We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very magnificent!”

Notre Dame Cathedral
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$102.53*
and up
Notre-Dame, Louvre Museum and Montmartre Private Day Tour
Ranked #4 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This famous cathedral, a masterpiece of Gothic architecture on which construction began in the 12th century, stands on the Île de la Cité and is the symbolic heart of the city.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very magnificent!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Notre Dame is magnificent. It is well worth our time to go into the Cathedral. We were there during a mass – I am not catholic but the singing and the organ was nice to experience as we waked through the building.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank George_StonyBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53,762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36,974
    13,413
    2,914
    348
    113
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HUUUUUGE long lines”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lovely historical Cathedral which is constructed based on harmonic design proportions. Take your Fibonnaci/Golden Mean calipers with you when you go so that you can spot the proportions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hiddenheavenfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A trip to Paris isn't quite complete without seeing Notre Dame. The structure and artistic beauty of the building is remarkable. It is an active cathedral that had a masses going on during our visit. The tour is free but they ask you to not take flash pictures while inside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BMTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Something you don't want to miss”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have seen better in Canada , but you don't want to miss this famous Cathedral. Take pictures and you can always say: We've been there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidVa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a beautiful church. So many details. The line went very quick to get in. The outside of the church had stadium seating which was great to watch others. Lots of pigeons there that land on you. I thought that was gross.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank slengyelhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre Dame Cathedral also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Notre Dame Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing