We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age
Book In Advance
More Info
$131.02*
and up
Private Tour: Notre Dame Cathedral, the Sainte Chapelle and the Conciergerie
Ranked #40 of 1,108 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum, located in a spacious former hotel, houses a collection of medieval art, including jewelry, tapestries and sculptures.
Hermosa Beach, California USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This could be one of my favorite museums. Not too big and overwhelming. Easy to navigate. The Unicorn tapestries are awe-inspiring and the Roman bath area is cool - figuratively and literally. Inexpensive and not crowded. The area gives you the feel of ancient times.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donnagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,483
    731
    164
    38
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you like medieval art, this is for you. Unlike the Cloisters in NYC, they didn't have to take it apart and put it back together stone by stone. It's where it was and that makes a difference.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cwpnewpaltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pairs favorite”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This has always been one my favorite stops in Paris. This trip, it was one of only 2 museums that we visited in our short 2 day visit. It is a beautiful Medieval abby with a fantastic collection of art from the same time. The audio tour was very well done and I always love to see the Lady and the unicorn tapestries. The display appears to have improved from our last visit with great results.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hotketchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Decent Quick Museum”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We went to this museum because it was included in the Paris Museum Pass; otherwise, we probably would've skipped it. We walked through pretty quickly, but did enjoy what we saw. I just wouldn't add it to my favorite things to do in Paris list!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuggy0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful but could use more explanations”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The collections at this museum as well as the physical layout of the place are both fabulous. It is a very old medieval castle-like building built on top of what was Roman baths. The architecture is awesome and very interesting. It was extremely disappointing that there was so little explained about what was there and how the spaces looked and how they were used. Nothing on the audio guide! The audio guide was very poorly done, hard to follow and only talked superficially about the rooms and gave some details about some of the objects. The objects in the various rooms were described on the placards only in French. I have found that many French museums pride themselves on being repositories for amazing objects and focus only on the objects in their collections. They often do not give the historical perspective and how these objects fit into their time. I am quite surprised at this approach, it misses so much and leaves me quite dissatisfied after visiting a museum. This is very evident at the Cluny. Hard to fully appreciate the beauty and mystery of the place with the little they tell you about it. While the collections are great, I was wanting more explanation of the building which is also very important historically. Very atmospheric place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age also viewed

 

Been to Musee de Cluny - Musee National du Moyen Age? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing