was within easy walking distance of the museums and several metro stops. The concierge staff at the hotel was very accommodating in making dinner reservations for us, providing directions and arranging transportation to the airport. While the room was small, it was beautifully appointed. Our only complaint was that we twice were not left any bath towels, and when we asked for some, were given a large stack of hand towels and an apology. It was August, so we assumed the laundry may have been on vacation with the rest of Paris. All in all, it was a great value for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Resa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAVILLONDESLETTRES, Directeur général at Le Pavillon des Lettres, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam

We would like to thank you for having chosen Le Pavillon des Lettres for your last stay in Paris.
I am happy to hear that our staff had been helpful and accommodating regarding your different arrangements during your stay.

We are sorry that you experienced a discomfort concerning the lack of towels in your room.
We do have an environment policy card inviting guests to leave the towels on the floor if they wish to have them changed. However I apologize if our staff misunderstood giving you only hand towels instead of bath towels which were off course available in the hotel.

We look much forward to welcoming you back soon among us !

Best regards

Myriam Descarpentry
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

After a bit of a mishap with our first attempt at using airbnb (our host left the key in the wrong place), I managed to book us a last-minute room at this hotel around midnight (they only had the junior suite left), and we ended up having a wonderful experience.

The service, the rooms and the hotel itself were all great. The hotel has an intimate feel and is in a very nice area in Paris – it’s really a hidden gem.

The only minor improvement suggestions I would give is to have more selection at breakfast and more fresh items such as a fresh fruit salad, etc.

Overall, we love our stay, and would definitely stay here again or try out their sister hotel, Le Pavillon de la Reine. This hotel along with Baros should make the SLH group proud. I just hope SLH brings up some of their other hotels to this standard.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegypsyjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAVILLONDESLETTRES, Directeur général at Le Pavillon des Lettres, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Madame
We would like to thank you for taking the time to send your commentary
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, the ambience and our services. Our guests’ feedbacks are very important for us as they always help us improving our standard of service.
As per your comment concerning the breakfast, I am surprised as we offer on a buffet a selection of various items like: fresh juices, organic cereals on display, ham, yoghourt, cheese and cold cuts selection, scrambled eggs with bacon, selection of french pastries, and fresh fruit salad. A menu with extra items is on each table for guests to add anything they wish. So I am very sorry if this offer did not reach your expectation and we will make sure that no one forgets to put the fruit salad out.

We look forward to see you back soon.

Best regards
Myriam Descarpentry
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed here a number of times and the level of service and quality of the experience is consistently excellent. There is no restaurant, but you can sit on their terrace and order food from Zo, an excellent restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank practicepacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAVILLONDESLETTRES, Directeur général at Le Pavillon des Lettres, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

We would like to thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay among us and that you could discover our terrace during your last stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Myriam Descarpentry
Hotel director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My family and I just returned from a four night stay here and, while we were generally pleased and feel we received a good value, it may not be an ideal choice if you are expecting a high level of service or local knowledge. The hotel is well-located - a couple of blocks off of the hustle & bustle of the Champs, etc. - with a pretty hip, clean feel. The staff is very kind and well-intentioned, and the rooms are nice. The lounge with honor bar is nice for a quick drink, and the breakfast was lovely, although not elaborate. We had made most of our arrangements independently, so we didn't ask too much of the staff, except a last minute request for a table at Jules Verne in the Eiffel Tower, which was miraculously delivered since very popular in summer and Amex Platinum, nor local contacts, could make it happen! Part of my shock at this success was the fact that there is no dedicated concierge to help give much guidance; no local veteran whom has a "book" of trusted restaurants, guides, spas and the like. Well, if they do, it certainly wasn't volunteered. The staff is more orientated to look after the basics of the place (check-in, keys, housekeeping) than proactively engaging the visitor. On the hotel itself, the place is a bit quirky: such as the necessary step-down/step-up in the middle of the floors which is pretty awkward, especially with luggage. We had connecting rooms, and one of the rooms had the sink/toilet on the separate side of the room from shower/sink. The main sink and shower didn't drain correctly (the classic situation where you resort to manually pulling out the drain-stop because the mechanism isn't working properly), but we didn't complain because it wasn't that big of a deal. However - all in all - our stay was very nice and we would likely stay there again, particularly because the hotel does a good job at roughly 1/3-1/2 the price vs the price had we stayed down the street at Le Bristol, which is especially tough when you need two rooms.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Richie67SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAVILLONDESLETTRES, Directeur général at Le Pavillon des Lettres, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Mr Peterson,

We would like to thank you for your comments, we are happy that you and your family enjoyed their stay among us.
Le Pavillon des Lettres is a boutique hotel in an old style Parisian building and its architecture can be seen as unusual like the little steps in between floors.
I will forward your nice feedback to the reception team. Our guests’ satisfaction and comfort is very important for us.
As for our concierge service, despite that our concierges have not the same experience as the
dedicated team you would find in a Palace yet I hope that the team did their best to assist you. We are surely going to focus on improving our local knowledge and service in that field.

Finally we apologise for the technical issue you experienced and we thank you for having advised us at the check-out time so that we could fix it immediately.

We look forward to seeing you back soon to our hotel.

Best regards

Myriam Descarpentry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews