We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite spot in my favorite city.”

Pere-Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetiere du Pere-Lachaise)
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.92*
and up
Paris' Pere Lachaise Gravestone Walking Tour
Ranked #35 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous cemetery is the burial site of numerous French luminaries - authors, writers, musicians and more.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite spot in my favorite city.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've been to Paris twice before, but never to "Jim Morrison's grave". This site is so much more than that. It's very Gothic and beautiful. The tombstones are very distinct and unique. If you can, go either in the Fall or Spring, especially if it's snowing. You'll feel like you're on a movie set. There are several other celebrities buried there as well for those that are interested.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank puffda312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,012
    1,859
    433
    85
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“In A Perfect World, We'd All Be Buried Here”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

It seems odd writing a review of a cemetery, but this place is so extraordinary it has to be seen to be believed. The atmosphere is unlike any other place I've ever visited. Crypts and magnificent monuments compete for space along winding cobbled paths. Everything is in a state of decay, with crumbling stonework and rusted gates enshrouded in the falling leaves of the huge sycamores that are dotted throughout. Only gripes were the nonsensical numbering systems (make sure you get a map) and the idiocy of other people, especially Doors fans who have tagged and vandalised one of the crypts next to Jim's. I love The Doors. They're one of the greatest bands of all time, but really, people, that's just not cricket.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NiceWeather?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt top
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Have to see”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well worth a trip. Buy a map the grounds are huge! We had a guide who took us to all of the important sites and gave us the history. I could have spent hours walking around, it is beautiful. We went early in the morning there was not a crowd at all. As a american a trip to Paris would not be complete without a trip to the resting place of Jim Morrison.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank familyof5mttop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place to visit”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I liked the diversity and countrylike atmosphere of this cemetery, a breath of fresh air in Paris. The tombs are very picturesque in their designs and it is fascinating to see the tombstones of so many famous people!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DonaldRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Père Lachaise Cemetery Cimetière du Père Lachaise Amazing sight!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very large cemetary with lots of famous people including Jim Morisson. This cemetary is just a place to visit, and take pictures. They should provide free maps of grounds but instead you have to buy acrross the street. The bus stop is right infront of cemetary so its easy to get to and not to much walking from trains.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pere-Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetiere du Pere-Lachaise) also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Pere-Lachaise Cemetery (Cimetiere du Pere-Lachaise)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing