We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

Notre Dame Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.53*
and up
Notre-Dame, Louvre Museum and Montmartre Private Day Tour
Ranked #4 of 1,120 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This famous cathedral, a masterpiece of Gothic architecture on which construction began in the 12th century, stands on the Île de la Cité and is the symbolic heart of the city.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The cathedral was just as impressive as expected. The long line out front moved quickly and the crowd inside was respectful. We had hoped to climb to the top of the cathedral, but the line was very, very long. I expect you have to get in line very early or be prepared to wait in line for hours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank onthegoCincinnati_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53,725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36,950
    13,401
    2,913
    348
    113
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Notre Dame was actually my favourite attraction in Paris! The architecture was truly astonishing and beautiful! Definately worth the visit! Also, it's free :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Grandiose & great architecture”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This Cathedral definitely made my day. The architecture is oh so grandiose. Inside and out, this church is really so grand. You have to go to the side of the church outside and see Quasimodo peeping at the corner.
The garden at the back of the cathedral is a relaxing sight, and it ia also the way going to the bridge with full of lover's paired padlocks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AudzJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Bihor, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impressive, gives you chills”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I swore to myself if I ever got to paris I'll go to Notre Damme. So when i got there last year i went straight to this landmark. It's smaller than what i expected. The architecture is mind-blowing and it's quite dark inside. I had trouble filming inside because of the low light, had to actually use night vision.
If you go to Paris put this on your list right next to the Tower. You won't regret it.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Razvan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had travelled through Italy and saw the Vatican and sooo many breathtaking cathedrals. We visited on our only full day in Paris, the last day of our trip. We were amazed. Just beautiful. In a great part of the city. Take the BatoBus! A boat "bus" that takes you to 8 stops along the Siene, Notre Dame being one of them. The neighborhood just behind the Notre Dame, in the Latin Quarter, was great. We walked through and sat down at a pizzeria (ironic since we just left Italy) for Capuccino. Lovely.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notre Dame Cathedral also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Notre Dame Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing