We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, beautifully appointed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Prince de Galles Hotel
Ranked #43 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegant, beautifully appointed experience”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We used SPG points to stay at this hotel, and it was an amazing experience. The interiors are so refined, yet comfortable, and they paid attention to a nice luxurious bathroom, a feature often overlooked in high end hotels. I've stayed at about half a dozen luxury collections and found they range wildly as to the definition of luxury... for a city hotel, this one hit the nail on the head!

There were no upgrades available for my gold status, but the standard room was still beautiful and we didn't feel cramped.

The concierge service is, as you would expect, on point. They missed calling to confirm our reservation and we lost it... I couldn't believe it, but as an apology they comped us a private car to the airport.

Do note that eating at the hotel is not for the faint of heart (or at least those who can only stay there because they have a lot of SPG points)... I did a double take when my cup of coffee was 15 euro. The brunch? Scaled up from there, clocking in at 100 euro, not including alcoholic drinks. Fun to watch the scene nonetheless :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hg614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for having taken the time to share your experience following your stay at the Prince de Galles. I am happy to read that you were entirely satisfied with your stay with us and with the Hotel’s new decoration and facilities.
I regret that our Concierge Team missed a confirmation for you and apologize for this unusual incident. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future to your Home in Paris.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    123
    38
    6
    2
See reviews for
168
385
31
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Prince de Galles earlier this month. The hotel was recently renovated and it shows. Upon check-in we were escorted by a staff member to our room. The room was very comfortable and service was superb. As mentioned by others, amenities are top-notch. We used the gym around 2/3 times and we loved it. One small negative is the lack of pool, it would have been great to have a pool but due to the location and the age of the building it's probably almost impossible. Overall, we loved the hotel and we will certainly be back hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zakovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the recently reopened Prince de Galles and have reported your valuable comments with our Ambassadors.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon in your Parisian Maison de Luxe!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here twice during our latest France trip (we stayed two nights, headed to the Loire Valley for a few days, and then came back for three nights before hitting the road home). Our first two nights were excellent - they noted my boyfriend's Platinum status and upgraded us to a suite with a balcony. The staff also contacted us before arrival and helped us arrange a car service from the airport and make dinner reservations at La Scene (which was amazing - highly recommend!). The hotel was absolutely lovely, the room was spacious, and the staff was great.

The second time we checked in, we were given a room right across from the service elevator and next to a family with 3 screaming little kids (the kids thing wasn't their fault, but the nonstop pinging of the elevator wasn't great). After a sleepless night, we requested a new room, which they were fortunately able to accommodate (back to the 8th floor with a balcony we went!). However, it was a little frustrating to be given such a terrible room to begin with, particularly given the amount of Starwood stays we have and the fact that we'd just stayed there (and spent quite a decent amount of money). But they did come through with the new room and then helped us with a car and tickets to Versailles on our last day in town.

We also had breakfast at the hotel once (delicious yet pricey - I'm glad it was covered under SPG Platinum status) and spent some time at the gorgeous, chic bar (loved it!). It was the perfect post-dinner hangout.

The location is really convenient - you can walk to the Arc and Champs-Elysee in less than 5 minutes, and you only have to head to the other end of the street to catch a great view of the Eiffel Tower.

All in all, I'd recommend La Scene for dinner a thousand times over and would likely recommend the Prince des Galles as well (the art deco renovation is gorgeous; it just seems like they're ironing out some small kinks on service).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgirl53015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. Glad to read that you enjoyed your experience at the Prince de Galles; your valuable comments have been shared with all our Team. However I do regret that you were disappointed by the first room which was offered to you during your second stay with us, and relieved that your final room did entirely meet your expectations.
I do hope having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at your Parisian Home.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
216 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived on Bastille Day and stayed here for a week and it was wonderful. The location was excellent and the staff was always very helpful. Anne, our server every morning at breakfast, was the best! She answered all our questions about Paris and got us out for our tours on time and with elegance...we never felt rushed at any time. Night turn down service was efficient and pleasant too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Jolene,
Thank you for your precious feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Prince de Galles during the French National Day! I have shared your thoughts with our Team, and especially with Anne. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I recently celebrated our 10 year anniversary in Paris (3 nights at Prince de Galles and 4 nights at Le Meurice). The Prince de Galles is the perfect Parisian boutique hotel experience. Classic service, a beautiful renovation to is timeless elegance and a great location. From check in to check out the entire stay exceeded our expectations. And please check with Jean Christophe if you need anything. Enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and your kind words about Jean Christophe. I am delighted that you have enjoyed such special occasion at your Parisian Maison de Luxe and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

There is so very much to say about this beautifully restored property. I will however start with what prompted me to write this review. While not the manager, Philippe at the front desk was responsible for making sure all was right with our stay. Philippe was extremely courteous and patient in understanding our specific needs for the suite with a terrace that we had booked. While we were booked into one by the manager that did not suit us, he was patient and showed us another. He was not just attentive but insightful and understood our request and checked-in to make sure our stay was enjoyable. This is specifically remarkable because we have stayed at other hotels in France that are considered five star hotels where the ONLY individual at the front dest that can help the client is "the manager". I appreciated the ability for the Prince de Galles Hotel to appropriately train all levels of their staff. We stayed at one "famous" hotel that neglected to clean our room one day and simply shrugged and told us the staff had gone for the day. The housekeeping staff at Prince de Galles Hotel was meticulous, they made certain they had turn-down at the correct time and were ALWAYS pleasant with any request. We truly felt at home as well as made to feel special by all of the staff that we encountered through the hotel.

The decor and beauty is taken to beautiful detail throughout the hotel. Marcassar Wood lines the rooms and the elevators in an appropriate art deco style. The mosaic work throughout the hotel is beautifully done giving a light and festive sparkle to all of the bathrooms and showers throughout the hotel. While some art deco modes can seem heavy and dull - this is not the case with the Prince de Galles. Although we walked throughout Paris endlessly as most do while on vacation, we also enjoyed the very spacious hotel gym with well appointed equipment and machines.

The location is within walking distance of two different metro lines and of course the Champs-Élysées (one block), Arc de Triomphe de l'Étoile, and so much more! While having stayed in Paris at other high end hotels, this hotel exceeded all service previously experienced at the famous French hotels. We were pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank far_away_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your thoughts on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Prince de Galles. I was thrilled to read that your experience in our iconic gem did exceed your expectations and have shared your positive comments to all our Team, and especially with Philippe at the Front Desk. The Designer Pierre Yves Rochon did a marvelous restoration while succeeding in keeping the initial Art Deco atmosphere of the Hotel.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at your Parisian Home.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
129 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in a suite in August before moving to the Latin quarter. Location on Av George V is well placed to be walking to champs elysee and upmarket shopping. Rooms were immaculate and beautiful and breakfast was complimentary for Plat members.

A really good stay.. but my only gripe would be the prices though I guess comparing the other hotels in the area it was not way beyond. And, considering that I only actually used the room for sleeping being most of the time out and about during the day doing tourist stuff, I wouldn't call it great value for money.

Nevertheless, if money is no object and you're looking for a top quality room and stay in a good location, this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: This a good hotel to use the suite night certificates for spg members!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flitting_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRusconi, General Manager at Prince de Galles Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay at the Prince de Galles. I am delighted you enjoyed our recently reopened Maison de Luxe and glad you had the chance of receiving complimentary breakfast as you are a loyal SPG member. We regret however that you have found our rates to be a little bit high, which are in line with other Hotels of same category in Paris.
I do hope having the pleasure of hosting you again in the very near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Barriere Le Fouquet's Paris
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#34 of 1,802 in Paris
615 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#16 of 1,802 in Paris
699 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince de Galles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince de Galles Hotel

Property: Prince de Galles Hotel
Address: 33 avenue George V, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#38 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#56 Business Hotel in Paris
#67 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Prince de Galles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prince de Galles is centrally located on Avenue George V, steps away from the Champs-Elysées and some of the most celebrated landmarks including the Arc de Triomphe and the Eiffel Tower. From Toile de Jouy motifs, gilded chandeliers and exquisite marble floors to modern ingenuities and comfort, the Prince de Galles' sumptuously furnished 138 guest rooms and 30 suites capture the essence of Parisian style and offer form and function, alongside unparalleled French hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince de Galles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince De Galles Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing