We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret”

Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age
Book In Advance
More Info
$137.44*
and up
Private Tour: Notre Dame Cathedral, the Sainte Chapelle and the Conciergerie
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Paris Museum Pass and Seine River Cruise Including Delivery to Your Hotel
More Info
$23.90*
and up
Paris Latin Quarter Night Walking Tour
Ranked #41 of 1,169 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum, located in a spacious former hotel, houses a collection of medieval art, including jewelry, tapestries and sculptures.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We loved this museum. The lines were long to buy the museum passes at the Louvre and Musee de Orsay so we got clever. This museum had no lines. We bought our museum passes here and stumbled upon a find. The Lady and the Unicorn took our breaths away. And as my husband is an architect - the building inside and out was amazing. The stained glass impressive. Very very interesting artifacts and so accessible. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank patwoodauthor490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,540
    751
    175
    39
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hepburn Springs, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Get away from the crowds and discover another age”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved this museum. Sure, I'm interested in this period of history so that helped, but even if not, it was a real delight to discover such an amazing and diverse medieval collection. There were no crowds, so it could be enjoyed with a sense of peace and tranquility, adding to the mood and experience. The Lady and the Unicorn is really, really stunning, and well worth seeing. This was my favourite museum in Paris.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimoneLGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“fascinating around every corner”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Take your time with the Cluny, enjoy each room full of artifacts but also appreciate the buildings. We have not used the taped tours, available in several languages including French and English. However, I wish that I had in order to fully appreciate the exhibits. Take time to stroll through the gardens outside the museum. This is one of the best places in Paris.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Small but very interesting”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a very small museum if you compare to the Louvre or D'Orsay and is specialized in Middle Age art. In the main building there are many beautiful paintings, stained glass and tapestries, specially The Woman with the Unicorn that stays in a separated room. The other part of the museum are interesting roman ruins. It stays in the Quartier Latin, near a metro station. Have about 1h 30m for the whole visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mariafaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the move
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Must see for the Lady and the Unicorn tapestries”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fascinating story behind the building and its collections, but the highlight was the Lady and the Unicorn tapestries. I'd wanted to see them since reading Tracy Chevalier's novel of the same name, and they did not dissapoint. One of the "Senses" had been removed for restoration, but a large image of it was in its place.
Decent guided tour. There is also a "Unicorn" tour for younger visitors - didn't take it, but definitely a good indicator of the suitablilty of the museum for school-aged children.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalGeckos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age also viewed

 

Been to Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing