We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to get to via the Metro”
Review of Musee Marmottan

Musee Marmottan
Book In Advance
More Info
$352.26*
and up
Impressionism Day with Giverny, Marmottan Museum and Cooking Class
More Info
$287.03*
and up
Paris Day Trip to Impressionists Island with Cooking Class and Musée Marmottan...
More Info
$287.03*
and up
Musée Marmottan Monet Tour and French Pastry Class
Ranked #24 of 1,133 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a 19th-century mansion, this museum's fabulous collection of Impressionist paintings ranks second only behind the Musée d'Orsay.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easy to get to via the Metro”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This wonderful museum has been on my list of places to go to in Paris for years, and I finally got there on Sunday, January 20, 20-13, a grey and snowy day in Paris. A small-to-moderate number of visitors, and a terrific collection. Check it out online and then go to it the next time you're in Paris

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank s_michael_simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,132
    736
    139
    31
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A spectacular experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Its a little out of the way - and the last time I was here, it looked a little run-down - but this is a spectacular collection, worth the trip out of the center of Paris; besides, the walk in the Parc du Ranelagh is lovely

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank moschofilero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Spectacular and not crowded”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Close to Le Muette metro/bus stop, this museum was pure joy on a Saturday morning. We walked through a lovely part of Paris that only the locals know about to find the building. It had an outstanding collection of artwork by Monet and many other impressionist painters, equally as good as the much more crowded Musee d'Orsay. If you like to think about what you are seeing in art, this museum allows the time and space to do that. Don't miss this one!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lamp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Several people had told us it was their favorite smaller museum in Paris, but for us, that wasn't quite true. We loved it, and we loved our stroll through the immediate neighborhood (we visited Bois de Boulogne the same day) and found a lovely neighborhood cafe to eat, nearby.

The number of Monet paintings they have is astonishing and the other art/furnishings in the house are very worthwhile to see. But it was crowded. It was stuffy, and one felt one could not linger (especially in the main part of the maison) as someone else was pushing to stand in your spot to look at whatever it was (a bit like going to Versailles).

Also, while I adore Monet of course, he is not the only painter I love, and I suppose I love him most in juxtaposition with his contemporaries. I also can't get over my intense desire to see the Lilies over and over (and it never, ever seems crowded there, and people are quiet and one never feels rushed at L'Orangerie). So I'd give L'Orangerie (and Petite Palais and Rodin Museum) 5 stars for smaller museums, and cannot encourage people to go all the way out to Marmottan unless they are on a Monet quest. We are glad now, in retrospect, that we did not organize earlier, shorter stays in Paris around seeing this, despite its rave reviews, and spent our time in other art museums first.

I am told that getting there early helps with the crowds, and that is what I would advise. You will see other versions of many pictures by Monet that you've already seen at D'Orsay and L'Orangerie, if you went to those places, but you'll also see some of his minor works that may surprise you. It does have places to sit and contemplate in the main gallery, and that's very very nice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LeBiscuit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Even the Parisians haven't heard of the Marmottan. (But you should.)”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

...ok, at least the ones we met...but isn't always the case that people rarely take advantage of the cultural treasures of their own city? The Marmottan, on the west end of Paris adjacent to the Bois de Boulogne houses an excellent collection of Monet's work as well as other permanent pieces and rotating exhibitions. If you are a fan of Monet this is an essential stop for you. (as well as the L'Orangerie and his house at Giverney.) If you have a good amount of time in Paris and you've hit all the other major museums, venturing out to the Marmottan will be a good use of your time as well as expose you to one of the hidden gems of Paris.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rickpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee Marmottan also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee Marmottan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing