We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exquisite gem”

Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age
Book In Advance
More Info
$127.56*
and up
Private Tour: Notre Dame Cathedral, the Sainte Chapelle and the Conciergerie
Ranked #40 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum, located in a spacious former hotel, houses a collection of medieval art, including jewelry, tapestries and sculptures.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An exquisite gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Of all the wonderful things to do and see in Paris don't miss this hidden gem. The 6 tapestries of the Lady and the Unicorn are so beautiful and so accessible.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank salfromyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,459
    718
    162
    38
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
334 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Somthing different to do for a few hours, easy, no lines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

If you have been to the Louvre, the Orsay and the Pompidou, and want to spend a few hours doing something different, this is it.

Less fuss, no lines, smaller crowds, free the first sunday of the month.

This is a museum you can spend 1-3 hours in and see it all, wiht free audio-tours. Art, tapestries and statues from the middle ages.

Make sure you see the lady with the Unicorn tapestries

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best museum in Paris!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

For me, the thing which makes museums extra special is when the objects one sees are also housed in architecture that is a museum in itself. Such is the case with the musee du moyen age (Cluny). The building is 500 years old and there is a lovely garden attached to it. The museum is a medieval house with beautiful carvings on stone exterior railings, turrets, and gothic arches, etc. It is absolutely charming and intimate.
Housed inside in addition to the MAIN attraction (more on that in a moment!), is a lot of original stained glass taken from cathedrals (in order to preserve it from the elements and because it is so old and fragile - a lot of original glass remains in cathedrals but these are pieces removed for various reasons and are incredibly beautiful.) There are also some gorgeous illuminated books and all sorts of medieval objects. The museum also SITS ON TOP OF ROMAN RUINS - visible in situ! INCREDIBLE. You don't even have to pay to see them as part of the excavation is visible from the street! Roman artifacts of stone on display inside the actual ruins.
BUT the main attraction is of course, the "red" series of UNICORN TAPESTRIES. Stunning - not to be missed. Housed in a dark room (you can photograph anywhere in the museum without flash and for the most part the light is adequate, but not here. A very still hand is needed!). Beautiful does not begin to describe these magnificent works of art. THe expressions on the faces of the unicorns are done with such tenderness and you can stand literally an inch away to see each tiny detail. I have wanted to see this all my life and I was more than thrilled - these tapestries brought tears to my eyes and I spent an hour just sitting there looking at them. The main (last in series) one was not on display for cleaning, but each is so wonderful that I did not mind. If you have any interest whatsoever in medieval things this is the museum for you . It was not crowded and has a SUPERB bookshop!! The museum is located 10 minutes walk from Notre Dame - very easy to find and perfectly situated.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Machaut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Renovation well done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The renovation of the various rooms has been well done. Ample information is provided on the cards made available to the visitors. The exhibit of the Dame a la Licorne tapestry is beautiful. It is only very unfortunate that tour guides are allowed to give a loud explanation in front of the tapestry and disturb the peace of the room.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fgrandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was going to skip this museum, but I happened to walk past it and decided to give it a try. This has become my favorite museum in Paris! The collection of art and artifacts is fascinating, the building itself is impressive, and while I was there they had a great special exhibit on games in art. I would go back again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rsncrntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age also viewed

 

Been to Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing