We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Decent Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince de Galles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prince de Galles Hotel
Ranked #36 of 1,816 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently stayed here for 4 days at the end of a trip around France. The hotel has recently been renovated with a very high standard of quality. I think that we had the entry level room which while not large, was very nice and served us well. Especially the large washroom with double sink, and seperate tub and shower. The staff seems well trained and ready to assist. There is no pool and a small gym but there is no change rooms or steam sauna's etc which one would expect of a hotel of this calibre charging premium Paris rates. The courtyard is very nice as are all the common areas of the hotel. We usually stay at the Georges V next door and overall prefer it to the Prince de Galles. That being said, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for having taken the time to share your Prince de Galles experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your valuable comments with all involved. The Hotel does not have a pool due to a lack of space, however, we do have a large fitness room and a wellness suite including a steam and sauna. I do hope you’ll have the chance of experiencing these facilities during your next stay with us, which I hope will be in the very near future.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    114
    37
    5
    1
See reviews for
148
349
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just completed a 5 night stay at the Prince De Galles with my wife.. Very happy with the hotel. Nice upgrade. Met by Phillipe at the front desk who showed us to our room. Room was upgraded from a smaller basic room to a larger room , lots of closet space, beautiful large bathrooms. Jean Cristophe made all of our dinner reservations and private tour arrangements. Our private tour of the Louvre was one of the best of all my travels.He has been a concierge for more than 20 years! The doorman , Frederic , offered to go to Monoprix department store and purchase an extra suitcase because the store across the street had closed for the evening. Above and beyond. Only miss was lack of turndown service one night. They sent a bottle of champagne. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smr850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having selected the Prince de Galles for your recent stay in the City of Lights. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your interesting feedback with our Team and especially with Jean Christophe, Philippe and Frederic. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in your Parisian Maison de Luxe.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
259 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our stay started off fantastically when we checked in. We took the fast train in from Reims, France, and travel with carry-on luggage so took the #1 Metro toward La Defense, and got off at the hotel's Street, George V. We had a suite, and were very excited to be in the luxury of it with large rooms, beautiful bathroom, big living room, and two tv's, big closet, and everything perfect. The food is fantastic, and the service is spectacular. The bathroom amenities are Bulgari "without" scent which was so nice because we had bought body cream at the start of our 3 week trip because of overpowering fragrances in bathroom creams, etc., that made us itch. High thread count 100% cotton sheets, and thick towels. Finally got a gym as we had been traveling in smaller towns booking mainly at well known hotel brands, but no gyms. Great location for access to everything via the Metro and smart concierges who gave us accurate directions. Champs Élysées five minutes walking distance, restaurants everywhere, shop til you drop, and an easy time getting to the best of Paris either by Metro, or; of course, a cab.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great: hotel just reopened after lengthy renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeperVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience following your stay at the Prince de Galles. Delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your valuable comments with our Team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a wonderful suite in the Prince de Galles. Our room was very clean and the service was excellent. Emmanuel Blanchemanche was very kind and had 2 jars of candy in our room for my kids which was greatly appreciated!! The staff was so helpful in locating restaurants and giving directions. The hotel was quiet and elegant and has a great location. The exercise room was awesome. I would love to go back some day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear JW, I appreciate you have taken the time to share your recent experience at our newly renovated Hotel. I am delighted to read that the ambassadors provided you and your family with attentive service and you enjoyed the beautiful suite. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our first room was very small but beautiful -- but a little clausterphobic. Somehow we got upgraded to a suite -- which was amazing. It was huge and on a low floor but it really didnt matter it was so luxurious. So, if you are booking here, definately find out the size of the room as it really varies. The staff was wonderful and helpful making reservations etc. The downstairs bar was realllly expensive -- even for paris, and not wort it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Beverley, Thank you for having taken the time to comment your recent experience at our newly renovated Maison de Luxe. I am happy to read that we were able to upgrade you to a larger room and that our ambassadors provided you with exceptional service. Please do note that we have several room categories throughout the hotel including 37 rooms with a large balcony. I appreciate your your comment on the bar prices. We do remain competittive among the Five Star Hotels. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel. We stayed in the Mosaic suite. Nice room with an expresso machine in the living room. Our bed was very comfortable. The marble bathroom was large, (very important to me) with a separate tub and shower. I usually don't take baths due to the ick factor though I felt good about this tub. We had breakfast many mornings in the dining room. The food was pretty good and the service outstanding. One particular gentleman who oversaw the diningroom greeted us each day and made sure that we were well taken care of. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant one evening. The prices for breakfast were reasonable. The dinner was pricey but we expected that. Cocktails in the lounge, I felt were too expensive. The hotel is quite elegant and located in a great area close to everything. When we go back we will probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Mosaic suite facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Return Guest, Anita. Thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent experience at the newly reopened Prince de Galles. I am happy to read you enjoyed the beautiful Mosaic suite you stayed in with all the amenities. I am glad that you enjoyed our restaurants and Bar and that you received excellent service. Dear Anita, We look forward to welcome you back in the near future in your new Maison de Luxe in Paris. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
266 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

To avoid repeating what others have already reviewed I would just add my observations:

The rooms didn't have an iron. This is a major inconvenience as you would want to take care of ironing quickly yourself. There was no complimentary water bottle. On at least 2 occasions after coming back from a long day the housekeeping still had not made the room.

We had breakfast included but there is no buffet, the menu was limited so if you wanted smoked salmon there was an additional charge. Service in breakfast was excruciating slow, the staff didn't pay any attention specially we had to leave for a conference they were not serving coffee. Finally thank goodness for Nadia, the restaurant receptionist, who told the staff to serve them coffee and food, take our orders.

Doormen and concierge were very nice they even called ahead to find the dress code for some the places we were going to.

Front desk staff were not accommodating as I needed to change the rooms even as people in our own party were checking out they wouldn't let me change the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeddaCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Jedda, Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your experience following your recent stay. I am glad to read that the Doormen and Concierge provided a service that exceeded your expectation. I regret that our Front Office Staff did not realize how important it was for you to change rooms and apologize for this unusual incident. Iron and Ironboard are available through our butlers. We do offer a lavish brunch on Sunday. Please accept my apologies for the slow service in the Restaurant. We look forward to welcome you back next time your business will bring you in Paris. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Keppler
Hotel Keppler
#27 of 1,816 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#38 of 1,816 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince de Galles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince de Galles Hotel

Property: Prince de Galles Hotel
Address: 33 avenue George V, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#38 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#56 Business Hotel in Paris
#67 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Prince de Galles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince de Galles is centrally located on Avenue George V, steps away from the Champs-Elysées and some of the most celebrated landmarks including the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower. From Toile de Jouy motifs, gilded chandeliers and exquisite marble floors to modern ingenuities and comfort, the Prince de Galles' sumptuously furnished 138 guest rooms and 30 suites capture the essence of Parisian style and offer form and function, alongside unparalleled French hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Prince de Galles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince De Galles Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing