We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prince de Galles Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I just arrived from Paris. Our stay in Prince de Galles was just perfect.
The staff, the sunday brunch, the room, simply no comments. PERFECT.
The manager, Christa, knows how to make the guests get delighted with the hotel, thank you for the attention to each detail. It was fantastic, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Marcus,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed an impeccable experience at the Prince de Galles and have shared your valuable feedback with our Ambassadors.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at your Parisian Maison de Luxe.

Best regards,
Simon Rusconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    125
    39
    6
    2
See reviews for
172
393
33
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Gorgeous interior spaces from the lobby to the room are what characterize the hotel. While our standard room was small, it was just beautiful. If you are a couple traveling without kids, it is absolutely great. If you have kids with you, I'd strongly recommend upgrading to a larger room because there is no room for extra "stuff" like crib or roll-away.

Everything is new, clean, and well designed. It feels wonderful. The bar and restaurant are vry spacious and attract a great crowd throughout the day and night. This may be in part due to the incredible location, which is perfect for strolling. You are a 10 minute walk to either the eiffel tower or the arch de triumph. You are on George V Ave and in the middle of a great little area of shops and little cafes. I think the location may be the best in Paris.

The service and the staff are exceptional here. I have read reviews stating otherwise and I don't get it. We were there over New Year Eve and holiday. The hotel was packed, but the concierges were just amazing. They got us same day reservations at Michelin 3-star restaurants, gave us the hotel car to get to our restaurant when it appeared taxis were having trouble reaching us on New Years Eve itself, spent time calling around to various establishments to help my wife find her lost cell-phone, etc. They were friendly and personable. They really made the visit special because we hadn't taken the time to plan and they handled it all.

The only negative I can mention is the bathroom. Specifically the shower. Water pressure was rather poor and the shower itself was not designed well. It was the typical old tub style, and while the curtain had been replaced with glass, it was one of those "half-glass enclosures that let the floor of the bathoom itself get soaked. Really a shocking oversight for such a great design otherwise. I still give the hotel 5 stars because literally everything else was exceptional, but be aware that if you love having great showers an average experience ruins it for you, you either need to upgrade to a larger room (where I understand the showers are better) or stay away.

The restaurant was wonderful. While it doesn't yet have a Michelin star it easily compared to the 3-stars where we dined. Very imaginative menu that was not overdone. We found many of the "best" places appeared to be trying too hard and the main ingredient of a dish was overwhelmed by crazy extra ingredients that just seemed to be there for the purpose of being extravagant rather than adding to the dish. The main restaurant here avoided this pitfall while also providing what you expect from a top end Paris dining spot. Nice job.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, however. It really is great, new, clean, comfortable, and perfectly located.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pharmanuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor.
I am thrilled to read your positive comments and delighted to learn that you enjoyed a spectacular stay at the Prince de Galles!

I sincerely regret that you were not entirely satisfied with the bathroom equipments and have reported your interesting comments.
Your experience will be useful to other guests and I do hope having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

In the meantime, I remain at your disposal for any assistance you may need.
Warmest regards,

Simon Rusconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed one night in this amazing new hotel however just want to come back longer and as soon as possible! From the arrival to the departure our stay was fabulous, great team, lovely and elegant decoration, fantastic food and the best location in Paris! They have created a winter garden for a few months and that is the place to be at the moment! Terrific! Cant wait to come back when we are back. MERCI

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Emmanuel,

Thank you for having selected the recently reopened Prince de Galles for your stay in Paris.
I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us, including the new decoration, the quality of service, our cuisine and the overall atmosphere .
We look forward to wlecoming you back in your Parisian home.
MERCI!

Best regards,
Simon Rusconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel has just been remodeled, and is clearly vying to compete with the other 5 star Paris Palace hotels ( such as Ritz, George V, Plaza Athenee, Creon, less Meurice, Bristol, etc.). With the advent of Peninsula, Mandarin Oriental, Shangri La, and others, I am intrigued with how competitive the uber luxury hospitality business in Paris must have become. This is a nice hotel if you want dignified modern in a Palace setting. In some ways this hotel is Hyatt meets Le Meurice.
This is a Starwood property, and comes with the typical benefits from Starwood if you have elite traveler status. The bar area is beautiful. The property has a healthy vibe. There was no posturing or snobbery, even when I checked in a bit on edge after a long and tiring journey. Expect to pay top money for everything, but that is a standard for any luxury hotel in Paris. For bargains stay at the Sheraton by the airport. The gym is relatively small, but one of the best hotel gyms in Europe. The spa is too small....
Overall, we had a good stay. The front desk staff were very good, and patient. We thought that the room cleaning could have been a bit better, but had no real issues, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuriVanetik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Yuri,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your recent experience. Thank you for complimenting the renovation of the Hotel and comparing it to the Paris Palace Hotels. I am glad to read you enjoyed the bar as well as the high level of service from the Front Desk Team. While our wellness suite size might not be to your satisfaction, it is exclusevely for the Hotel guest with its intimate feel. I look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The staff really is limited to answer questions and not solve problems. Also, they are not proactive and they lie to do not admit their mistakes. The managers do not control the staff, leaving in their hands the hotel control. Finally, the bar/restaurant services is terrible (waited more than 30 minutes for a coffee and check) and due to fail in the concierge, i could not try the main restaurant. The quality manager just appears at the end of your stay (during the checkout) to see if was ok, when nothing can be done anymore. It seems all employees are a union protecting each other. DO NOT GO THERE. GO TO GEORGE V on next door. BTW, I have filled the QA form and the people i am complaining about was in charge to read it and contact me.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SB_riodejaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I sincerely regret that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. I believe my team was in contact with you during your stay and I have follow up with them to ensure your next experience with us will be memorable. Wishing you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Prince De Galles. This St Regis hotel on Avenue George V was recently renovated in an Art Deco style, reminiscent of the early 20th century in Paris. It is stunning and the staff was fabulous! The rooms were lovely and very comfortable. All of the dining establishments, from the cafe to the more formal dining room were well appointed, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. There is even a garden court where one can have an espresso, wine, and food. And one can enjoy a cigar w/ out disturbing others. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Sandi,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read you like the Hotel Art Deco style and enjoyed great service from the team. I look forward to welcoming you in the future. Wishing you a happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I am an SPG lifetime Platinum with nearly 1,000 nights in Starwood hotels alone. My five night stay with my partner at the Prince de Galles exceeded our expectations in every respect. The hotel has undergone a magnificent renovation. The suite we stayed in was both beautiful and extremely comfortable. The bedding is as good as in any hotel we have ever stayed. The bathroom and its amenities were perfect. But the best part of the experience was the genuinely warm and gracious service. Special praise for Edith and Anne-- two servers in the hotel's breakfast room. They greeted us warmly each morning and ensured that we had a wonderful meal before starting out each day.

On this occasion we were upgraded to a suite facing the hotel's courtyard. The courtyard has been restored to its original glory. We might have preferred to look out over Paris, but we enjoyed the peace and quiet the location afforded. Beautiful bathroom, effective HVAC, fast WIFI, everything we could ask in a modern hotel.

Finally, there can be no better hotel location in Paris.

A perfect stay in every way. The Prince de Galles will be our first choice whenever we return to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Jim,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Prince de Galles. I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations and you like the newly renovated Hotel. I have passed on your comments to Edith and Anne. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future. Wishing you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#12 of 1,801 in Paris
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#24 of 1,801 in Paris
645 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince de Galles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince de Galles Hotel

Property: Prince de Galles Hotel
Address: 33 avenue George V, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#41 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#56 Business Hotel in Paris
#67 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Prince de Galles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince de Galles is centrally located on Avenue George V, steps away from the Champs-Elysées and some of the most celebrated landmarks including the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower. From Toile de Jouy motifs, gilded chandeliers and exquisite marble floors to modern ingenuities and comfort, the Prince de Galles' sumptuously furnished 138 guest rooms and 30 suites capture the essence of Parisian style and offer form and function, alongside unparalleled French hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince de Galles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince De Galles Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing