We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little known treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee Marmottan

Musee Marmottan
2 Rue Louis Boilly | 16th arrondissement, 75016 Paris, France (Passy)
01 44 96 50 33
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$246*
and up
Paris Day Trip to Chatou Impressionist Island, Marmottan Museum Visit and...
Ranked #26 of 987 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a 19th-century mansion, this museum's fabulous collection of Impressionist paintings ranks second only behind the Musée d'Orsay.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little known treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Marmottan Monet museum is less well known that other illustrious Paris art galleries, but is well worth a visit, especially when there is a good exhibition on. Easy to book tickets from UK and avoid waiting in a queue.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,721
    584
    118
    28
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ahoskie, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Not visited by the hordes because it's not a national museum, Musee Marmottan features the works of Monet, left to his last direct heir and other impressionist works. It is well worth the 10 euro entrance fee. Situated near a large park within walking distance to the L'Arc de Triomphe this museum gives you the space and time to learn and reflect upon the art it displays. This was one of our favorites of Paris.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in a bustling museum filled city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I've visited here during the week and on a Saturday, both times in the afternoon. There were no queues through the week and only a short queue of about six people on the Saturday. The museum feels calm and peaceful and the impressionist art is beautiful! I personally loved the Berthe Marisot collection, but of course, Monet's work was extremely impressive too. There is so much to see here, including the actual building itself. Definitely worth a visit. I paid for the audio tour and would recommend spending the additional 5€. As a side note, if it's a nice day when you visit, nip into a boulangerie, grab a pastry and sit in the park nearby. It's so idyllic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ShariOverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really all about Monet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This museum has more Monets than any other. This collection was left to the museum by his son. If you like Monet, this is the place for you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank msdillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must See If You Love Monet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I visited for the first time on July 5- the day before the special Impressionism exhibit ended. Needless to say, the museum was very crowded and quite stuffy. However, I'm still glad that I made the trip. Wonderful Art!! The massive Monet paintings in the basement are alone worth a visit. I'd like to return when the museum is not crowded to have a more leisurely visit. There is pleasant park right outside the door- it would make a great place for a picnic lunch or people watching. Also, the tickets can be purchased ahead of time online. That was a good choice for me because of the special exhibit, but based on others' reviews it may not be necessary.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Marmottan also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee Marmottan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing